We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and QUIET” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Griya Sanur

Save Saved
You added The Griya Sanur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Griya Sanur
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Bay Pass Ngurah Rai Sanur No.402, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 84 Sanur B&B and Inns
Australind, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and QUIET”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 night mid May 2013.
If you are looking for piece and quiet with no kids running around all day and night, then this is the place for you. We had a deluxe pool access room and loved it.
The staff are very friendly and willing to help with anything (even if only two people understood what your saying), we had a small problem with trying to get a power adapter for our phones when we got there, but ended up buying or own.
The rooms themselves are very basic and small, but we only wanted somewhere to lay our heads. It has TV with 3 English channels but no movie on demand channel.
The restaurant is nice and clean and the food is good.
As for the location, the hotel runs a shuttle ever two hours to take you where you want and you get a cab back (There are no foot paths so you have to cab or shuttle). We didn't find it a problem, that's why it's nice and quiet.
You cant hear the road from inside or by the pool.

Room Tip: The deluxe pool rooms are good for easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked the Griya Sanur by accident instead of the Griya Santrian but were happy with the hotel. The hotel itself is pleasant, clean, the staff were excellent, very attentive and accommodating. Plus we got a cracker deal price wise for our room so price wise this was a steal. The location is right on the bypass and it's only about a 20 minute walk to the beach and beach street, although we found that the Bypass is a bit dangerous to cross during the day by foot. We enjoyed the stay here on our way through to Lembongan. The breakfasts were a bit average but the rooms were clean and the pool was lovely. My only criticism is that after a 6km walk in the heat, my partner and I just wanted to jump in the pool but we couldn't as they'd just put chlorine in at 12pm!! So no swimming for an hour. Missed out on swimming as we were waiting for transfers and couldn't get in there on time. Maybe next time they can treat the pool at night when it is closed or first thing in the morning. Otherwise if you are looking for somewhere to stay for a night or two in Sanur and are happy to walk a bit, would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The rooms are dated and for the price for Bali it probably a little expensive but for us it was perfect. Pool bar, the beach and the walk along the beach gave us many options for eating as did the streets of Sanur. Taxi drivers in front of the hotel were a little pushy but with a bit of negociation you could get a good deal. Would go back....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My friend and I spent 5 nights at The Griya; our intention was to go for diving of which our dive centre is located in Sanur itself. Came across the reviews in tripadvisor and went ahead with ahead.

the location was the drawback for me as it is actually located away from the center of sanur. However they do provide shuttle buses there or you can take a cab/rent a motorbike ( which I did). It would be nicer if you're actually staying at walking distances in center of Sanur to enable you to have easier access to food or sightseeing.

If there is any other reason that i would consider staying here again, it would be for their staff who is very helpful in assisting us in our needs; ie getting our cabs or arranging our trips and explained to us in our queries.

The food is unfortunately not so good, their eggs are most of the time over-cooked.
The pool is nice though , small but clean

Room Tip: second floor would be better to avoid noise from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Griya is on the bypass, close to Sanur Beach, and the hub of Denpasar and an easy trip to Ubud or Seminyak.

The staff are wonderful and very helpful. The restaurant has a huge range of delicious options. The free breakfast is very very tasty.

It was quiet in the room considering the location.

I was very very happy with my stay.

Thankyou so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our party of three stayed at this hotel from 06 Feb to 10 Feb 2013.
We were met at Bali airport & transfered to a chic boutique hotel.

Check-in was efficiently done & our request for our two pool access rooms close to each other was actioned

Hotel was tastely designed & furnished. Good touches included space
saving wadrobe.

We particularly like the rain-forest shower feature,surprising in a small
boutique hotel

The Mezzo Lounge : The logo of this lounge is intriguing. The Lounge has
a zen like decor. It was also bright & airy, with large glass panels to let in the sunlight.

Staff are very warm & accomodating.

On saturday evenings, there is a band in attendence & we get to meet
local residents inaddition to the hotel's guests

Overall : This hotel represent great value-for money. There is adequate
spacing unlike many Bali hotels which tend to cram in as much rooms as
possible.

This 26-room boutique hotel is a quiet oasis in a bustling Bali.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on 21st January for our 10 day stay. We can honestly say we have never felt so welcome. As it was out of season we appeared to have the hotel and pool to ourselves all the time. The food was amazing and the staff were wonderful, so friendly and trying to please at all time. Our room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels left out, tea, coffee etc was also re stocked. If you want a beach holiday this is not for you, unless you walk or use the shuttle bus, but it was perfect for us as we love walking/exploring. We would definitely recommend this hotel, and will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Griya Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griya Sanur

Address: Jalan Bay Pass Ngurah Rai Sanur No.402, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Griya Sanur 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Griya Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griya Sanur Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Griya Sanur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.