We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur to your Saves list
Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Jalan Pantai Sindhu, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“A Good Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Booked directly with the hotel who didn't require any payment or credit card details in advance, just an email a few weeks beforeand to confirm the booking. They offered an airport transfer for 15USD, but I instead opted for an airport taxi for 95000Rp - the taxi didn't have any problem finding the place once I told the driver the street name.
The hotel is about halfway down Jl Pantai Sindhu, just opposite the White Sands bar. Check in went smoothly and the staff were very friendly, no welcome drink was offered. We opted for the upstairs deluxe room, which was nice and spacious with high ceiling, a very comfortable bed, personal electronic safe, flat screen TV with plenty of channels, small fridge (no drinks provided). The bathroom was a decent size with a large walk in shower, no shampoo/shower gel was provided. Towels and bedding were changed daily and unlike the previous Tripadvisor I thought the room was kept quite clean. On a couple of occasions though we returned to the room to a slightly drainy smell, not sure if this was from the water used to mop the floor. There was a nice little balcony outside the room with a couple of chairs and a table which you could enjoy late afternoon sun from.
The hotel itself is in a narrow walled plot, with a two storey block of rooms at one side, the reception opposite, then a kitchen area/pool table/seating area. At the end of the plot is a nice enough pool with sunbeds below and on a mezzanine. Pool towels are provided on a table next to the pool.
As many previous reviewers have mentioned, no breakfast is provided, but take a walk down the street the 100 metres to the beach and there you will find Luhtu's Coffee Shop, Rosetta's etc where breakfast is quite cheap.
Sunbeds can be rented on the beach, we opted to rent them at Andjani for 50000Rp for 2 beds and a parasol.
There is a decent little laundry service offered in an electrical shop just opposite the hotel next to the White Sands.
We arranged a late check out with no problem and at no cost, but the hotel was fairly quiet.
Overall, a decent enough little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Aquarius Beach Hotel for 4 days in September. It was our first time in Bali and it seemed like a good deal. The location is excellent as it's about 100 meters to the beach. There are countless shops and restaurants all within a few minutes walk of the hotel. We had the deluxe room which is apparently the larger option and on the upper floor, overlooking the garden. The room itself is very spacious with a fairly comfortable bed. The front desk staff were quite nice and helpful.

The main complaint would be the cleanliness of the room. Our feet were dark with dirt after a few minutes of walking around barefoot. This immediately detracted from us feeling comfortable and 'home' while in our room; it's the primary reason why we wouldn't return. A few other complaints include very inconsistent shower water pressure and temperature, as well as a sewage smell coming into the bathroom when the steam fan was on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

If you feel like sanur, this is the place! Very clean and spacious room, designed to a very comfortable atmosphere. Few number of rooms, makes you feel at home.
Rooms and bathroom equipped with daylight, and again very spacious. Nearby to almost every attraction and destination in sanur. Very very recommended! You should meet Hotel Manager Mr. Mahendra. He will treat you like God treat you in heaven! Very nice person and very professional!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

small hotel, very quiet, except one night a group decided to pay pool in the middle of the night,,we had room no 4 directly opposite the pool table which was very noisy. Luckily it only happened once during our stay.. The rest of our stay was very peaceful with mainly couples staying.Staff are very attentive. Lutus cafe is a short stroll away and has great coffee and breakfast.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have been staying in this area of Sanur for a number of years and over the last few years have stayed in private Villas adjacent to the home of the owner of this Hotel.
His new holtel only opened this year and is an excellent location in Sanur close to the beach and the main street of Sanur.
I am suprised at a few comments regarding the value of this Hotel as the rack rate is $85US for upstairs rooms and $75US for ground floor rooms. The rooms are large with all the facilities you will require and if you can get better all I can say is good luck.
The hotel has a pool and plenty of areas to sunbath and relax as much as you want.
No breakfast but a small walk down the street and you have a number of excellent restaurants that cost around $3 to $4 Australian dollars for a good breakfast at Luhtu's and Rosetta Rest.
We stayed for three weeks in July and will visit again next year but for longer.
The staff at the Hotel are friendly efficient and will assist as much as they can. Mahendra is the manager and will make your stay very enjoyable. He is happy and has the Bali smile all the time.
We have been travelling for some time and are very particular with where we stay. We have read reviews on many hotels and are suprised at negative comments about simple things. Remember if you have an issue let the management know as if you don't they cannot fix the problem. We have found in may countries when you advise them they are only to happy to help and very appolgetic and have the problem or issue fixed quickly. Do not wait till you get home and let the world know when it is to late.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here for a week in June. As we were traveling with a baby we decided to pay a bit more for our hotel as we expected be there for a fair amount of time. The hotel we pretty good however was not as good as I had expected for the price we were paying in Bali.

It seems like it could be a 4 star place but is missing a few essential quality things. They didnt provide water or even the most basic food or drink. The bathroom's plumbing must have had something wrong with it as it smelt terrible. It also had mould growing in it and there were no toiletries. The pool is pretty small.

We did have a nice time and it has a great location to the beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful. there are also shops just across the road where you can buy water and some nice cafes. The beds are very comfortable and the free WiFi is very good.

I wouldnt stay here again i would try and find somewhere better for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. The whole front wall is glass and offers no privacy. There are blinds in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at The Aquarius with friends and our 2 daughters for 5 nights. The hotel was in a really good spot very close to the beach. That is a fairly new hotel so is in good condition. Just a few things to bear in mind. They do not serve breakfast so u will need to go out for breakfast which is no hardship as there are plenty of restaurants just a short stroll. There is no water in the rooms do pick some up on your way. They don't have blankets on beds only a sheet each which is a little strange but we asked for a blanket and they were very obliging. The bar across the street Whitesands serves excellent food and very cold beers. I would rate the Aquarius as a 3 star. But a good 3 star.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur

Address: Jalan Pantai Sindhu, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.