We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and enjoyable stay with family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Griya Sanur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Griya Sanur to your Saves list
The Griya Sanur
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Bay Pass Ngurah Rai Sanur No.402, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 115 Sanur B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quiet and enjoyable stay with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Appreciate the kindness and help the hotel staff give to us.

I bought deal package for my family and spend only 2 days, but we made a right decision to choose The Griya Sanur. the package is a really good deal, the hotal is very quiet, a little far from beach but have shuttle bus to bring us to the beach. Staff there gave us home-like service. We enjoyed the every moment we stay and really appreciate the help, service and tips that given to accommodate our stay.

Hope to come again to Bali and meet the nice people there.

Room Tip: feel free to drop email to staff there, they will answer every question you have
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan11201311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with friendly staff even though they speak minimal english. It's a 20 min walk to the beach but they do have shuttles running twice a day. There are no restaurants near by so you have to walk a little way each night or eat at the hotel restaurant which is average. The package includes free breakfast buffet which has limited choice and is the same everyday aside from minor changes.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa-cheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaka Point, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just had 7 nights at the Griya Sanur (July 2013) - 6 nights first, then to Lombok for 3 nights and decided to go back to the Griya for our last night. It is nice and quiet, handy to town either by foot or taxi and the staff can't help you enough. The meals and cocktails are great. The roads are chaotic but taxis are readily available and cheap. The pool is a great place to chill out and was nice and clean. Bed was very comfortable and rooms were small but clean. We would go back and stay there again.
Wilma

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilhelmina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed 8 nights in a Delux Pool room. We were greeted by friendly staff when we arrived which was nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but VERY small. The only chair in the room was a stool which could be pushed under a bench which I assume was meant to be a desk. However, there was a small round table and two chairs outside of the room which was pool side. The lighting in the room was poor if you wanted to read, and there was a shortage of power points.
We requested the staff at the front desk to get us a quote for a driver. Their acquired quote was $100 per day. We got our own in the end for $40 per day (Eduado Hendra who was very good).
Breakfast was fine, although they did run out of some stuff at times. The hotel did not have any white rum the entire time we were there, so our cocktails were purchased down in town. However, the milk shakes were wonderful. We ordered a chicken parmigiana only to discover it was chicken cordon bleu. When we brought this to the attention of the staff they were aware of the problem with the menu as several people had complained in the past. Yet, nobody changed the mistake. Our package included 10% off food and beverages, but the staff didn't seem to know about the deal. We had to get our travel documents to show them, then remind them each time!
Communication was a challenge at times. Staff appeared to have quite limited English - not a problem we encountered in other tourist places in Sanur, although I do recognise that we were in Indonesia and we need to also make an effort with their language.
We would choose another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Choose a delux poolside room. Do not rely on hotel staff for travel information, you may end up payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ALEX61_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 night mid May 2013.
If you are looking for piece and quiet with no kids running around all day and night, then this is the place for you. We had a deluxe pool access room and loved it.
The staff are very friendly and willing to help with anything (even if only two people understood what your saying), we had a small problem with trying to get a power adapter for our phones when we got there, but ended up buying or own.
The rooms themselves are very basic and small, but we only wanted somewhere to lay our heads. It has TV with 3 English channels but no movie on demand channel.
The restaurant is nice and clean and the food is good.
As for the location, the hotel runs a shuttle ever two hours to take you where you want and you get a cab back (There are no foot paths so you have to cab or shuttle). We didn't find it a problem, that's why it's nice and quiet.
You cant hear the road from inside or by the pool.

Room Tip: The deluxe pool rooms are good for easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked the Griya Sanur by accident instead of the Griya Santrian but were happy with the hotel. The hotel itself is pleasant, clean, the staff were excellent, very attentive and accommodating. Plus we got a cracker deal price wise for our room so price wise this was a steal. The location is right on the bypass and it's only about a 20 minute walk to the beach and beach street, although we found that the Bypass is a bit dangerous to cross during the day by foot. We enjoyed the stay here on our way through to Lembongan. The breakfasts were a bit average but the rooms were clean and the pool was lovely. My only criticism is that after a 6km walk in the heat, my partner and I just wanted to jump in the pool but we couldn't as they'd just put chlorine in at 12pm!! So no swimming for an hour. Missed out on swimming as we were waiting for transfers and couldn't get in there on time. Maybe next time they can treat the pool at night when it is closed or first thing in the morning. Otherwise if you are looking for somewhere to stay for a night or two in Sanur and are happy to walk a bit, would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tiney_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The rooms are dated and for the price for Bali it probably a little expensive but for us it was perfect. Pool bar, the beach and the walk along the beach gave us many options for eating as did the streets of Sanur. Taxi drivers in front of the hotel were a little pushy but with a bit of negociation you could get a good deal. Would go back....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger199Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#10 of 71 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.8 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#41 of 71 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#25 of 71 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 1,721 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griya Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griya Sanur

Address: Jalan Bay Pass Ngurah Rai Sanur No.402, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Griya Sanur 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Griya Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griya Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing