We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur to your Saves list
Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Jalan Pantai Sindhu, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at aquarius for 3 nights. The room and the whole hotel were clean and tidy.

The staff was very friendly. when we first arrived, the door of the wardrobe was loose, but they fixed it within 5 minutes. When we later asked to use their computer to check in for our flight and print the boarding passes that was possible right away.

Breakfast at Luthu's cafe was good and plenty. And having breakfast on the beach is anyway great.

The location is very handy, close to the beach, the night market, shops, and a range of restaurants (along the beach).

Room Tip: The bar across the street was quiet after 10 pm, but a street is a street, thus you might prefer a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
39
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here for a week room no 7 was our room which was up stairs it has a big tree in front of it so it stops the afternoon sun which kept the room cool would recommend no7 the rooms were a good size and clean had a great shower with lot's of pressure. Breakfast included at Lutu's was good did that every morning . Would stay again value for money.

Room Tip: no7 I think is the best the big tree keeps out the western sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerringong, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We only stayed one night and had late checkout before flying home. The room is modern and clean, the pool and gardens are nice. However it didnt really feel like Bali, could have been anywhere. I would stay here again but it wouldn't be my first choice in Sanur.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide hills
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

A friend and i have just returned from an 8 night stay in Sanur. THe hotel is well located to the main street and a short 2 minute walk to the beach and Breakfast at Lutu's cafe. We stayed in a twin room (number 3) The room is large, bathroom is a good size and the balcony is relatively private. Other travellers comment on the vertical blinds - yes they are a pain, but that would be my only complaint. The room was cleaned daily to a "fresh standard". The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Pool is great and the surroundings were kept clean and tidy. The cafe at the beach Lutu's offered good choices for breakfast and the staff there were delightful. We booked the bikes one day and they were waiting for us near reception in good working order with locks provided. My first trip to Bali - would definitely return to Sanur and the Aquarius.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in Number 3. Away from the street, which gets very busy at times as is a main acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This a clean and tidy hotel in a great location. Close to the beach for a great sunset walk and late dinner / large Bintang. Not incredibly modern but everything was in great condition. Staff were friendly and organised. Would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 18 days. We choose this hotel because of the price (we had a good price offered by the travel agency that included flight to Bali) and the location close to the beach. And because of the positive reviews of TA.

*Pros
- location (only 1 minute to the beach and the main street)
- swimmingpool (approximately 12mx7m). the pool is surrounded by sunloungers (the cushions are a little dirty so use the big towels)
- room and bathroom are spacious
- bed and pillow are comfortable
- staff is helpful
- we could use the bikes for free for trips to the supermarket (check the tires because most of them are flat)
- tv has HBO channel and Fox Movies

Cons
- the room is cleaned everyday but it was never cleaned very good (stains on the handbasin, dirty bedsheets not always changed)
- when we arrived there was dried BLOOD on the matras of our bed (you could see it through the bedsheets). We asked at the reception if they could change the mattrass. They said that the would do it, but they never did. We had to flip over the top of the mattrass ourselves. VERY UNHYGIENIC
- too much light in the room with the blinds (they are only for privacy, after sunrise they are of no use for darkness in the room)
- too much space between the blinds (there is space of a few centimeters with the glass sliding door, so mosquitoes can enter the room because the blinds don't block the space; some of the space gives a view of the head of the bed, thus no privacy)
- the cleaning staff will start around 9am, so no late sleeping
- the (gardening) staff already start at 7am and they make a lot of noise (with the containers, talking loud, laughing). They woke me up every morning VERY CUSTOMER UNFRIENDLY
- they don't offer breakfast. We had to walk to Luthu's (nice place at the beach, 1-2 minute walk), but sometimes we didn't feel wanting to go out (e.g. rain shower), and then it would be nice if you could eat at the hotel
- sometime noice from the road
- there is snooker table close to the swimming pool. During the day the staff use the snooker table and they are making a lot of noise (loud laughing), so then you can't have a relaxing time at the swimming pool

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the road, more towards the swimming pool. I emailed them about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have travelled to Bali for over 30 years (on & off) Sanur mainly and staying in the older Balinese style Hotels which we loved. Times have changed and so it was time to test out one of the new hotels. We liked the Aquarius mainly for 2 reasons 1) The excellent and friendly staff. 2) The complimentary makan pagi (breakfast) at Luhtu's coffee shop - just a short walk away (good excercise before breakfast). Makan pagi so good that we left our hotel in Ubud just to get back to Sanur for a good breakfast. We must admit to agreeing with the comments from previous guests 1) First time We've ever come across vertical blinds in a hotel.. Heavy "Batik" style curtains would compliment the amazing art work in the rooms. I like a "security" blanket rather than just a sheet but have now read that it is possible to "ask for one"

Room Tip: 5 & 7 have been recommended but we have also stayed in 9 as well as 5. Both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur

Address: Jalan Pantai Sindhu, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.