We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Hang Tuah 46, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Club Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Well worth the extra for the Club Rooms. Nice snacks, plenty of drinks & nicer rooms.

Room Tip: Get a Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    173
    77
    18
    3
See reviews for
80
106
12
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Rooms were very noisy, huge dustball sneaked out from under the bed and made a few twirls before settling in the dirty corner. Got into our room and opened the supposedly unused sheets and saw 3 hairs on the blankets, I called room service and they came about an hour later. Room was designed like a room from a 4th tier city in western china. Liked the breakfast buffet and the swimming pool. Overall, service was good.

Room Tip: Don't take no for an answer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed one night at Sanur Paradise Hotel and that was the right amount for us. I must point out that the Sanur Paradise Hotel and the Suites are two different buildings that you take a shuttle to get between. The 35’ water slide is at the Suites building so if you go with kids, stay at the Suites or be aware that you’ll need to shuttle over. At the Hotel, we stayed in two Pool View rooms, next door to each other (no connecting rooms). The hotel entrance and reception was very nice and checkin/out was efficient. The rooms themselves are very nice, clean and new. The rest of the hotel (hallways, pool walkway, breakfast restaurant) are worn and generally in a B- state. The pool is very nice and clean. We ate at the pool side restaurant and the food was good but *very* expensive. Most of it was lobster and steak, with at least half of the meals over Rp350,000. The menu was kid friendly but not as much as I’d expected- perhaps they have more at the Suites. Breakfast was not good- most of the food stations were out of food, what was there looked tired, there was little selection and service was non-existent. The rooms themselves were quite nice. The floor is all tile and got slippery fast; bring slippers or wear flip flops inside. The surprise of the room is that the bathroom is outside; I didn’t know that. The hotel room is a shotgun, so you open the front door and look straight to the back door, which goes to the outside bathroom. The bathroom door is a huge sliding glass door- the full size of the back wall. The toilet and bathtub (with a shower handle extension) are outside. The bathroom is surrounded by 14’ concrete walls with glass on top, so it is private, and it was nicely landscaped in the small garden area by the bathroom. There were mosquitos and insects but not so many as to be bothersome. It is also a bit humid but that is Bali. The air conditioning worked very well and the beds were comfortable with nice duvets. Overall I wouldn’t recommend the hotel beyond a one-night transit-stay.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the pool view rooms, especially because you won't have to walk the dingy hallwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinterbro, Norway
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We arrived with our children aged 3 and 4 on December 12th to celebrate Christmas and spend 16 nights in this hotel. We got a nice and newly renovated room on the second floor, but after one night we wanted to change to a room on the ground floor. As we were expected family over for Christmas, we wanted to be able to sit outside at night. This would give us more room, and was no problem. We could change to a poolside room without any extra charge!

The hotel has a very open and nice interior, with an inviting and nice reception and a lobby bar with a service center and a television. Here you can listen to clever local musicians several times a week.

A spa with gym is also located on the second floor, and you can also buy local art and clothes in a little store near the reception. The spa was very good with clever staff, but if you are on a budget, you can as well go to Carla Spa down the road.

The hotel has two restaurants, and the food is really good. A nice staff, which are almost all locals from Bali and have been working in this hotel for many years, are very nice and proud. They don't know what they can do to help you and share their knowledge to improve your stay. In this connection we must credit the nice activity guys at the pool side, who spent a lot of time entertaining us and our children. The manager Keith also took the time to talk to us and share some experiences from living and working in this part of the world.

The pool in clean and very long, and we could jump into the pool outside our room, swim to the pool bar and order drinks, and swim back and wait for the fantastic drinks to arrive :-)

The people at housekeeping do a really good job to clean the rooms, and entertained all of us by making "animals" with eyes with our towels on the bed :-)

The location is in a central area with a lot of restaurants and cafes, mini markets, laundries, and a 5 minute walk from the beach.

The rooms are not very big and there is not a lot of space for luggage, so it was very narrow to stay here for 16 days.

Room Tip: As the rooms are not very big, you can earn some more space by choosing a room on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights in the hotel. Clean, ground floor room with a courtyard balcony. The service has been impeccable. There's a money changer and little supermarket across the road. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance and the beach is just a few hundred meters down the road.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

As soon as we saw our room, we noticed it was not 4 star standard nor was it very clean with stains in the bath and on the linen. After the first night we had a look at the other rooms (to upgrade) but found they were pretty much the same except for some fresh paint and some new tiles, that sort of thing. We were, however upgraded for free on the last night to a pool view room because we had a mouse/rat in our room that was attacking our snacks! At all times the service from the staff was wonderful and they handled our issues well.
On a side point, if you stay here, head down the road to the beach and walk south along the beach path where you will find some pleasant non-pushy markets and good restaurants as well as being a nice walk. There is also a 24 hr KFC and Dunkin' Donuts across the road if you're craving some comfort food. In summary, the pool and gardens are very beautiful and the service is brilliant however don't expect a nice room, especially the lower end of the scale.

Room Tip: Have a look at the room before you settle as apparently some rooms are better than others even of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellerlooi, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Ever since 1997 we were a regular visitor of this hotel ( about once a year). First times it was a Radisson hotel. When is was taken over by Paradise Plaza we feared the service and kindness of the staff would decrease but it stayed the same.
In all those years the formula changed from a more tourist hotel to a good mix between a business and a tourist hotel.
So if you don’t want a unmistakable tourist hotel and you like to meet all kind of people from all over the world it’s a perfect hotel. Most of the time there is enough space at the pool.
If there are congresses the breakfast restaurant might be crowded if you are an early riser, but by the time a normal tourist rises, everything is normal.
The location is at the border of Sanur and it takes 5 to 10 minutes walk to the beach.
Unfortunately the rooms don’t have a balcony. So if you intend to stay for a longer time and spend a lot of time at the hotel, it is advisable to upgrade to a poolside room.
If you travel with children there is a possibility to go to camp splash at the Paradise Plaza Suites, we were there with our grandchildren a couple of years ago.
There is a shuttle bus service, also to the beach and the shopping centre.
Next time however we intend to visit another hotel as there is no possibility to bargain about upgrade rate if you stay for a longer time or if you are a regular visitor, as there was until last year.
For an impression look for
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfIhmbL7TJs&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Pro:
- Nice hotel where you very soon will feel at home.
- Good price to quality
- Most of the time very quiet visitors
- Nice and very friendly staff
- Rather varied breakfast
- Clean rooms, bed linen and towels are changed every day.
- Free shuttle service and use of the children attractions of Paradise Plaza suites
- Free fitness
- There are very nice weddings in the ballroom

Contra:
- Rooms have no balcony
- Not direct at the beach
- Slow internet connection
- Desk staff less friendly
- The beach they have at Bonsai Cafe is not in according to the hotel (the chairs are very out of date).
- Sometimes crowded by larger groups or congresses
- Price to quality of the diner and lunch is less.
- As good as the service is at the breakfast, as bad it is at lunch and diner.
- The clearing up service of the food of the room service, that is put in the corridors, is bad, nobody seems to be responsible (and customers forget to phone about it as they should).

Room Tip: Upgrade to a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel

Address: Jl. Hang Tuah 46, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#12 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Balinese-style Hotel situated amidst tropical gardens, 5 minutes from Beach Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.