We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay bad location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mentari Sanur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mentari Sanur Hotel to your Saves list
Mentari Sanur Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. Hangtuah III, No.3, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80000, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 94 Sanur B&B and Inns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay bad location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice pool (although not enough seats) and good breakfast. Rooms were clean and spacious my only issue was the location. The town is not within walking distance I would prefer to stay somewhere in the heart of Sanur.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    82
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
34
55
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here with our two young children, aged 4 and 1 for nearly a week. We had a gardenview room on the ground level - it was nearly opposite the restaurant which meant we could use the wifi from our room, it was a good (fast) connection.

The room itself could do with an upgrade - the cupboard doors were a bit fiddly to move, and the furniture looks a bit worn. The bathroom (with a shower) is a little small, also the shower curtain didn't fit properly so the whole bathroom was a bit wet after a shower. No big deal for us, but a little update wouldn't be a bad idea.

The room was very clean through, beds were comfortable. I think the room would be pretty spacious too - we had an extra bed in there as well as a cot for the kids so we didn't have much space left but still enough. What's also nice is the little patio in front (upper level rooms have a balcony). In the evening we could sit outside while the kids slept.

The restaurant is nothing special but reasonable enough, you get cheaper and better food when you venture out but it is convenient place to eat. At breakfast you have the choice of an Indonesian (nasi or bakmi goreng), American or Continental breakfast. Also cereal, yoghurt and fruit available. There are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room (it would be nice if they added this!) but the staff is happy to provide you with a thermos with hot water.

The staff is lovely, very friendly and great with children. You can organise tours/rent car with driver from the hotel, we did this twice and found it good value with a very good and calm driver. What's also convenient is the pick-up/drop off from and to the airport.

The pool is beautiful, on some occasions there weren't enough loungers but part of that problem could be fixed by other guests who put their towels on the loungers and then don't appear for an hour or two!

Location of the hotel is good - it's a short stroll from the beach where there are several restaurants and plenty of warungs (small stalls selling food and drinks). The hotel is down a side street which isn't very well lit at night but we felt safe. Also very close to ATM's and small supermarkets. It is a bit of a walk to the main street in Sanur, wouldn't recommend the walk for those travelling with young children or the elderly. However a metered taxi isn't expensive - Rp. 10,000 - 15,000 depending on where you get off.

The hotel itself gets 3 stars, and the fourth one is because of the great staff. Recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I recommend you DON'T let the photos of this so-called hotel as true. I was so surprised that it had celebrated its 11th year birthday while we were there last week!! The hotel is falling to pieces. The toilet stuffed up and water overflowed all over the bathroom - that took them 5 hours to fix, then they were going to leave the mess until I freaked out. The complementary brekky is monotonous. The staff are very nice and try to do their best, but there are only one or two on duty, so it isn't their fault that we have to wait, wait, and wait. The television has no English speaking channels, but that didn't matter because the static/reception is so bad that it's unwatchable anyway. The bedding was never changed - yes, I have a secret way of noting this, and also the same with the towels, which are just folded up again. The pool lounges are wooden with no padding. There's about 7 'loungers', yet we only received a pool towel on one occasion, the rest of the time we had the grey/white 'cardboard' towels that were also supplied in the bathroom. There is one DVD player for the whole hotel. Wifi is in the restaurant only. Room service was quick enough. It's just a boring hotel and I'd rate it at generously at 2*. Not good for elderly or young children because of the slippery stairs to the upper floor. To sum this hotel up, I would say it lacks any sort finesse or attention to detail. Would we return again - definitely not!

Room Tip: Find a better hotel for the same price. DO NOT buy through Hotels.com as this gives you NO leg to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were well aware that the hotel was down a side street, but not feel it was dangerous. We were close to the minimart for supplies, water, medical supplies and carla day spa (big thumbs up). It wasn’t noisy and was tucked away from the main street.

Although we did have a few mishaps in the beginning we eventually had a nice stay. We were first placed in a room 104 but was told the occupants extended their stay another week and we were offered another room. We were moved to room 108, but on inspection I noticed there was no fridge and we required one due to our medication. They later told us that we could have 104 since the occupants have left. We stayed in 104 for one night but had to move again as they were renovating next door and the smell of lead paint on the walls gave my wife and myself headaches. They tried moving us to room 108 again and I said to the male concierge that it had no fridge. He asked another staff member to check the room and on returning he said there was a fridge. Disbelieving this, I went and inspected the room only to find that the room did not have a fridge and when I questioned the male staff member he said he knew that there wasn’t a fridge.

They later upgraded us to the pool room. Seemed well until we settled in, only to find out that there was no hot water and that the tv wasn’t working. This was later remedied but it felt like a massive ask, to ask them to fix this.

Generally the staff in the restaurant and the lady staff members at the front counter were very helpful and friendly. Service score would have been higher if we didn’t have the mishaps.

All the rooms were a good size, air conditioned and had plenty of wardrobe space. (doors were a bit fiddly) The King size bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Pool and restaurant just outside was fantastic and very inviting.

All in all a fantastic tucked away hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gorokan nsw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

we found this hotel to be quiet and peaceful and just the place for our visit this time. The rooms were large, the bed comfortable and even wifi in the rooms most days. We had a pool view room number 115. Have been to bali many times so the mentari was perfect for us to just jump in a taxi and visit our favourite places. we normally stay right in the middle of kuta. A small walk out of the hotel there are plenty of resturants and a stroll to the beach, i use a stick and these walks were easy to do. The pool is fabulous only suggestion i could make to management is, there is only one pool recliner without arms and when you have mobility probs its hard to sit on the end of a chair and shimmy back or forward to try to get out. the one time i did my hubby had to pull me out. Am sure a couple more of the recliners without arms would be appreciated by us older guests as it was hard to get the only chair there. We ate out most nights as unfortunately the resturant is not quite up there compared with other places we stayed. Sometimes you are just after a club sammie or a burger and not wanting to venture out at night or lunch. Ate once there and once only that was disappointing resturant staff need to up the anti a lil. Apart from that the mentari is fantastic we loved it and will most definately be going back there again. Front desk staff can not do enough for you they are fabulous. Also management i must compliment your driver for pick up and drop off at airport, what a friendly guy and great english we loved both our trips with him. Thanks again mentari staff for a wonderful 2 weeks we spent with you. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed in this hotel many times and every time we went to Bali which is 2 - 3 times a year. Great staff, nice garden, nice room and large swimming pool. Close to the beach and restaurants. Staff are always remember guest by name and always greet guests every time they see you walking pass or just having a meal at the restaurant. Also free wifi for staying guests. This hotel provide a complementary airport pick up and drop off. Overall my stay has been enjoyable every time and never anything to complaint about. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that want to stay in Sanur area.

Room Tip: Room with pool view and garden view are nice to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The Mentari Sanur was our first stop in Bali, we were only here for 2 nights as it was a last minute booking when our flights were changed (But would have definately stayed longer). It is set off the road and feels very secure. The gardens were gorgeous and the pool was the perfect size to swim a few lengths before breakfast or too cool down in the afternoons. The rooms were spacious and clean the bed was huge. It had fairly minimal decorations and furniture inside but it suited the beachy feel of the place. The breakfasts were excellent but I would recommend venturing out for dinner.
Sanur is a laid back area and a great place too start your trip if your not use to itensity of the busier areas. The Mentari Sanur was a great little sactury to return to after a day exploring.

Room Tip: Pool views rooms get the last of the afternoon sun and a great place to sit on your deck and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mentari Sanur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mentari Sanur Hotel

Address: Jl. Hangtuah III, No.3, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mentari Sanur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mentari Sanur Hotel; A self indulgence resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mentari Sanur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mentari Hotel Sanur
Mentari Sanur Hotel Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mentari Sanur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.