We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An impressive place, just off the beaten track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added kaMAYA Resort and Villas to your Saves list
kaMAYA Resort and Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Tanjung 41, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 4 Pay 3 Inc 20% Disc
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An impressive place, just off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A beautifully presented, private, well staffed hotel.
I booked through my travel agent in Australia off a brochure. My wife and I had three nights to fill and have never been taken by the fleshpots of Bali. Sanur was half way to Ubud, where we usually stay. I had organised with the hotel a transfer from the airport, so I didn't have to worry about the argy-bargy at arrivals. Sadly, KaMAYA didn't supply one and it took a telephone call to find out that 'the driver was not working today'. There was however an hysterically funny porter, who pretended to be a cabbie, who guided us to the taxi rank, where the fees are paid before the trip.
The room vastly compensated for the inconvenience of the taxi ride. They upgraded us to Villa Bija. It was all the brochure promised and more.
The staff was very helpful getting us about, too...even if the driver didn't turn up for the three days we were there. Those little Blue Cabs dropped us free to the places we needed to go. (It wasn't really free; the hotel footed the bill!)
We spent a great three days unwinding, walking, people watching, looking over the fences at the big resorts, eating (there are some great little restaurants on the beach - go lokal!), laughing with the hustlers for the markets, enjoying the Balinese sense of humour and life.

The down sides: the big one was that if you signed up for the wifi connection, it cost a fortune. Check it before you sign on. It was more expensive than the room tariff. And they didn't warn you about the price.
We're used to a bit more hands on contact with staff. They are very efficient here, but a bit distant. A bit different out on the street, the lokals are full of smiles and 'selamat pagi's'.
The bathroom was a touch dodgy, we had two showers, one in a cavernous sunken bath and it was a touch dingy in there...

...but that pool, the rest, the

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    31
    20
    4
    8
See reviews for
18
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the last few nights of our honeymoon. We booked last minute and got a fantastic deal booking on line (although if anyone uses Agoda to book it's extremely difficult and not user friendly the first time you use it - obviously that has nothing to do with kaMAYA), and from the second we arrived the experience was wonderful. The staff were helpful, friendly, and attentive, and made us feel special and looked after. We stayed in Villa Dupa, and it was extremely nice - beautiful, spacious and the pool was perfect! The food here was delicious and reasonably priced given the quality. We really genuinely couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a very nice time at Kamaya. It was the first stop on our honeymoon. The grounds are lovely, and the food was incredible! We loved every bite. We ended up getting a different room than the one we reserved. We were put in a 2 story, but no one was upstairs so we had the place to ourselves. Villa Bija is toward the back of the property, and area was too shaded and the pool too cold to really enjoy, but it was nice and private. The room was very nice, clean, and air conditioned. I think the bathroom had a lot of potential, but could use a paint job and some sprucing up. The hotel is a long walk from downtown, but they do provide a shuttle. Finding the way back was not always easy, as some of the cab drivers from town didnt know where Kamaya was, even when looking at a map. We did a spa treatment, and would rate the treatment #1 of all of the spas we tried. Was really great! The staff was very kind and friendly, and took great care of us. Id recommend this for couples looking to find a nice quiet place in Sanur.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Generally quiet and peaceful, friendly staff and pretty grounds with a nice clean pool. Our lanai with pool was great, just what we were hoping for. Main downsides- location is a short walk to the rocky end of the beach and next to a bit of a smelly river. The mosquitos were deadly and attacked during the day as well as the night. Be warned!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The property itself is very nice, calming and nice old trees. Nice layout as well with the restaurant facing the pool. There is alot of promise for this boutique hotel as it feels very tranquil with some good staff.

I was rather disappointed when I arrived into the room though. We booked the Lanai with a private pool, and the pool was more than a huge outdoor bath tub rather than a pool. You can hear your neighbors and even though we were not close to the airport, we could hear planes flying into the airport, especially at night. In addition, I could hear a creature digging its way through the floor boards at night which I suspect are rats but I have not heard one before, so I am not positive... There were some bedding, towels and napkins that were stained. Night time turndown was unpredictable as well, where we had the bed turndown some nights only.

What is the price point for free flow drinking water to be avail in the room? USD 150? USD 200? USD 250? Especially in a city where tap water is not drinkable.... I requested for more drinking water but was unsuccessful. The internet connection is difficult to connect and if you can connect, it's very slow.. I suppose, you shouldn't connect to the world when you are in Bali anyway.

Service is pretty good and the staff speaks good english. However, the front desk was not very helpful with our luggage, and looked on as we carried our bags to the room ourselves.

In short, for the same price that we paid, we could have stayed at other newer villas in Sanur city, closer to the beach and a decent private pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is am amazing, peaceful, romantic place just a bit out of Sanur. 5 star for 4 star price. Could not really fault it - rooms were amazing (we got a free upgrade to a villa), staff attentive and friendly, free shuttle into Sanur, beautiful poolside setting for restaurant, great included breakfast. Amazing. Come here for your honeymoon - don't bring the toddler! (like we did :(). Great pizza and hangout for little kids at the Safare place round the corner, and walking distance to the beach if you're keen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay in a Lanai with a pool. Lovely room, with great bathroom and fabulous garden.
Secluded place to stay, however we could hear the loud noise of the kite show from Sanur Beach.
A car was available to drop us anywhere in Sanur when we called to request, free of charge.
Amazing breakfast included in our stay, which was brought to your room if requested, and laid out in our garden area.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
I had a massage in the resort spa, which was amazing, but very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to kaMAYA Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Address: Jalan Tanjung 41, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — kaMAYA Resort and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary from modern world. An island of serenity and quite.A perfect home base for your exploration of the beauty of Bali Island.Located at the western extremity of Sanur - You'll find thirdtheen delightful Balinese - Style dwellings in an exclusive sculptured environment, Seclusion, Relaxation, Serenity.Six individual self contained Villas complete with kitchen. Some with two bedrooms, some with one, all exquisite in design and detail. All stylish Balinese.A Massage Centre and Spa.A swimming pool design to echo the ancient Balinese temple bathing place. Mysterious carved statues peer through the lush tropical plantings. Ponds and water features erupt with lilies, lotus, and colorful fish.With five individual self contained villas.Each villa provides for you to make your own selves coffee or tea at anytime. A communal kitchen for us to cook you anything from a quick snack to a banquet are available. And private swimming pool for you to have relaxation in privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your kaMAYA Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Maya Resort Villa Hotel Sanur
Waka Maya Hotel
KaMAYA Resort And Villas Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage kaMAYA Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.