We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added kaMAYA Resort and Villas to your Saves list
kaMAYA Resort and Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Tanjung 41, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 4 Pay 3 Inc 20% Disc
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The rooms were beautiful, loved the outdoor shower and bath. The service was fantastic and the staff were incredibly attentive. The location was secluded, private and quiet; just perfect for a honeymoon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
19
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights for my honeymoon. The location is hard to find, even with the local driver's help. There's no minimarts open nearby, so please buy all the stuff you need when you go out. The location is also quite far from the nearest beach (Sanur).

I stayed at the villa with plunge pool and garden. The room is nice and spacious. The bathroom is good. The atmosphere is very quiet. The bedding is quite okay. No TVs make it a no-no for family with children. The door to each villa is hidden so you'll never see other guests opening the door.

The breakfast is very standard, just a choice of two set menus. Considering the price, it should and could be better.

The service is quite missing, though we don't need anything from the hotel.

Overall, a good choice is you're the kind that loves relaxing at the hotel. Do remember that you need to hire a car since the nearest taxi is only available at the Sanur beach which is about 15 minutes walk.

PS: I stayed on March 2008, never tried the spa or fitness.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here a few days on our honeymoon and it was fantastic!! The grounds were nice and quiet. The room was beautiful, spotless, spacious and very private. We stayed in a room with a private pool. It wasn't big enough to swim laps, but it was perfect for two people. We'd recommend staying in a room with a pool as the main guest pool is more of a wading pool. We still dream of our bathroom. It was half outdoors and just gorgeous! The food was great. The spa was fabulous. A few mosquitoes hanging out in there, but the Balinese massage was great.

The location was wonderful. It was nice and quiet on the grounds, but you are located in the heart of Sanur.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

My first impression of Waka Maya was dulled by a mix up over the room on arrival. This, along with a few other minor concerns during my 9 days stay here, were well and truly handled by Erna, the excellent duty manager.

Waka Maya truly is a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle outside, and although the location is not inspiring, it isn't far from most places, and they provide a free shuttle service or taxi to Sanur, 5 minutes away.

The villas are Balinese in style, nicely appointed and generally quiet and peaceful. (There is some industrial noise from outside the resort at the moment.. Sounds like someone using a grinder most of the time).

There are numerous aircraft movements overhead, as well as the rustle of wind through kites that are always flying in the skies over Bali, however you tend to get used to it.

If you are anything like me, 9 days living in a room without TV, radio or the like is a bit too much of a culture shock, especially since the street outside is hardly where you would want to be walking to get away for a while.

I brought my iPod dock from home so at least I was able to listen to my own music if I wanted.

I suggested to them that a TV and DVD player in the room would be a welcome addition, (with cheap DVD's available here) however,I don't know if that will happen.

My daughter and her family from Darwin, Australia stayed here at the same time in Bale Maja, a spacious, idyllic 2 bedroom villa with a pool. They loved their time here, and I enjoyed sharing time at their beautiful residence with them.

They moved into the deluxe 2 bedroom two storey Villa Tirte with a pool for their last night here, but we all agreed that Bale Maja was nicer.

Breakfast was OK for the first couple of days, however, (and I suggested to them that), the chef should be allowed to be more innovative, and the menu should be varied on a daily basis. As it was, we were all able to rattle off the same old things to the waitstaff when ordering each morning and we became quite bored with the menu.

The staff here should be complimented. All were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient.

In summing up, Waka Maya is a very relaxing resort in traditional Balinese fashion. It has some issues which can be improved on, and some, especially it's location, that can't.

I recommend Waka Maya for a relaxing holiday as long as you are aware of what is on offer here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

So quiet. Nicely appointed. Deliciously small.
I stayed in the villa dupa. And it was much more than adequate. Plunge pool, terrace, gardens, and yoga area.
The food was very good and the staff so sweet.
The main pool was very pretty too. Way way way too much chlorine though! Although not on the beach, it's perfect for a romantic getaway, very close to everything really.
A really good base in Bali.
I will return.

Room Tip: Villa dupa is my pick but the lanai were a very close second
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Good online deal made this place good value. Thats it. Location wasnt good at all, however we sort of knew that. Villas are ok, its clean and nice - reminds a bit of six senses resorts, albeit much lower quality. Food was not super, but decent. Price wise in hotel, it was good - fair prices and so too minibar.

If you need a romantic getaway a few days, can recommend it - but with friends, a resort would have been a better choice.

Staff is nice and friendly and we could not complain about service at all!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

nice place but out of the way so need to be fit ande walk a lot

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to kaMAYA Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Address: Jalan Tanjung 41, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#14 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — kaMAYA Resort and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary from modern world. An island of serenity and quite.A perfect home base for your exploration of the beauty of Bali Island.Located at the western extremity of Sanur - You'll find thirdtheen delightful Balinese - Style dwellings in an exclusive sculptured environment, Seclusion, Relaxation, Serenity.Six individual self contained Villas complete with kitchen. Some with two bedrooms, some with one, all exquisite in design and detail. All stylish Balinese.A Massage Centre and Spa.A swimming pool design to echo the ancient Balinese temple bathing place. Mysterious carved statues peer through the lush tropical plantings. Ponds and water features erupt with lilies, lotus, and colorful fish.With five individual self contained villas.Each villa provides for you to make your own selves coffee or tea at anytime. A communal kitchen for us to cook you anything from a quick snack to a banquet are available. And private swimming pool for you to have relaxation in privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your kaMAYA Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Maya Resort Villa Hotel Sanur
Waka Maya Hotel
KaMAYA Resort And Villas Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage kaMAYA Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.