We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Santrian to your Saves list
Puri Santrian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rangiora, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The staff were very friendly and communicated well. Attention to detail was evident in the way they left fruit and flowers in your room(flowers changed every few days), the display of the buffet breakfasts and Traditional Balinese Night Dinner and the cleanilness of the hotel and grounds. The swimming pools were great with plenty of room to spread out. We liked the fact that even though we weren't able to have a late checkout due to our room being booked straight after us, we were still able to use the swimming pools and resturants, also we were provided with towels and hairdryer for a shower before our late departure. We think we may have been upgraded as we had a suite instead of a room which was a nice surprise. It was very large on the third floor handy to pool and resturant. Having bikes to use was great and a good way to get around. We would definitely go back to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    512
    158
    37
    30
See reviews for
248
832
55
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alresford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We are a family of 5 and stayed in inter-connecting rooms for 8 nights in The Beach Wing. Staff are very friendly and always have smiles, so I don't quite understand some of the other reviews of this hotel. The gardens are immaculate, beautifully landscaped and a real haven from the busy streets of Bali. The swimming pools are lovely, although the sea is warmer! You can choose between sun or shade at both the pools and the beach if, and here's the big "if", if you can get a place. Towels occupy the loungers from early on in the morning, although unless the Invisible Man and his family were on them, there wasn't always evidence that someone was using them. I think most reserve their places, go for breakfast and then turn up later. If you speak to the pool/towel attendant after noticing that a reserved place has had nobody on it for more than 30 minutes, he will remove their towels (the hotel policy does state this and it is displayed clearly in the hut where you pick your towels up.)
We didn't have breakfast included in our package, although there are loads of places to eat either on the main road outside the hotel, or on the beach walk (left or right). We did eat lunch a few times and also had the buffet at the Indonesian Traditional Dance night. Food was good.
Mineral water is supplied in your room free of charge each day. There are room safes. WiFi was in the process of being set up whilst we were there so is probably operational now.
If you need transport up and down Sanur, taxis are cheap (use Bluebird - all metered) or the little green Bemo vans are great fun. Just flag one down and check the fare before you get in. You can negotiate if you need to - for a family of 5 we always seemed to pay a standard 20k ($2) for all of us, not each. Some would try and charge 30k, but you just knock the price down. There is a basic supermarket called Donald's if you turn left out of the hotel main entrance and walk for 50 metres. You can buy your Bintang beer here!
Would recommend a high floor, but note there are no lifts (elevators for you Americans!). Ground floor Beach Wing accommodation have little terraces outside the rooms, but these are not particulalrly private with every one walking past. Higher floors have their own balconys. The hotel will spray your rooom if you have a mosquito problem, although the hotel grounds are sprayed anyway about 3 times a week.
The only reason I would not give the hotel an "excellent" rating is that the bedrooms are a little tired and basic. On the other hand, if you're in your room that long to be bothered about it, you're probably doing something wrong.
For watersports, there are places to the left and right along the beach. Published prices are negotiable - we found that you could generally easily get a third of the published price, a little more if you push for it. Tip: if you don't want something, a polite "no thank you" will suffice. If you say "maybe tomorrow", you will be approached tomorrow for sure!
Note the tide goes out in the afternoon. Although the beach obviously doesn't looks as good, there are still plenty of things to see if you like sea life. Go take a look!
Tip: we were thinking of doing an introductory scuba dive as we'd never done this before. I believe Sanur is not the greatest place in Bali for scuba and there are much better places apparently. Anyway, we took a glass bottom boat from the hotel out to where the diving site is and simply snorkelled. Saw some amazing fish. The water is only about 10m deep, so I wouldn't really have seen the point of doing scuba in Sanur when you can snorkel and see the same things. I'm sure this would not be the case in other dive sites in Bali. For those who don't snorkel, you will still see beautiful fish and coral through the glass bottom boat. You need to go at 9am.
Have a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is absolutely fa bilious Hotel...
We came here for doing our wedding. and we really had like what we expect.
The wedding coordinator is fantastic her name is laris she doing a great job. make our wedding is unforgettable. and not less because the hotel area also..
even we got the room in the corner. we don't dispointed because for us that was perfect location.
still can got the private feeling but not far from the child out area.
the staff are great,,, doing everything with smile and truly heart. a bite sad when we heard people can say the staff is not help full. maybe they have to introspect. maybe they do something wrong to make them not happy to serve ????
This hotel is correctly old hotel. but this is a good point cos we come to BALI to taste the tradition one.
Hotel just need give more facility for guest in hotel. Like games to play,( mini voley / golf / etc )
and 1 point thing is the Hot Watter. a bite not stabil. sometimes HOT sometimes NOT. just that the rest WONDERFULL.!!!!..

Room Tip: * new room build, was wonderful * suite is not for public sale. but lucky if you can got it. * to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

“Puri Santrian, our favorite holiday destination on Bali.”
The staff are all so helpful and very friendly.
Great location restaurants all within easy walking distance. The location on Sanur beach is also perfect to do day trips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

While the setting is beautiful and the pools wonderful the overall service was very poor. One would have expected something better for a 4 star hotel. One positive thing was the buffet breakfast and well worth the value but the bedrooms were very average and old, as well the balconies were not secure from other untis and while we were fit an healthy and able to climb the four flights of stairs, it was more cumbersome for our pregnant daughter and her toddler. Also the howling dogs from the staff quarters every night did not ensure a pleasant night's sleep and stray dogs roaming through the breakfast room was a bit off putting. The service from the front desk was extremely poor and I do not think throughout our stay there we even got a smile. A pity as the location and surroundings are superb. With plenty of other resorts on offer in the area at very reasonable prices we will look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for the beach rooms and ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groenekan, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a very relaxing week on Bali in the Puri Santrian.
The swimmingpools were great and breakfast was excellent.
The afternoon tea was a relaxing break of the day.
We only once had lunch in the hotel as lunch and diner are expensive for Indonesian standards.
Rooms were chique but the connecting doors did not isolate the noise. You could hear everything and then I mean everything what is said and what was on t.v. in the room next door.
This is a hotel more equipped for adults than childeren. Although you could use a canoe for free, we missed a table tennis table where all the childeren can meet and facilities to use or rent windsurf and sailing equipment as the sea was perfect for these sports. A 500m walk, both to the left and right on the beach, offers windsurf equipment to rent.
Towel service was perfect. If you like to have a nice place in the sun on the beach, you have to be at 8.00h on the beach to put your towel there. A bad habit, but if you stay in bed and look for a place at 10.00h, only a few places are left at sea side.
Finally, overall, the best hotel of Indonesia ! ! ! !

Room Tip: We had good diners at Donalds, a 200m walk to the left if you look for quality and value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

“Puri Santrian, my favorite holiday destination on Bali.”

The staff are all so helpful and very friendly. Great location and so close to so many wonderful little shops and restaurants all within easy walking distance. The location on Sanur beach is also perfect to do day trips to most of the lovely temples on Bali. You can do as little as you want or partake in so many different activities.

Room Tip: Last time, we booked a room at the beach wing, this time a Garden wing room. Both were very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#5 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#11 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur, Bali
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Santrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.