We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough ......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added kaMAYA Resort and Villas to your Saves list
kaMAYA Resort and Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Tanjung 41, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% OFF and BENEFIT OFFER
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
Adelaide South Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough ......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned (24/11/14 10 nights). The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and the food is as good as I have had in Bali (5 trips to Bali).
The location is quite a distance from any-where else. So do not expect any activity near this hotel, you will need to taxi to Kuta, Bali Galleria etc. NOTE take a business card from the hotel, only 1-2 drivers knew where the hotel is and we took some 20+ taxi rides, so if you want to return successfully to the hotel you will need a card and directions!!
The shuttle from the hotel is good, but the driver only wants to drop you off at one location in the main street of Sanur, giving us a walk to Starbucks.
I walked to the local beach from the hotel some 10-15 min walk. Not a pretty sight at the beach, best avoided, travel to the main section of beach in Sanur for food and activity. There is a large sign as you turn off the main road to the KaMaya hotel showing a great beach shot saying... "only 300 meters" I have no idea where that is but it certainly is no where near the KaMaya, lots of backwater and mangroves. Surprisingly not a real mosquito problem, used the mossy coils and sprayed the room and all good.
The place is very quiet, mind you you are in the flight path from the airport so jets are constantly flying over, this didn't bother us.
We stayed in a lania room with a pool (no5). Very nice, however: pool steps were slimy, (asked for it to be cleaned several times to no avail) the a/c was grossly inadequate, the oudoor furniture squeaked all the time you sat on them (no, I'm 94 kg, so weight is not an issue here), the sliding door is extremely noisy and not light to slide. The interesting thing is the step from the room to the bathroom, miss this and you are in for a fall as it has a very small landing. The water was a bit iffy, water would run out all of a sudden but hey it makes life interesting. Shower head needs fixing. Not much exterior lighting at night when returning to your room and the paths are a little up and down which could prove a hazard
Our room was close to another room and heard the romantic groanings from the pool next door, hey they are on holidays what the heck...... no tv in the rooms :)
The pricing was very reasonable, great room service, breakfast a real treat both in the room and dinning area.
Would I return to this hotel? probably not. Would I recommend this hotel? probably not.
We looked for a late checkout from our room, but this was not possible, we upgraded to a 2 room villa with pool for the last night and late check out. This was very nice, great pool and surroundings, however no safe for passports etc. Its location is on the boundary of the hotel complex so you heard local traffic etc, that was no big deal, the smell of urine however was not all that exciting (obviously the locals use the large wall as a urinal)
Don't ask me about wifi, I'm on holidays I don't care what they have I want a break from all that stuff! Hence I did't use it.
In short, a pleasant break, economical, clean, good food, good transport to Sanur, had a great massage at hotel BUT a long way away from anything and parts of the place need a little attention

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is absolutely beautiful,we have just returned from villa kesara within kamaya villas resort and cannot wait to return.The villa was absolutely spotless and modern and it's highlight was obviously the private pool.The breakfasts the best I have had in Bali which can be delivered to your villa at no extra charge .The staff were very helpful and friendly at all times and as it is a little out of the way the free shuttle one way day and evening as required was fantastic ,Made the driver was very helpful and took us wherever we wanted to go.We will return without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

What a lovely week we spent here! Staff were wonderful, breakfast was plentiful and tasty, our massages were great and the setting was so relaxing. It does get a little hot in the villas, they have mosquito nets around the bed so some nights even with the air con on it was quite warm and made it hard to sleep. They were great the day we checked out- we left our bags at reception and they let us use a shower before we got picked up later in the evening.
Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

There were some good aspects of this place but my overall impression was that it thought itself a boutique hotel - and charged accordingly - but didn't provide the services and quality that you would expect from such a description.

Our room - Lanai with courtyard - was reasonable but the sliding doors to the courtyard were stiff and heavy and a nightmare to open, often sticking and needing considerable force to open them. Air-con was fairly weak. No TV in rooms.

Customer service was reasonable although most staff had next to no English and the few that did weren't fluent which made communication difficult at times. Staff weren't as friendly as in other places we stayed in Bali. The hotel menu was very expensive - we didn't try it - but room service was more reasonable and the food was good.

The worst thing were the linen and towels which sometimes had old stains on them which was a bit icky.The best aspect was the shuttle service to beach or town - never had to wait more that a couple of minutes and the vehicles were always cool and clean. Nice quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

kaMAYA just have a wonderful harmonic. Beautiful garden, soft music and a very relaxing atmosphere. At this place - you just slow down and enjoy. The hotel has a number of villas, with private pools - and indside was the funiture - clean, nice and simpel. Service was good and the breakfast great. The hotel is very nrat Sanur - you can walk or take the shuttelbus. The shuttelbus took us to Sanur - whenever we ask for it. It is a wonderful place to be with your family.

Room Tip: Just go for a Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Kamaya. Inside the hotel is great it is made up of a number of villas.Our villa (Kesera) was fantastic very spacious had a private pool, dining table, outside couch, inside couch, bath tub all very well kept. This is a very relaxing location and that is what you should be looking for if staying at the Kamaya. The staff are very friendly and try to be as helpful as possible. The only thing to note is that it is in the South of Sanur away from the beach in the more residential area of Sanur so initially it was a shock coming down the back alleys past the dogs on our taxi but you get used to it. Is a 20-25 min walk to the Hyatt beach which is the best on the strip and available as the Hyatt os under renovation however the shuttle service is very good and drops you to any location you want which helps. Breakfast is great and can be sent to the room for no extra cost. The spa is very relaxing and reasonably priced. I would recommend staying at the Kamaya if you are looking for a relaxing stay within spacious villas and want good service.

Room Tip: Kesera room is one of the new buildings and in very good condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

What a gem the KaMAYA is - just a peaceful, tranquil beautiful little resort only 5 minutes from Sanur. It felt like we were staying at someone's home. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, the shuttle bus (actually Made's van) took us into Sanur town whenever we wanted, afternoon tea at 3pm was great and it was just a relaxing experience. Even on the last day our flight was leaving at 1am and they let us have the room until 10pm and didn't charge us. The rooms don't have TVs but we didn't feel we needed it in the end. The people working at this little resort really make the place and were helpful and kind. We had been to Bali 10 years prior and were pleasantly suprised by the hotel and the food.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErnaJulianti, Guest Relation Officer at kaMAYA Resort and Villas, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,
Warmest Greetings from kaMAYA Resort.....

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation, and we really appreciate for your excellent comments about our resort.

We are very happy if someday you come back again for holiday at our resort.
always feel free to contact us directly by email (info@kamayaresort.com) if there is anything we can do when you want to come back to visit Bali again.

We would be very happy to assist you at any time.
We wish you have a wonderful day in Ausie!

Much Love from Bali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to kaMAYA Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Address: Jalan Tanjung 41, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — kaMAYA Resort and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary from modern world. An island of serenity and quite.A perfect home base for your exploration of the beauty of Bali Island.Located at the western extremity of Sanur - You'll find thirdtheen delightful Balinese - Style dwellings in an exclusive sculptured environment, Seclusion, Relaxation, Serenity.Six individual self contained Villas complete with kitchen. Some with two bedrooms, some with one, all exquisite in design and detail. All stylish Balinese.A Massage Centre and Spa.A swimming pool design to echo the ancient Balinese temple bathing place. Mysterious carved statues peer through the lush tropical plantings. Ponds and water features erupt with lilies, lotus, and colorful fish.With five individual self contained villas.Each villa provides for you to make your own selves coffee or tea at anytime. A communal kitchen for us to cook you anything from a quick snack to a banquet are available. And private swimming pool for you to have relaxation in privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your kaMAYA Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Maya Resort Villa Hotel Sanur
Waka Maya Hotel
KaMAYA Resort And Villas Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage kaMAYA Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.