We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parigata Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Parigata Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Parigata Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Danau Tamblingan No. 87 | Batu Jimbar, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

There are two Parigatas...this was the one on the beach, and close to the Hyatt. When you come out to the main road there is a Circle K on the right and Cosmo Salon directly across the street. We stayed during Nyepi Day and the atmosphere was quiet (of course) and relaxing. Staff were friendly and the buffet was OK.
After the day of silence we enjoyed the Cosmo Signature massage - wow! 1 1/2 hrs aromatherapy for $20 including drink tax and tip. They have great staff. The nearby Star Cafe has a nice smoked salmon sandwich and there are just lots of good restaurants within walking distance. We didn't try the services as Parigata as they were a little pricey.....but if you stay here you can walk to everything. It is just a great place to explore Sanur.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    113
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
30
103
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed here for a few days in May 2009, for the last part of our trip to Gili and Bali. We arrived to find our reservation missing an important word... Twin. Our twin rooms were unavailable and the staff offered double rooms. This is normally not the biggest of problems, but since our group consists of diving buddies (some married, some single) this is not really an option. After insisting on a better solution we were offered a solution we could agree upon. These things happen...

The rooms are good, clean and have a nice balcony. The pool is nice. We didn't try the Spa, it is quite expensive. The breakfast is average, there is something for everyone but the staff was demotivated, only a few of them actually understood you when speaking english to them, most just guessed a response. The street is filled with restaurants and other tourist facilities. The beach is at the end of the alley, but we found the beach better a bit further from the hotel. The internet facilities are poor (telephone line and you should bring a laptop), go nextdoor to the internet café.

If we were to go to Bali again, we would probably not stay here again. We prefer the east side of Bali. Less tourists, nicer surroundings, better ambiance. If you need to be in the area, this hotel will be a pleasant stay. Just make sure they confirm your booking correctly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Parigata Resort and Spa was a lovely way to spend three days in Sanur, Bali. It is just a few steps to a nice beach, and has a beautiful pool and garden. The breakfast was abundant and delicious, teh service was friendly and professional, and we location was great. It is easy walking to many restaurants and shops. The rooms were spotless and well maintained. We woke to birdsong in the morning and it was very peaceful at night. Good airconditioning helped too!

Highly recommended. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

The Parigata Resort & Spa is a small hotel in Sanur Bali. It has about 40 rooms, and a delightful garden. The centrepiece is a lovely pool with a small separate area for children and a sparkling waterfall. The area next to the open sided breakfast room has a little pond filled with enormous fish ever attentive for a chunk of melon. Clever design has included other water features scattered around the lounge and lobby.

Check in was dealt with quickly. The transfer agent and the hotel expected us to have vouchers to cover their services but we had none. Luckily I had taken the holiday itinerary with me and they were happy to take a photo copy of this in lieu.

The rooms were not luxurious but were clean and spacious, beds were firm but comfortable with plenty of pillows, there was hot water 24/7 and the A/C worked perfectly. There was a safe, TV, fridge, hairdryer and kettle with complimentary tea and coffee and two small bottles of water replenished every day. Most overlooked the pool but our friend who travelled with us had a room that didn't so ask at check in.

We were given our breakfast coupons and a voucher for a free dinner. The breakfasts were typical hotel buffet fare, delicious eggs cooked exactly as you wanted them and wonderful crispy bacon, pancakes, cereal, juices and as much fruit as you fancied. The free dinner was a fixed meal, bland and quite small, really not worth wasting an evening on.

Turn left down the block paved path at the front of the hotel and a 3 to 4 minute walk will take you to the nearest beach which is fairly quiet and not much to write home about but if you like taking sunrise/sunset pictures our early riser friend who traveled with us assured us that it has good vantage points to watch and photograph the sunrise over various islands including Lombok 15 Km away. He certainly got some good shots.

The hotel’s Beach Club is just a few minutes away by free shuttle bus which runs from 9.00 in the morning until 10.00 at night (it is a bit to far to walk comfortably.) Free sun beds and towels are provided. The beach is not idyllic but adequate with lots of fishermen standing waist high in the sea catching tiny fish and many boats moored there. When you want to go back to the hotel just ask for a lift at the beach bar, you don't have to wait long. The shuttle bus will also drop you at Parigata Villas where the pool has a very private feel to it

For lunch and dinner we ate at many places and all were very good however humble they appeared. From the hotel walk up the path to the road and turn right. The first restaurant advertising food on blackboards (can't remember the name but they have an Internet room and a big fish tank) does a great lamb shank. Farther down the road on the opposite side you will find the Swastika Gardens Restaurant (excellent Indonesian). Turn left out of the path onto the road and about a 10 to15 minutes walk (past the Bali Hyat then cross to the opposite side of the road) will bring you to the Apakabar which was the ‘find’ of the whole holiday. Sitting at the big square bar is good fun and Sila and Co. will serve you the most delicious local and international food. We tried everything from simple curries to lobster and can recommend them all. Cheapest place to phone home too, just ask. You even get a free lift back to your hotel.

Sila was recommended to us as a great taxi driver and that proved to be so. We took three trips with him and covered most of the island (waterfalls, volcanos, lakes, temples, spice gardens, botanical gardens, rice paddies and lots of stopping off places for great photos.) There was no pressure to have a look at my cousins shop etc. but if he offers you to ‘say hello to his Mum’ do go, she’s lovely and her home is a true Balinese experience. Sila’s English is excellent. He is a font of local knowledge and will tell you all about his forthcoming marriage ceremonies, (yes there are more than one!!) and all aspects of life in the villages. He is fascinating to listen to and a good person. We had a great holiday in every way and we were sorry to leave Bali.

We had a stop over in Kuala Lumpur staying at the Istana Hotel which was well placed within the Golden Triangle. I am writing KL review next.

The only bad experience of the whole holiday was the night flight back to Heathrow with Malaysian Airlines. We boarded the plane and sat for well over an hour whilst the electricians tried to sort out a fault. Hot humid air was being pumped around the aircraft, the air con had packed up. After requests for something to help our parched throats we were pointed towards the bulkhead water dispenser, tiny paper cups of tepid water which tasted foul. The lights kept failing, plunging us into darkness and to cap it all the emergency alarm kept telling us to use our oxygen masks (which never appeared) Through all of this the flight attendants were not at all helpful or sympathetic. We were all soaked in perspiration and feeling unwell. I have been told since that this discomfort could have been alleviated if only the Captain had started one of the engines to power the AC but he chose not to. On our return a friend who took the same flight two weeks earlier had been told that this plane never leaves on time anyway because the feeder flights are often delayed and if it did take off on time it would arrive at Heathrow to early in the morning for landing. We won't even consider flying overnight with Malaysian Airlines again.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, constant hot water, friendly people
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

Was a really super little hotel. The rooms were much better than I expected. They were large with nice balconies and had good size bathrooms. The pool was good size with lots of loungers. There is a small kiddie pool too, but be careful as the bottom is slippery. The breakfast buffet has a good deal of choice with a chef making omlets. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We brougt a 2 year old along with us and he enjoyed the hotel--especially the fish pond and the waterfall in the lobby. We utilized a baby sitter that the hotel provided and that worked well. The spa at the hotel is nice, but you can find better prices of spa treatments outside the hotel. There is a very short walk down a path to the beach. However, the hotel also provides a shuttle to their Beach club with loungers on the beach and bar service which is nicer. The water is a bit weedy, though. The location is perfect--right in the middle of Sanur with lots of restaurants a short walk away. We had a room on the 3rd floor which had a nice view of the pool, but in the humidity, the walk up 3 flights of stairs esecially with a 2 year old was a bit strenuous. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Quality of Room
  • Disliked — Could have a nicer beach
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

My wife and I just returned from spending 25 great days at this wonderful little resort. This is a small almost boutique like hotel with an amazing courtyard garden area. The standard rooms all face the pool area in the center court and are located in four seperate 9 room buildings. The suites and a few additional rooms are located on the second floor of the main 2 storey hotel building. All enjoy patio/porch areas. The bonzai roof top garden off the second storey suites provides a wonderful relaxing outlook adjacent to a well appointed library area. The hotel amenities include a restaurant, spa/massage, piano lounge,pool area bar,and a pool with its own volcanic rock water fall. The main building lounge area has a 20 foot high waterfall and fish tank stocked with local colourfull fishes and turtles. The restaurant presents a very decent resonably priced menu and deserves more business than what it is getting. We ate several very good meals here. Keep in mind that this hotel is not located directly on the beach but it is only a few steps away. In addition the beach club with restaurant and bar , available for your use, is about five minutes walk away at the Parigata Villas resort (shuttle available). The majority of the guests staying at the hotel had stayed at the hotel prior and felt firmly that this was the only place to be. None had any thing bad to say and were most complimentary of the staff and service. We are in full agreement and would not hesitate to pay another visit.

  • Liked — Quiet layed back with attentive efficient staff service
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parigata Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parigata Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan No. 87 | Batu Jimbar, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sanur
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#15 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parigata Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parigata Resort N Spa, Sanur - Bali is located on the coastal fringe of Sanur seaside village. Enjoy Bali's tropical sunshine at the poolside or wander down to the Beach Club for sea breezes. Enjoy the local water sports or simply relax in a lounge chair with a cocktail and a good book.This relaxing oasis tucked away in the exclusive batu jimbar estate, home of the jet set, rich and famous is hidden gem for sanur's crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Parigata Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parigata Resort And Spa
Parigata Resort Sanur
Parigata Hotel Sanur
Parigata Resort & Spa Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parigata Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.