We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to go back next year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamukami Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tamukami Hotel to your Saves list
Tamukami Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Danau Tamblingan 64X | Denpasar - Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“cant wait to go back next year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we have just returned from the tamukami yesterday. This was our 4th time staying there and it was as good as ever. A special thanks to all the staff, special thanks to Ayu and Putu in the restaurant, we will be back next year, My room tip is the suites as larger than superior rooms but all rooms are excellent and very clean. Food enjoyable as is the breakfast. Great small hotel for a quite relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    135
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
56
185
27
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

First time we stayed at this hotel and it wont be the last. A great small hotel, very clean bedding, towels, rooms big. We had a couple of meals at hotel, very good & good prices. Breakfast good, not a buffet, but order anything off the menu.Plenty to eat. Pool great and staff always keeping it clean as all the lovely grounds. Just wish they had a few more loungers around pool, not enough. Hotel in great position for excellent restaurants in Sanur and near shopping. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room, very handy as easy access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Large comfortable rooms, quiet surroundings abd welcoming staff make this an excellent place to stay in Sanur. It is a short walk (5 mins max) from the beach so you get less hassle on the street. The food is good and I found myself eating at the attached restaurant most nights. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful peaceful week at the Tamukami Hotel, We stayed in an upstairs Superior Room (No 407) and found that perfect. The room was large and spacious with an enormous ensuite containing a large shower area and a further shower/bath combined. More than ample wardrobe and storage space and a good size private balcony overlooking the pool area. The pool and garden surrounds were kept impeccably clean and the majority of the time we had the pool to ourselves. The Belgian owner makes himself known and ensures he keeps a close watch on all aspects of the property. Breakfast was limited but adequate and we recommend taking your own kettle for your morning cuppa. The hotel located down a long driveway from the main street and 200 metres from the beach. Ideal
position for walking. Staff very friendly and co-operative. Highly recommended if you like peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Upstairs Superior Rooms Nos 405 to 408
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Located just off the busy main street and couple of hundred meters from the beach of northern Sanur, this small hotel has a very good location. It is close to the beach, shopping and restaurants....... In the quiet colorful garden, where the bungalows are set around the pool, you would never guess that you are just a few steps away from all the action. Perfect place to relax in the shade when you have had enough of all these "come look in my shop" and feel that a quiet garden is the best place to be

Rooms are well laid out. Indoors have all facilities, and nice clean bathroom. Comfortable furnitureoutside the entrance to each bungalow sute.

A bit too few deckchairs/sunbeds. Would probably be okay if some people didn`t lay out their towels, books and hats to occupy one already the night before or very early, and then not appear there before later in the day. This should be discouraged, but I guess it itsn`t easy to get rid of (some people are just too selfish!)

Rooms are spacious and well laid out. Indoors have all facilities, and nice clean bathroom. Comfortable furniture outside the entrance to each bungalow suite.

We did not try the restaurant, except from breakfast, which was delicious - eggs and juice to order, and pain de chocolat! Noticed that some evenings there were music performances in the restaurant.

Friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: . Ask for one of those in the far end of the pool if you want extra quiet - people won`t pass by y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We first stayed at Tamukami 4 years ago and we keep coming back. We love the fact that the hotel is small in size and tucked away from all the hustle and street noise. The rooms are large and well furnished {Bungalow} and the pool is clean and inviting. Breakfast is always tasty and ample in size. All the staff are friendly and well spoken and nothing is too much to ask. Position within Sanur is good as shopping and the beach are only a short walk away. Two nights a week you have live acoustic music and the menu is always changing. We have visited Sanur many times and stayed at other hotels but we keep coming back to Tamukami. You also have the added advantage to go to Kuta/Legian area if you wish because it is only a short drive away to do more shopping if needed. We recommend Tamukami to anyone liking to get away from it all but to be within easy reach of the busier southern areas of Bali. We will be back again on our next trip. A big Thank You to all the staff once again.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the ground floor as we believe they are cooler in the heat of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for 10 days at the Tamukami. Initially we were extremely pleased with our accommodation. Tamukami is not a four star resort, more a three star accommodation. The bungalow suite is a great size and having the small dressing room separate from the bathroom is wonderful. The bathroom is ok however ours did have a fair bit of mould in the grout of the tiles and the drain in the shower was blocked. The towels are small, but they are mostly changed daily - on our last day though the bath mat was a dirty cream instead is the usual white.

When we initially looked at the hotel in October 2011, the pool was looking quite inviting. On our first day at Tamukami we commented the pool looked quite murky and green and the pool temperature was very warm and towards the end if our stay it was getting worse. A couple of days before the end of our holiday they had pool people in to change the sand filter (we were told it had not been changed in 3 years according to other guests who had spoken to the pool people). The next day we went out in the morning and when we returned in the afternoon we went swimming in the pool. It was once we were in the pool another guest came over and explained they had put a large amount of chlorine in the pool and no one was allowed in. This was news to us as there were no signs at the pool and at no time were we informed.

As we went to settle our final account, we noticed we had been charged for a beer class which has accidentally been broken. We were not upset about paying for the breakage, however Rp 70,000 (AUD 7) for one small beer glass in Bali was extremely excessive!

All in all the last few days of our holiday has left us disappointed with our choice of accommodation this time. We are not sure if we will return to this hotel again.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamukami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamukami Hotel

Address: Danau Tamblingan 64X | Denpasar - Bali, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#15 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamukami Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Tamukami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamukami Hotel Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamukami Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.