We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sudamala Suites & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sudamala Suites & Villas to your Saves list
Sudamala Suites & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUDAMALA SURPRISE 25%OFF!
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent a week in this hotel with visiting family. Was not disappointed. The whole area was well maintained with lovely gardens, outdoor restaurant, spa are and great swimming pool. Service by the staff was first class and attentive.Rooms spacious and beds comfortable. Large bathroom and shower area. Used the restaurant twice and food was good, but on the second night very slow service and we all didn't get our food together. However this slightly mishap was not a greAt problem as would certainly come book again.

Room Tip: Second floor would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Ballaterson44,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur!

Thank you kindly for your positive comments from your last stay with us, we do hope the week with us was a pleasant one!

Great to hear your feedback in regards to the overall condition of the resort which is well maintained in various aspects you have mentioned.

We always appreciate the associates at Sudamala who always deliver their personalize and attentive services at their best, we want to be consistent on this.

Thank you for chilling out at our Ares Resto & Lounge and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food there. We noted on your comment in regards to the meal service during your second night and this will be shared with our Food & Beverages team, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Very nice to hear that you will be coming back and in the future and we are all looking forward to welcome you at Sudamala Sanur, once again!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    104
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
51
239
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was torn about writing this review for the following reasons:
- This is a lovely boutique hotel, nicely appointed in tasteful minimalist design. In my view it is not a resort, so if you are looking for an intimate, cozy stylish place with no much going on, then this is the place.
- The staff was lovely, kind and warm throughout. However, they organised a boat excursion for us to Nusa Lembongan. We checked the pricing in USD with reception and paid promptly at the boat office. In fact, we paid an higher amount than the market conversion rate, but accepted it as the price to pay for not settling in rupiah. To our surprise we were asked for further $ on our way back to Sanur (or they would have not taken us back). Now, I recommend the hotel sorts this out with the boat company, as we felt that it is inappropriate for a serious hotel establishment to affiliate itself in any shape or form with a dishonest boat excursion business.
- Nice spa and massage
- Refreshing swimming pool, small but peaceful with beautiful fresh water so clean! We loved it
- Good a la carte breakfast and delicious illy coffee.
- Comfortable huge beds and very clean rooms
I also have to be honest and say that I did not like Sanur at all. Compared to the Gili islands, Jimbaran or Semyniak, Sanur is very very rundown and... dirty! The seaside is not good I am afraid...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear MrsMinnie_UK,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur!

Thank you very much for your constructive comments from your recent stay at Sudamala Sanur.

It was very nice to hear that you did enjoy the premises, our facilities, the food, as well as the kind and warm touches from the associates at Sudamala.

We took a note on your comment in regards to the mentioned boat company and we will sort this out accordingly, thank you for mentioning this to us now.

There are some options (boat operator) available for the trip to Nusa Lembongan as well as to the other islands around Bali and we expect the operators who are working with us are all a qualified ones.

Thank you very much once again for all of your comments and wishing you a pleasant week ahead!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

like and oasis. not the best beach here but we never wanted to leave this little oasis. quiet clean lovely room and great food. We had the perfect holiday here . We stayed in Feb so a late review sorry about that but thank you for a lovely stay and by the way your air conditioning is the best in any hotel room ever. Top draw :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear jacwil,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur!

Thank you very much for your good comment and positive review prior to your stay with us back in February.

We are very happy to learn that you felt relaxing after your experience with Sudamala.

Sanur is one of the best area to interact with the community for your local experience.

There are so many local activities around the area and around the beach of Sanur that many of our guests love to observe.

Glad to hear that you love the room and the food at our Ares Resto & Lounge, and appreciate your compliments!

On your note in regards to our air conditioning, the resort operates on VRV AC system which is an environmental friendly air conditioning units.

Thank you once again and we look forward to have you staying with us again in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent 11 fabulous day at Sudamala from 16 of may to 27 of may, little boutique resort in central Sanur beautifull appointed room well decorated huge open bathroom and a great coffee machine with illy coffee pods .We had a private court yard and agate to access swimming pool . The Ares restaurant was good lovely fresh food and a la carte breakfast,restaurant manager D.J and staff Gusti were deligthful as for the rest of the resort and the spa staff .Had D.J organise a party for my 60 th. birthday ,they have done a wonderful job from the written menus the service the food and the band ,we had a great time and will have wonderful memory forever thank you Sudamala I will come back again one day ,Claudia Sardi

Room Tip: please if you can spend a little more and choose aground floor studio suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Claudia S,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur!

We are all very happy to hear your comments during your recent stay at Sudamala Sanur back in May this year.

Good to know that you love our classy Balinese style Suite, its layout, amenities, as well as all of our associates here.

You have specifically mentioned about Pak Dwi and Ibu Gusti, our fabulous team within the Food & Beverages Department and this will be acknowledged respectively.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to have you staying with us again in the future, perhaps for any of your upcoming birthday 

We also have a fond memory of your Birthday celebration with us on the evening of 19 May 2014.

Have a pleasant week!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flores, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

For me it is already the second time in this hotel. The first time was very good because the place was quiet and they had the best bar "linga longa" next door. My room was the closest one to this bar and i never heard noises of the band at night. This year the hotel arranged to make the bar close very early. This bar was always the place to go for the people in Sanur who want to have a beer after 12, listen to one of the best band in Bali and meet tourist, locals and divers. Everybody was in this bar. Young, old, black, withe... Just everybody. But now this hotel make it very hard for everybody. After 12 there is nothing to do anymore in whole Sanur.
This is the reason why i will never go again to that place. Feeling a bit sorry to write that, because the stuff is very nice and friendly but the management should had think about before, where they gonna build a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Jan P,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur!

Thank you very much for your below comments from your recent stay with us in Sanur.

Very interesting to read through your notes in regards to the decribed situation during your visit lately.

Sanur in general operates the night entertainment with some time limitation. This is also regulate by the local authority considering a lot of the location of the hotels and restaurants are in the midst of the local houses and side by side with the villages.

Thank you for your visit once again and we look forward to welcome you back at Sudamala Sanur.

Wishing you a lovely day from Bali!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights with our 9 month old. The staff were really lovely with our baby, even taking him off to look at the fish in the pond so we could enjoy our breakfast in peace! Made who worked at the restaurant and pool was extra friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a garden suit which was lovely and spacious. We enjoyed the small patio where our baby could crawl. The outdoor toilet and shower was also nice. bed very comfortable.
The pool area is quiet and calm. The pool was very warm. I think it would have been more refreshing if the pool was cooled slightly. We used the spa once and it was ok but i went into the same treatment room after my husband and they didn't change the sheet on the massage bed. It was ok as it was my husband but a bit strange.
The beach area is comfortable but it would be improved by a shower to wash off salt & sand and a bar serving drinks. In addition the bikes available at the hotel to cycle to the beach is a nice touch but sone are a little old and beat up!
The breakfast included a wide variety and everything was tasty. The avocado smoothie & juices were yum! We ate lunch a couple times at the restaurant and the food was good quality. The cocktails were nice too.
A couple things which could be improved.
We felt the staff were too pushy in asking us if we wanted to join the themed dinners. We were asked maybe 5 times during breakfast if we didn't commit.
They do fogging of the property to reduce the amount of mosquitoes/ bugs on site. The day we arrived we were not informed about this and when it started we were trapped at the pool area with our baby breathing in the fumes. they do communicate this to guests the bight before but as we had just checked in this info was not passed on. Overall nice hotel and i would recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear JC_Malmo,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur!

We hope this message finds you well and settling back home nicely after your recent vacation in Bali.

Thank you very much for your comments and for the constructive feedback after staying with us at Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur.

We took some notes on your comments regarding the pool and the spa, therefore we can review this operationally with our team here.

The shower at the beach is within our program and we already intended to create one soon for our important guests.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your meals at Ares Resto & Lounge, on the other hand we are sorry if you felt that the associates were too pushy. We believe they just would like to showcase the special event and to ensure you will be the part of our cultural evening. While in regards to the fogging, we will ensure and to double check that we will inform this to all of our guests before it starts and it is a very importrant point. We will attend to these matters accordingly soon with our team.

Thank you kindly for your support and wishing you a pleasant week ahead!

We look forward to welcome you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur in the not too distant future.

Best regards

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

What strikes me the most is the peace and tranquillity of this property. I love reading on the patio in the cool morning air (Bali's mid morning sun is punishing!), listening to the birds chirping. Even the pool is calm and peaceful with plenty of sun loungers. The setting of the restaurant amid water features complemented the high quality, well presented food. Breakfast is a la carte buffet, so do ask for half portions so that you can try the wide variety on the menu, including local specialities.

I went with my wife and two children, age 4 and 6 and luckily they were well behaved as I am sure any horseplay on the hotel grounds which break the peaceful, tranquil atmosphere would be frowned upon by other guests. Also, the pool is 1.3m deep throughout and may not be suitable for some children.

The property is located at the junction of Jalan Sudamala and Jalan Cemera. Jalan Cemera has lots of restaurant with live music, massage joints and shops but without the hustle and bustle of Kuta. The beach is less than 10 mins away by foot and the walk there is well shaded. There is a yoga place and restaurants along the beach. Sudamala has a private beach area but do note that towels are not provided there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Limyi,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur!

Thank you kindly for your comments from your recent stay with us at Sudamala Sanur!

Really glad to head that you enjoyed your peace of mind when experienced our property, this is something that we always want to deliver toward our important guests.

At Ares Resto & Lounge we indeed serve wide varieties of menus, a good mix International dishes and local specialties that we always would like to introduce to our guests.

Thank you for visiting our private beach and we do hope you enjoyed your beach time there, mingling with the local atmosphere of Sanur. Towels are provided from the hotel previously, however now our guests have the options to ask for the towels on site since we do now have a Balinese style beach hut to cater this service.

All the best and wishing you a pleasant weekend ahead!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Address: Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#4 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#5 Family Hotel in Sanur
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudamala Suites & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.