We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Santrian to your Saves list
Puri Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honey moon. We had reserved a bungalow room but when we arrived we were placed in a soulless boxy, dark room that most certainly was not what we had reserved. The staff did not mention they did not give us the room we reserved and when we asked to be put in a bungalow, they tried to put us in an even worse garden room instead (playing it off as a bungalow). They did not seem to care at all that they did not put is in the room we reserved. On top of all that, on the beach, almost all of the "nice" lounge chair--the ones with the best views or with shade-- had towels placed on them by selfish guests who would "reserve" them for themselves starting at 7 am. About 90% of these lounge chairs remained unoccupied throughout the day. If you tried to sit in one though, some angry guest would come running to you from one of the other chairs or tables they are occupying and demand that this is their seat. The staff completely allow this behaviour and in fact encourage this (I think some of the staff are paid to lay out towels for guests). I absolutely hate this place. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    512
    158
    37
    30
See reviews for
247
832
55
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

A beautiful hotel, where nothing was too much trouble, the staff were amazing. The rooms were clean and fresh. The grounds were immaculate. The beach was idyllic. The food was delicious. The service was amazing in a country famous for good service. And the spa treatments made me feel like a new person. This hotel was recommended to me by a friend, I'm so glad I took her advice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

we were treated with great respect and on arrival found they'd upgraded us to the club rooms,one of the highlights of our holiday in bali.good security but always felt safe walking along the beach,walkway or restaurants on street near the hotel.meals ok but cheaper to seek nearby restaurants .excellent new massage facilities luxurious

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed in a Santrian Club room on the ground floor. The pool is terrific and very peaceful (no kids). The staff were very obliging. The room was large, clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We have just got back from two weeks in the Puri Santrian. We chose the Santrian Club , as it promised no children were allowed in that area, and being on honeymoon this appealed to us , in fact the whole hotel seemed mostly to be couples on holiday.

Following on from other comments , the towell on the sunbeds by 07.30 gets pretty annoying , especially when the hotel has a policy (which is not used ), to remove towells after 30 mins if nobody uses the bed, this would be my one and only critisim of the place.

The hotel is in a great spot, , plenty of eateries and entertainment close by , if your looking to party until the small hours Sanur is not the place, its more for couples enjoying a evening meal , and watching bands doing cover music until 11ish.We ate out of the hotel each night , and you are spoilt for choice ,for places to go, either on the road or along the beach front,we mostly had a very good standard of meals.
On holiday we always go for massages, there are quite a few massage places either on a lounger on the beach ,in the hotel itself,or various ones dotted along the road, again you are spoiled for choice , we had a excellent four hour spa package in Jegged near the hotels main entrance.

We hired a driver called Kadek, on the road opposite the hotels main entrance, to do all our day trips with,he was reasonably priced , and a really safe driver , always on time, he really looked after us , and nothing was too much trouble.

We had a great stay and would recommend this if you want to have peace and quiet in a great location,and in a friendly peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We recently stayed in two Beach Wing rooms at Puri Santrian as a family & could not fault it!! The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms aren't fantastically huge but perfect location wise - we were right near the pools, beach & restaurants as well as a taxi service if you want to head out for the day.

Sanur itself is a great location in Bali - we were not hassled by hawkers once (nothing like Kuta!!). The tide does go out a fair way in the afternoon but that just makes the beaches more interesting to walk along. We ate at both the Puri restaurants and outside spots - Puri restaurants great and most outside places were also good (and cheaper) but we wouldn't recommend a restaurant across the road kind of behind the Cat & the Fiddle (not sure of it's name but attached to some villas). Food there was awful.

The spa at Puri is well worth it. I had a body wrap and a stone massage - both SO good and really relaxing. We actually got married on the grounds of Puri and really was an amazing experience if you are thinking of getting married in Bali. Again all the staff there are just the most helpful and caring people you may ever meet!

Would definitely recommend spending that little extra $ and staying at Puri Santrian :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

just got back sunday from staying in sanur at the puri santrian, this hotel is fantastic. great staff, clean rooms, lovely breakfast. could not fault anything. booking again for next year. dont know why anyone could fault this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#5 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#11 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.