We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puri Santrian and Sanur - Superb!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Santrian to your Saves list
Puri Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Puri Santrian and Sanur - Superb!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After nearly a week at lovely Lovina, we then spent six days at Puri Santrian. It was our first stay at Sanur in 30 years but it will not be our last. The hotel is on the beach, with lounges and day beds provided for guests. There are also two floating pavilions.The hotels facilities are excellent with three pools. Our room on the second storey in the beach wing was very comfortable, with a good sized flat screen tv, plenty of storage space, a balcony,etc. and we had a different room for our late checkout in the garden wing, also comfortable. The hotel is very well maintained and the gardens gorgeous. We had breakfast every day and it was good food and good value, especially when you can select a mangosteen (out of season really) from the fruit bowl. One tip here is that if you like several cups of hot tea at breakfast ask for a pot of tea, rather than wait for the unhappy looking man to fill your cup with lukewarm liquid. We had dinner there twice, the second dinner was on a Thursday when the hotel puts on a Bali night, with traditional food and entertainment with traditional dances and music. I wanted to taste the suckling pig, baba guling and I wasn't disappointed, it was fantastic. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated away from the centre of Sanur but has many restaurants, bars, spas, shops etc. both on the beach and on Jl Cemara. The atmosphere of Sanur is sedate and a welcome change from the hustle, bustle and pestering of hawkers in Kuta. The beach at the front of the hotel and beyond is clean, the water clear, I went snorkelling twice, something I would not even contemplate at Kuta. One final point I would like to make is that Puri Santrian carries out fogging for mosquitoes several times a week. I have had Dengue Fever (caught at Kuta three years ago) and need to be vigilant in protecting myself from mosquito bites. It is a health risk for tourists and locals. Puri Santrian has taken the mosquito problem seriously and is doing their best to protect their guests from this dreadful disease. Thank you Puri Santrian. See you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    512
    158
    37
    30
See reviews for
247
832
55
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

On arrival after a very long flight from the UK we were welcomed with an upgrade from beach wing to the Puri Santrian Club which has it's own little area and pool and which was very tranquil! The room was very nice and the bed a dream after the long flight! The gardens of the hotel are lovely and the couches on the beach are the perfect way to the start of the day, these got reserved very quickly but there were enough sun loungers to go around! the breakfast buffet was good and the staff were all very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a great hotel, the staff are very friendly, accommodation is of very high standard. We stayed in one of the santrian club rooms, and consequently had use of the additional facilities but mainly used the main pool, however the room was worth the upgrade. We would definitely go back to this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Initial check in was the beginning of our awful experience. didnt have any valet service and we drove from tabanan, the least thing we wanted to do was to go to the parking lot
check in process was lengthy, too many cards for pool, for coffee, for breakfast
we are supposed to have a beach wing room, but upgraded to deluxe premiere, the room didnt have bathtub like the beach wing when i asked i wanted to have a beach wing room, they said it was full.
we tried to swallow it by just enjoying dinner since our daughter didnt feel well. this is the best part
we sat down at the same time as the australian couple next to us. guess what, they got the menu and served, we got the menu but never got to order eventhough the waiter could've just walkt 2 steps further to the next table.
this is a classic old style bali treatment towards local tourist. I never thought i'd still get this kind of racist treatment after the bali bombing which made intl tourist stayed away for awhile.
so if you are an Indonesia tourist, i suggest you try other hotels. the staff in the hotel clearly prefers to serve intl guests compared to us.
we moved to Hyatt, got better service, much friendlier staffs

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

When we arrived at the Puri Santrian Beach Resort and Spa ("Palace" ), tired from the trip but was told that the room was not available but upgrading us to a another room. Being too tired, we went to have a look. The room was room was on the first floor. I was blown away at the size of the room, massive bed, balcony over looking the pool and the beach. The service was amazing. Staff are sooo friendly. The breakfast buffet was really tops.
My hubby is very fussy when it comes to going on holiday, but was happy with the top service they provided. The walks along the beach was soothing. The food was great. There are so many places close by that you can go for dinner and it's close to the resort. His mother and family would come over to spend time with us by the beach. The security was good. The only thing, no services available for the elderly or the disability.The stairs to the room was not good, but I would highly recommend that you experience it for yourself. Book a driver from the resort to pick you up from the airport. Don' go through any travel agent that does not provide you with transport or breakfast included if you want it. We had an amazing stay at the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Puri Santrian for 4 nights for our 15th wedding anniversary. We were upgraded to a club room, which was very nice, if a little old & musty. The room was spotless & because the flooring was marble, it was very cool. We always check the cleanliness of hotel rooms by checking air conditioner filters. These were spotless, which was amazing, as Australian hotel room ones are mostly filthy. The Santrian Club has its own private pool which is children free, so it was very quiet. There are two other pools, one including a swim up bar. We loved the 3 lovely ladies near the pool who did very cheap massages, 100,000R each, or $10Aus for a 45 minute massage. So very relaxing, we had one every day at that price!! Breakfast was very nice, the setting on the beach was just gorgeous, especially in the large bali hut which seated 5 tables. So very pretty, & very relaxing to spend an extended breakfast. Meals at the hotel were very nice on the beach front & also at Mezzanine at the front of the hotel. There were other restaurants outside the hotel we could of gone to which would of been cheaper, but we were happy to stay within the hotel. The only complaint from my husband was that the hotel doesn't sell Bintang, which was kind of strange. My only complaint was that I wanted to book a candlelit dinner on the beach for our wedding anniversary. I tried to organise this via email at home before we went, but after 2 emails & no replies, I gave up. When we got to the hotel I tried to arrange it again, but it was already booked out. So this was very disappointing. The staff are very helpful & friendly. On checking out we were presented with a gift for our wedding anniversary - a beautiful fan. It was a lovely touch to end our wonderful stay at Puri Santrian.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Puri Santrian is a beautiful, traditional looking resort in Sanur. If I were to give you one piece of advice it would be to arrange a driver is sent from the hotel to the airport to collect you. When you emerge out into the arrivals area it is pandemonium with people grabbing at you and shouting taxi, taxi, taxi! It was such a relief to see a driver holding up a placard with my name on it! We were led through the throng and back to the resort. I believe it cost $20. Also worthy of note is the porters at the airport descend upon you and take your cases off you despite your protests then get quite aggressive in trying to get a tip off you! They commented to me that we had nice luggage and Puri Santrian is a "nice hotel".

We had booked the beach wing which I have read on tripadvisor since that lots of other people were upgraded to this level but we received no upgrade onwards to the next grade of room. Rooms are dark with a strange window with blind on the outside between the bath and the main bedroom so your partner or room mate can watch you shower should they so desire! Very odd! Room was beautifully cleaned every day but on the whole we were disappointed with it! Oppressive and dark! Beautiful view from the balcony across the pool and towards the beach.

Breakfast was a dream! It opens at 06.30 and runs until 10.30 so the earliest riser to the latest is catered for. Amazing fresh fruit area! Egg station! Nothing for anyone to complain about! Staff are a credit to the hotel. Very helpful and pleasant.

Pool area is gorgeous. Plenty of beds available near the pool or in the shade. There is a swim up bar area but the drinks are quite expensive so sitting getting drunk at the swim up bar would be costly! The happy hour at Puri involves taking 30% off only! Still leaves it ridiculously expensive. That is not to say we didn't do it but when we signed for the drinks we flinched! A service charge is levied onto everything you order irrespective of whether you want to tip or not.

The pool area, like the rest of the grounds is beautifully groomed at all times. In fact, this hotel was the saving grace of the Bali holiday.

Some tips for the surrounding area: avoid the women on the beach giving massages. They are no better than someone rubbing suntan lotion on you. In fact, anyone who has ever had any half decent massage will be wholly unimpressed by the massage in Bali. We had many between us over the holiday period and 2 days before we left we finally found a hairdressing and beauty salon where they did first rate massage at a good price. It was next door to beach breezes warung, across from a live music venue.

For delicious, authentic Balinese cooking in a local warung try the Indonesian vegetable noodle soup at Beach Breezes Warung and go for dinner along the beach from the Puri to Tities Warung. We had fantastic fish dishes there with ice cold beer!

Be sure to turn to the right along the beach and head to Bobby's bar and restaurant. You can sit at tables there looking out to sea and enjoy the Indonesian breeze on your face as you sit enjoying a drink in the afternoon.

There are loads of great restaurants and bars in Sanur for you to try but the level of harassment we had to endure all day every day got very draining very quickly. We'd step off the resort and have taxis honking at us and stopping in front as we tried to cross the road. Walk a few more steps and another taxi would stop and offer us "Charlie" or a girl for later. Add in the customary wailing of massage or "look, look, Mr" at a shop, then back to "taxi, Charlie or girl" again and the 10 days in Bali was not a relaxing experience! None of this is the fault of the resort and had I spent the entire holiday on the resort then I probably would have felt more relaxed.

Room Tip: Club rooms have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#5 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#11 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.