We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been better...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added kaMAYA Resort and Villas to your Saves list
kaMAYA Resort and Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Tanjung 41, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% OFF and BENEFIT OFFER
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
SEA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“could have been better...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The property itself is very nice, calming and nice old trees. Nice layout as well with the restaurant facing the pool. There is alot of promise for this boutique hotel as it feels very tranquil with some good staff.

I was rather disappointed when I arrived into the room though. We booked the Lanai with a private pool, and the pool was more than a huge outdoor bath tub rather than a pool. You can hear your neighbors and even though we were not close to the airport, we could hear planes flying into the airport, especially at night. In addition, I could hear a creature digging its way through the floor boards at night which I suspect are rats but I have not heard one before, so I am not positive... There were some bedding, towels and napkins that were stained. Night time turndown was unpredictable as well, where we had the bed turndown some nights only.

What is the price point for free flow drinking water to be avail in the room? USD 150? USD 200? USD 250? Especially in a city where tap water is not drinkable.... I requested for more drinking water but was unsuccessful. The internet connection is difficult to connect and if you can connect, it's very slow.. I suppose, you shouldn't connect to the world when you are in Bali anyway.

Service is pretty good and the staff speaks good english. However, the front desk was not very helpful with our luggage, and looked on as we carried our bags to the room ourselves.

In short, for the same price that we paid, we could have stayed at other newer villas in Sanur city, closer to the beach and a decent private pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is am amazing, peaceful, romantic place just a bit out of Sanur. 5 star for 4 star price. Could not really fault it - rooms were amazing (we got a free upgrade to a villa), staff attentive and friendly, free shuttle into Sanur, beautiful poolside setting for restaurant, great included breakfast. Amazing. Come here for your honeymoon - don't bring the toddler! (like we did :(). Great pizza and hangout for little kids at the Safare place round the corner, and walking distance to the beach if you're keen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay in a Lanai with a pool. Lovely room, with great bathroom and fabulous garden.
Secluded place to stay, however we could hear the loud noise of the kite show from Sanur Beach.
A car was available to drop us anywhere in Sanur when we called to request, free of charge.
Amazing breakfast included in our stay, which was brought to your room if requested, and laid out in our garden area.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
I had a massage in the resort spa, which was amazing, but very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a great 4 night stay here following 3 weeks traveling around New Zealand. Like the previous reviewer I also booked this on booking.com and got a fantastic rate for the lanai room, a beautiful 2 bed villa (without pool and breakfast). As others have said the villas are a little way out of the resort of Sanur, meaning that it is very quiet and peaceful which was just what we were looking for. The hotel also put on a free shuttle into town whenever you want to go and it is a cheap taxi ride back (use the light blue "Blue Bird Taxis" but do remember to take a hotel card with the address and map on as quite a few drivers didn't know how to get there).

The villas themselves are set in lovely grounds and as many of them have private pools the main pool only ever had a few people in it, and we often had it to ourselves. The staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble and room service is provided at no extra charge. The resort also provides complimentary afternoon tea between 3 and 5 pm every day. Unlike some previous reviewers we had no problems with mosquitos and we were provided with coils to burn as well as with repellent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked this accommodation via booking.com when staying in Ubud. I wanted to get away from all the traffic/shopping/tourist buzz of Ubud. I stayed 4 nights and it was fantastic. As I arrived early, they kindly allowed me to stay in a villa for a few hours. I had booked the cheapest room (with no b/f) but was upgraded to a room with my own pool! My room was amazing - just huge with a bathroom to die for. The private pool was so private you could swim in the nude if you so desired. The resorts grounds were well kept and full of luscious greenery and tasteful sculptures. I had the complimentary afternoon tea each day and it was a very refreshing pot of tea and a little pastry treat. Although not close to the shopping district, a free taxi/shuttle service was always available and the taxi ride back only ever cost me $1.50. The Italian restaurant around the corner serves great pizza. I walked along the beach front each day and it takes about 40 minutes to get into town, passing numerous upmarket hotels and cafes plus local eateries. The area of beach near the hotel is very very quiet - bliss after Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We just had two nights there June 22-23 2013. Clean, welcoming and good value for money. Beautiful grounds and gardens and plunge pools are worth the extra $20. Good food although nothing spectacular.
Kamaya is a bit of a ways out of town but they run a shuttle into the main strip on request at any hour. Small resort so not much to do. Good wi-fi.
Sanur beaches don't do it for me as much as nusa dua or canngu. We had not visited Sanur previously, OK but would not go back.

If you are in the neighbourhood for a night or two, could do much worse than KaMaya.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a really nice, very private resort. The bungalows are great and I highly recommend one its own pool. The staff are incredibly obliging - letting us drink our own champagne in the restaurant for our anniversary, dropping us in Sanur or at the beach whenever we needed, and even picking me up some panadol when I felt unwell! The food is pretty good but I'd recommend sticking to the Indonesian dishes, and is very reasonably priced. Breakfast is a la carte and served by the pool, and they'll happily also bring it to your room. The spa is also pretty cheap and very flexible.
The only negative I'd mention are that sometimes it could be a little quieter - it seems to be under a flight path and planes go overhead as late as 1am.
For those who have never been to Bali before:
1. Take your own currency and change it in Bali, the exchange rate is much better there!
2. You will need to pay US $25pp on entry (they accept MasterCard too) and IDR 150,000pp on departure
3. People will try and trick you into buying sarongs outside every temple - most temples (other than Besakih) loan them as part of the entry fee anyway.
4. If you visit Mother temple (Besakih), take your own sarong. You will also have your ticket collected by a group of 'officials' who will show you a ledger and try and convince you that other tourists have left large donations and that you should too. They fill this ledger in themselves, we were advised not to leave them more than IDR 50,000 for the pleasure of a guide.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to kaMAYA Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Address: Jalan Tanjung 41, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#11 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — kaMAYA Resort and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary from modern world. An island of serenity and quite.A perfect home base for your exploration of the beauty of Bali Island.Located at the western extremity of Sanur - You'll find thirdtheen delightful Balinese - Style dwellings in an exclusive sculptured environment, Seclusion, Relaxation, Serenity.Six individual self contained Villas complete with kitchen. Some with two bedrooms, some with one, all exquisite in design and detail. All stylish Balinese.A Massage Centre and Spa.A swimming pool design to echo the ancient Balinese temple bathing place. Mysterious carved statues peer through the lush tropical plantings. Ponds and water features erupt with lilies, lotus, and colorful fish.With five individual self contained villas.Each villa provides for you to make your own selves coffee or tea at anytime. A communal kitchen for us to cook you anything from a quick snack to a banquet are available. And private swimming pool for you to have relaxation in privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your kaMAYA Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Maya Resort Villa Hotel Sanur
Waka Maya Hotel
KaMAYA Resort And Villas Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage kaMAYA Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.