We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Pavilions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Pavilions to your Saves list
Bali Pavilions
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Danau Tamblingan No. 76, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
München
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Pavilions are a really precious hideaway located in the middle of Sanur's center.
As a reccomendation from our travel agency we didn't check the comments before going there - but it wasn't necessary anyway :)
From the very first second to the final farewell we found ourselves in paradise!
Our "Pool Villa" (highly recommended) was spacious, the bellboy explained everything - including the complimentary water-gallon, the DVD player, the Stereo Player, etc.
Upon arrival we received a foot-massage and the order form for our breakfast.
The breakfast will be served in the villa, so you can already start the day relaxed and basically whenever you want.
The pool and room are cleaned everyday, in the evening another check incl. anti-moscito meassures takes place.
The whole ressort is very private and if youo don't want to, you will basically never see any neighbour.
All the staff is so friendly and professional, helpful allover and always at hand.

Summing it up: The best hotel I have ever been to!!

Room Tip: choose a Pool Villa, it's worth it ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    38
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
173
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After staying 3 nights in Ubud we arrived at the Pavilions where we were to be married on the Saturday. From the start we were welcomed with warm, friendly & really lovely staff. We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa which was both beautiful & very spacious. We were greeted on arrival with long cool drinks & complimentary foot/leg massage. The walled garden was surrounded by beautiful colourful flowers & a bridge spanning the pool. The decking area had a huge parasol & sun chairs & a table & chairs, as well as the longest towels that were replaced daily I have ever seen. Inside was a large living area with TV & stereo & kitchenette with a stocked mini bar, which was very reasonably priced. The bathroom was huge, as was the shower & various complimentary toiletries were provided. The butler service was very special & breakfast was delivered at your specified time. The choice of breakfast was lovely, ranging from fresh fruit, continental, American or Indonesian or all of it, if that is what you wanted?? We had the room cleaned after breakfast & then we could lock the world away in our perfect hideaway. The little personal touches were brilliant, from the villa named after ourselves to the lighting of the aromatic oils in the bathroom on an evening & lanterns on our decking area. Mosquito plug ins were replaced every evening along with fresh towels. The wedding day was beautiful & perfect in every way. A separate villa was available for my husband to change & the staff made the whole day faultless. Flowers were scattered in the pool & heart shapes left floating, the bath was filled with beautiful petals & a heart shape with flowers on the bed. We even received a card signed by the staff & a lovely wedding gift. I had my nails done in the lovely spa & sipped my lemongrass tea as I was pampered. We were married in the gardens & the decorations both in the villa & around the grounds made for the most gorgeous setting. I walked along a path of flowers escorted by two lovely young men holding white fringed umbrellas to shade me from the sun. We stayed for 11 nights in total & couldn't recommend it highly enough for a romantic hideaway escape. The bamboo entrance led you to the road & numerous shops & restaurants & a short walk away was access to the beach walk way. The hotel did provide transport to Sanur beach itself, but we were happy to chill in our own little heaven. Special thanks to all the staff & the owner who invited us for dinner in the restaurant on our last night. We ate in the restaurant on our wedding night surrounded by candles & had the set Indonesian meal which was fantastic. Overall a really lovely special time made special by every single staff member :-)

Room Tip: Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights on our honeymoon in March this year. It is by far and away the best holiday either of us have ever had and I can't fault a single thing about our stay. When they found out it was a honeymoon they upgraded us to a two bedroom pool villa from the one bed one we had booked and, even though we didn't use the second room, it meant we had a bigger pool and living area which was fantastic. The place is an absolute haven away from the hustle and bustle and the surrounding gardens are as beautiful as they are relaxing. We ate in the hotel restaurant once and had room service twice and the food was extremely well presented and tasted as good as it looked. You can also book one of the individual tables in the restaurant which are set out on their own in the garden and makes for a very romantic evening. There are also loads of lovely restaurants on the main street a few minutes walk away as well. The staff are so polite and friendly they really make you feel special. I would thoroughly recommend the spa facilities as well - we both had great massages. If you are after a relaxing romantic break you couldn't do any better than staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If there is something that Bali can be faulted on it's the general standard of the restaurants. But that's certainly not the case at The Bali Pavilions in Sanur where the quality and presentation of
each meal (breakfast, lunch and dinner over several days) matched our beautiful surroundings.
From the moment we arrived we felt spoilt. Our villa was luxurious, and the service was impeccable.

The Pavilions is a hard place to drag yourself away from when you are tempted by some admittedly spectacular sightseeing. And such a wonderful place to return to when you get "home". We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've stayed at the Pavilions twice now in a 2 bedroom family villa. It is just lovely and now feels like a home away from home. The manager welcomed us back the second time with a wonderful smile and a big hug. It is that type of place - small, intimate and friendly.

The amazing thing about this resort is that it is right in the middle of Sanur, yet it feels like you could be in the middle of nowhere. We heard no outside noise apart from roosters crowing and birds chirping. Breakfast was brought to the villa every morning at the specified time and set up beautifully at our own dining table. There is a fridge in the kitchenette so it is easy to stock up at the local supermarket and lounge the day away in complete privacy. We also loved coming back from a day out and wandering down the bamboo lined driveway. You could feel the serenity return within moments.

The only downside that I can see is the lack of beach access for those that prefer a beach holiday. Sure, the resort has a shuttle and are happy to take you but the way Sanur has been built up means that beach access is limited from the main road. While the beach is nothing like the surf beaches on the other side of the island, it is nice to wander along the boardwalk, watch the watersports, have a coffee/dinner in one of the restaurants, watch the local dogs interact, do a spot of shopping or just get from one end of Sanur to the other without contending with traffic on the main road. The first time we visited it wasn't difficult to wander through some of the beachside resorts down to the beach for a morning walk or find a restaurant for dinner. Twelve months later and they seem to have tightened up on this and we had to walk quite a distance to reach a beach access road. Completely understandable due to security concerns but unfortunately for those staying in non-beachside resorts it limits your experience of Sanur. It is a shame since Sanur really has become a forgotten spot with most holidaymakers heading to Seminyak and Kuta.

Having said that, we love this resort and the less frenetic pace of Sanur and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in a pool villa for part of our honeymoon and it was everything we wanted! I was a little unsure of what to expect as, whilst this place is still fairly pricey, it is cheaper than other comparable luxury hotels and villas, but it delivered in every way.
The pool villa offers total privacy; plenty of room inside with a beautiful bedroom, very spacious bathroom plus additional outside shower, kitchen/dining/living area and a decent sized decked area and pool within a lovely walled garden.
We felt totally pampered from the very beginning, as soon as we arrived we were brought welcome drinks and ladies to give us a foot massage in our villa, and the whole stay continued in the same way. As other reviewers have said Bali Pavilions really focus on the small touches that are missed even by other luxury resorts - silly things like mosquito repellent as part of the toiletries in the bathroom, and the hundreds of candles that are laid out to illuminate the pathways in the evening really make a difference.
The spa and restaurant, whilst perhaps more expensive than other establishments in Sanur town, were fantastic value for the quality. I spent 5 very happy hours having spa treatments, and we enjoyed a fabulous meal brought to our villa one evening from the restaurant - very romantic and we paid around UK£40 for 3 courses and drinks - with one of the main courses being a whole lobster! The service and quality of the food would have been fantastic in a top restaurant, let alone for the equivalent of hotel room service.
As a couple we usually enjoy walking around and eating in the local area but after a quick wander we found Sanur to be very crowded and touristy; luckily Bali Pavilions really is one of those wonderful places where you don't have to leave at all, and spending a few days in the privacy of our own villa was complete bliss. If I ever want a relaxing, luxurious and sunny break in future I'll be straight over to the Pavilions again.

Room Tip: Pool villa had everything we needed; plenty of space inside and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at The Pavilions for our honeymoon in August. If you are hoping to spend a lot of time in your villa and hope to sunbathe in private then we would definitely recommend paying the extra for a pool villa. We only paid enough for a garden villa which was mis sold to us by our travel company as a 'no tan line villa', When we arrived, although the villa and surroundings were lovely, the garden was a small patio which was covered so there was no way we would be able to lay down there, let alone catch any sun! We expressed our disappointment to the staff and we were really impressed by how they dealt with it. After arriving at 8pm, by 9am the next morning the manager had visited us at our villa personally to inform us that she wanted us to be happy and that she would be upgrading us to a pool villa which was perfect. It was spacious, clean and well presented. If you really cant afford the extra, the public pool was almost always secluded so you'd probably get that to yourself anyway! The staff were very friendly and always happy to help, they visited once in the morning and evening to clean/offer fresh towels, set up mosquito repellant and left us with new candles lit in the bathroom every evening. Also the food in the restaurant was amazing! A little pricey compared to the local restaurants but we felt it was well worth it! Definitely recommended for a quiet holiday but with enough shops restaurants and bars to try a two min walk away.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a pool villa - we were in number 25 and loved the pool/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Pavilions

Address: Jalan Danau Tamblingan No. 76, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Pavilions 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bali Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Pavilions Hotel Sanur
Bali Pavilions Sanur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Pavilions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.