We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Santrian to your Saves list
Puri Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything was wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My Partner and I spent 9 nights here recently in a Bunglow room. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The hotel itself is ideally located and serves up wonderful food, there are ample sun loungers around the water front and poolside. The resort is set in beautiful gardens and is quiet and tranquil, staff were fantastic and very accomodating. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are ideal for a couple. And great value for money. Quiet and private, with a nice li...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    483
    150
    34
    30
See reviews for
232
780
53
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A beautiful, quiet resort right next to a good beach with day-round sun (in late Sept/early Oct at least) due to it's southerly orientation and a nice light seabreeze to keep the humidity down. Would have preferred the water sports to have been conducted at least another 50m out to allow more/better snorkelling from the beach, but at least there were markers to assure me I wasn't going to get run over by a boat or jetski.

I have ME so walking much is a problem. We were in a twin share in the Beach Wing and it was about 50m to the nearest pool and 75m to the main and nearest restaurant and beach. The beach itself was about 20m wide at high tide when you're most likely to swim and is hardly sloped at all, making it pretty easy to get to and from the water. The resort front desk and taxi's were about a 100m walk from the room and if you had a ground floor room there might just be a step or two to navigate (not sure, and I suppose some wings/rooms would be wheelchair accessible). Unfortunately the driveway to the street is about another 100m but once there, there are numerous restaurants, massage/beauty salons and several clothing and knick-knack shops within about 50m in each direction. And if you get stuck, just hail a passing taxi (they will probably hail you anyway!).

Our room was pretty nice although it was a bit dark and needed more lighting. Everything except the phone worked fine and this was the only area in which the resort let us down as numerous requests for it to be fixed didn't yield a result. It was also a little strange having the bathroom sink in the hallway entrance opposite the bathroom, but not really an inconvenience.

I found the breakfast buffet expensive at about US$14. However there are other options on the menu.

Oh, you can exchange money at the resort and we nearly got ripped off by one of the many exchange shops on the street, so in our experience it's best to stick to the resort or bank exchanges. There was an ATM with a 5,000 rupiah (AUD$5) fee within about 30m of the resort driveway. However, it is worth trying to have some rupiah on you when you arrive so you can tip the porter who doesn't get any wage from the resort.

We had a lovely time. Thankyou.
Brigit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a great (if short) stay at the Puri Santrian. We love the Sanur side of Bali being a lot more relaxed than the madness that is Kuta. The Santrian is located right on the beach with two very good pools, great views and wonderful gardens. A short walk down the beach to the well priced and enjoyable local beach-side restaurants and the Sanur main street just out the front.

Fo the six of us (my family of four + my wife's parents) We took three of the garden rooms which were not all that new and could do with an upgrade but I don't come to Bali to just sit in my hotel room.

My children had a great time they took the sea kayaks out for a paddle and were in the pools all day - great fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a terrific hotel with gorgeous grounds, three beautiful pools, great food and excellent service. It's a fairly large property but has a very intimate feel, all in pure Balinese style. The beach is gorgeous, although be forwarned that it recedes about a half a mile every evening so if you check in during the late afternoon or evening, don't panic thinking (like we did) that you had checked in to a beachless resort - it will be back in its full splendor by the time you wake up in the morning.

The amenities include a world-class spa, which is moderately priced and with great promotions for the morning treatments. They also have a massage hut by the pool/beach area with an hour message for about US$11 which we experienced and was lovely. Free use of kayaks, two great floating cabanas, great oversized daybeds throughout the property.

The staff is extremely professional and responsive. We had a minor incidents of a gecko sneaking into our room and a member of the staff showed up within minutes to remove the little critter.

We attended a Balinese Dance Show with authentic buffet (about $30 pp) that was excellent and well worth it.

We walked the entire stretch of beach in Sanur and checked several of the other hotels, including Mercure, Hyatt and Sanur Beach Hotel. Puri Santrian had, hands down, the best grounds and nicest property.

The only suggestions I would have is to update the older rooms and bathrooms (we stayed in one of those) because they badly needed. Also, provide ironing board/irons in every room.

Other than that, a great experience in one of the best resorts (if not the best) in Sanur.

Room Tip: Try to get some of the newer rooms or book at Sanur Club which we heard are newer and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The outside area of the hotel is great, the pools are both lovely and and the beachfront with large sofas and other beds was very attractive. If you wish to sea kayak you can do this for free which is a fun option. I had read that the rooms could be a bit dark, which was the case but that didn't really bother us, but the noise did. We were in the beachfront rooms, and we could hear through the window all the noises outside, and through the door at the back all the noises of people walking past, pulling suitcases across tiles etc. Unfortunately I'm quite a light sleeper so this did begin to grate. We were also in bed at 8.20am one day when the door was knocked and we were asked if it was ok to come and clean the room which just seemed rather odd?

Breakfast was pretty good, nice selection of foods and good service. Service around the pool was also good although we weren't that keen on the food itself. I did use the spa once and had a lovely massage, but little things like the really tatty towel I was given to dry myself let down the experience.

Aside from the noise other minor issues kept cropping up (the towels we originally had in our room were stained, we were given a twin room which was then made into a double with no fuss, but it meant the light switches were all really awkwardly behind the bed). However, mostly we did spend our time outside enjoying the pool areas/beach or wandering down the beach front of Sanur, which we enjoyed a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The first thing I thought was strange was that when we checked in we were charged one nights accommodation straight off. This has never happened anywhere before and we have travelled extensively. We stayed 5 nights in a Santrian Club room. Comfortable and spacious, great king size bed, nice touches like fruit daily, slippers and robes and free afternoon tea daily (which we didn't take advantage of, more's the pity, either we were out sight seeing or just forgot). Great terrace, watching the wild life like the quirrels passed a bit of time. The pool designated for club patrons was fantastic, but still there was the problem of people putting their towels on the best located loungers all day. The hotel is supposed to police this, but I didn't see any evidence of it, at both the main pools, beach loungers or the club pool. My other gripe is the electricity, maybe it is common in Bali, as it was the same in Ubud, but the power is so weak, I gave up on trying to dry my hair, and the rooms are quite dark even with the light on, especially in our Club room where the basin and mirror are in a room with no natural light. We were on the third floor, the rooms on the bottom looked even darker. But, everything else was great. The breakfast was good and the staff are lovely. The beach is ok, the staff clean it everyday, but the water didn't look very clean, stick to the pools. The path that runs along the shoreline in both directions is a nice walk, and you can see other resorts, and if you don't mind getting hassled by offers of massages and manicures once you leave the resort grounds. All in all, it is a nice resort in a good location and if you like resort living I would recommend. If you like a smaller less impersonal hotel then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If staying in the Santrian Club, higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from bali & had the most fantastic time staying at puri satrian. We would recommend it to anyone travelling to bali. they have the most amazing breakfast, all the staff are friendly welcoming and so obliging you feel like part of the family. this was our third time staying at puri santrian it was relaxing &very peaceful. we are already planning our next holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#9 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.