We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Santrian

Save Saved
You added Puri Santrian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 63 hotels in Sanur
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Following the reviews below, we were eager to stay here. Now we wish we hadn't.

This hotel was a major disappointment. Compared to the 4 other hotels we stayed in in Bali, this one was far below average.

-Our room type (beach wing) was overbooked. We were offered an alleged 'upgrade' to a bungalow room. We got a smelly dark, old room with a worn-out bathroom. When I kindly informed about other options at the reception, they bluntly said it was this or nothing. Upon insiting, it took the staff more than 20 minutes to find an available room in the Santrian Club (the upscale hotel wing). I had a look at the room: it was more modern indeed, the bathroom was not the dilapidated one we had but I was expected to pay 25 USD extra (do NOT book these rooms, they are not worth the money). We declined and settled for the mediocre room.
-Towels stink, both in the rooms and at the pool.
-Staff is slow and unfriendly, especially in the Beach front restaurant.

While paying upon leaving the hotel, I informed the recepton staff about our dissapointment. The receptionist laughed loud in my face, swiped the credit card and said 'thank you very much'.

I would never come back here.

  • Liked — The beach location
  • Disliked — Stinking towels, smelly rooms, unfriendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    442
    131
    24
    28
See reviews for
207
701
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

My wife and I went to Bali for our 25th wedding anniversary and stayed 10 nights (18-28th June) at the Puri Santrian. This is truly a fabulous hotel resort. From the moment you step into the open air reception area you know this place is all about quality and service to you the guest. We stayed in the beach wing on the first floor and our balcony looked out onto the koi fish pond, Lilly pond and the main pool. The room was clean, comfortable and a good size, with a good firm double bed. The bathroom was very clean and kept well stocked whilst we were there with clean towels and toiletries daily. Admittedly the towels were not brilliantly white but they were clean and soft. And if you scrutinized things the ceiling in our room 208 could do with a fresh coat of paint. The TV (12+ channels) had a good picture. The small fridge was adequate and we got two free bottles of water each day.
All areas of the hotel are kept to the highest standard, the gardens make for a wonderful tropical paradise. The two main pools are a good size each have a children’s section attached. The main pool has a swim up bar. Just a few steps from the pool is the beach which is clean. It’s decked out with comfy leatherette sofas and chairs amongst the standard beach loungers. Watersports are available and reasonably priced. The lady shop owners are persistent in trying to make a sale but there are only so many sarongs and shorts you need, besides you can buy them much cheaper in Kuta only a cheap 20mins taxi drive away.
Breakfast is the usual buffet (continental or English) with the addition of rice and noodles. All was fresh and plentiful. And at less than £4 each was just as cheap as the outside restaurants. We had breakfast at Mago on alternate days for about the same price. We only ate in the hotel on one night which was their weekly Bali dinner buffet/dance which was excellent. The table setting is arranged beautifully, the food is good and the Bali dance when you see it for the first time is brilliant. There are plenty of places to eat directly outside the hotel we mainly went to Donald’s and Mago. There’s no nightly evening entertainment so you have to go outside to the bars and restaurant for live music, etc.
All the staff were extremely good at their jobs and regularly stopped to chat to you, as did the shop owners and taxi drivers/tour guides just outside the hotel. The music shop 100 metres or so from the hotel will have a copy of “Sabilulungan” which is the hotel’s daily morning “alarm clock” Bali tune played by a trio on xylophone and pipe.
This is a terrific hotel for a laidback peaceful beach holiday. Go to Kuta for something more rowdy or Nusa Dua for something more Disney. But stay at the Puri Santrian for a little taste of paradise.

  • Liked — Setting in tropical gardens
  • Disliked — No evening entertainment
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We stayed four nights at the Puri Santrian and it was absolutely the best place to stay in Sanur. Beautiful balinese gardens; friendly, quick, gracious service; outstanding breakfasts and wonderfully relaxing. The massages at the spa are superb., and the two for one special was a treat. An ideal resort, giving one the balinese feel, great to base yourself for a holiday. Ideal for honeymooners, couples, older tourists and business people.
Our only regret was that we could not stay longer as the hotel was booked out. Next time we shall book earlier and stay for longer.

  • Liked — The breakfast and the gardens
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a little old but we were in the older garden wing rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

This is an utterly superb place and you cannot possibly have any complaints (unless of course you are Paris Hilton). We were upgraded to a Club Room which was huge with a 4 poster bed, separate dressing area and adjacent to a private pool/jacuzzi. The whole place emanates peace and tranquility, the gardens are beautifully laid out and maintained and there seem to be dozens of staff out permanently, just making sure that things look perfect. On the subject of staff, I found them extremely courteous and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We did not eat in the hotel but preferred to try different places on the strip outside or on the beach, both of which are cheap, good quality and easily accessible.

In short, you will not go wrong in booking this hotel. It is easily better than most 4 star hotels I have stayed in and holds its own with a 5 star hotel. If you want a relaxing spa type hotel in a fantastic setting with plentiful beach and restaurant access then just go. You will not regret it. However, if you are a crowd of twenty-somethings looking for a party holiday then forget it! You will be disappointed and not fit in.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

12 to 23 May 2008 we stayed at PS in a Club Room and had a fantastic time. The reservation was made direct with the hotel via email/fax and the booking was very smooth and all queries answered promptly. This also proved to be the cheapest way to do it as no where else were the rates requested cheaper than with the hotel direct, it seemed as though the hotel would rather encourage this method (from a conversation I had with them)
The hotel itself is very well tended, the staff are simply superb, food was excellent and everything is done with a smile and very efficiently. The Bali gala night is a must, the indonesian buffet style food was outstanding.
We had arranged a driver, however, on reflection it would probably be cheaper to negotiate with one of the many drivers that are outside the hotel or near the entrance. They don't pester at all and having its own beach area means there are no hawkers after you.
I would recommend this place instantly and without hesitation!!!

  • Liked — everything!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We went to the Puri Santrian for our honeymoon last summer (August) and it was the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. The rooms were really clean and spacious- we were in the superior room with a big balcony, four poster bed and view of the pool. The food was good and we especially like the 'afternoon tea' which was coffee and cake at 4pm! The grounds of the hotel are immaculate with a real tropical feel . You get towels to use by the pool which is nice and everywhere are beautiful orchids in pots. We usually always got a sunlounger and the weather was great- bit cloudy some days and rained one- but great temp.The pool at the front is on the beach, which isn't the most beautiful we'd seen but the hotel more than made up for it.
The staff are brilliant and Bali as a whole has the friendliest people we had ever met and we have both travelled a fair bit.
The hotel is in a small area with a few fantatsic restuarants and your 'Irish bar' British Pub combo! (Good cocktails in the Double Dutch Bar) but the surrounding area is not what you would call picturesque and it seems like such a contrast when you walk out of the hotel into the main road. We went to Seminyak one day (Taxi ride- 15 minutes) and I thought that had a very different feel as an area with amazing shops restuarants and bars (a lot bussier) and more cosmopolitan. Overall we had an amazing honeymoon in the Puri Santrian.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

Second visit to Puri was even better than the last! Had a brilliant two week stay with a little sidestep to Lombok..which was quite different but utterly beautiful and still quite wild.
My reccomendation for a great meal is the Mezzanine which is located at the front of the hotel street side. Staff were superb (my beers were cold anyway) food selection was massive and everything was superb. There is selection of Thai, Western, Japanese and local...the prices are a fraction more (we paid about $20 each for three course a night) but quality was there...

The grounds at the hotel are very natural and sympathetic with the surrounding areas. The public areas are very clean, the beach is good and there are two main pools and santrian club pool.

All staff were very helpful, courteous and happy !!!! Which goes a long way..In house sale staff Era was particularly helpful and a great asset to the hotel.

Thanks Puri see you next year.

evren

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — having to leave....
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#5 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.