We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sudamala Suites & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sudamala Suites & Villas to your Saves list
Sudamala Suites & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUDAMALA SURPRISE 30%OFF!
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel has just celebrated its first birthday. It most definitely deserves the 5 star rating. The rooms are big and spacious. The bed is huge and so comfy. You melt into the pillows and get the best nights sleep. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is one of the best we have had in a hotel. They gave us table service each morning, which was a nice change from the usual Self service most hotels have. The quality of the breakfast was mint and it was a perfect start to the day.
Each night the staff came to our room and offered to turn down the bed, left a flower and chocolate and lit an incense burner to repel the Mosquitos.
The pool area is an oasis in its self. Lovely to relax and unwind.
There is nothing that we could fault about this hotel and would highly recommend staying there if you are planning going to sanur.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation for us.

I’m happy that you had a relaxing stay with us, and that you enjoyed our breakfast table service and the food. There’s nothing quite like starting the day with a good meal!

We certainly look forward to your return to Bali and Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    104
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
51
238
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very friendly staff from the time we were met at the airport to the time they dropped us off again. Lovely, good size bedroom although aircon couldn't be directed away from bed. Lovely bathroom area with large in/outdoor shower area. Good size swimming pool. Only downside - safe was in bathroom area with no internal lockable door to outside wall with public access. Other than that, as an alternative to staying in the more popular 'close to airport' areas, would thoroughly recommend. Enjoyable dinner at attached restaurant - live music (very good guitarists but pretty average singing!) and very nice food. Slow breakfast service but content good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted to hear that the Sudamala Suites & Villas staff were able to take good care of you during your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our facilities. I do apologise for the slow breakfast service, and will continue to improve our service for our esteemed guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Sudamala Suites & Villas soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Have you ever stayed at a hotel, didn't really enjoy your stay, but are not sure why. That was our experience. To qualify this review, let me say this was our first time in Sanur. We are Australians and the East is usually the province of the Europeans. Still after so many trips to Bali, we thought it would be nice to see other parts of the island apart from Kuta/Legian/Seminyak.
So, long story short, Sanur is more expensive than other parts of the island. So our expectations of acommodation v price may be skewed.
Anyhow, to the Hotel. We arrived at the Sudamala from Ubud. The reception area is basically on a verandah next to the drive thru road. Just a table three chairs and a laptop. Unusual.
Check in was fine. We were taken to our room. We had booked a deluxe room from memory. One of the cheaper rooms, about 150aus. The room was on the top floor and had an open thatched ceiling. The room felt a little harsh and unfinished, ie. slick tiles averagely laid, with a very barren alfresco bathroom. First time I have seen an alfresco bathroom upstairs, and for me it didn't work.
We were on our honeymoon for this trip so while the room was fair we thought we would look at upgrading to another room. So we upgraded to a better room on the ground floor which cost an extra 75aus a night. This was a far bigger room and on the ground floor. We were much happier in this room. The staff did the usual filling of the bath with frangipani's and we got some really lovely towel origami left on the bed. The room had a few failings though. Because of the alfresco bathroom and the sliding courtyard doors, we found that lots of mosquito's were in our room. Also we found that there was a lot of noise heard from outside the room. Our room was next to a stairway, plus the staff every morning would use the the corridor outside our door to trolley things through the hotel. The doors to all the rooms are pretty wood carved double types, with all the noise insulating properties of a piece of paper.
The Food.
The Good.
On check in we were told that we were entitled to a free lunch. So after sorting our room we took them up on this offer. We had to choose from a set menu. All I can say was that the meal we had was really good. My wife is not a big fish fan, but the balinese fish in banana leaf impressed us both.
Breakfast. Sudamala does not offer a buffet. Still we found breakfast good, and it was the first time in bali we were able to get a freshly ground cappuccino as part of a hotel breakfast.
The Bad.
We tried the room service three times. It was bad. I mean 3 out of 10 bad. Worst I have had bad.
Location.
We have never been to Sanur before. It is hard to pick a hotel If you haven't been to an area before. On briefly exploring Sanur we felt that we would have been happier staying further up jalan danau tamblingan which is the main drag up the coast. A lot more of the better restaurants and shops were north of the Sudamala. We had a great meal further north at the Three monkeys which was a long walk away. In fairness we walked past about 20 restaurants to get there. Still it seemed a bit dingy and quiet the area immediately around the hotel.
There are three or four large hotels immediately around the Sudamala. These all have direct access to the beach. The Sudamala does not. In fact to get to the beach from Sudamala you must either cut through another hotels grounds or walk a kilometre via road. This was not a factor for us. But might be for some.
That is all I have to say about that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review.

Your feedback is much appreciated as it will allow us to improve ourselves. I do apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please be assured that I will continue to work with our staff to resolve any problems and enhance our services for our guests.

We hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas with an improved service.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If your heading to Bali, over 25 years old and enjoy being spoiled, the Sudamala at Sanur is for you. This is a very new resort and it shows. Large, airy rooms around central open area ringed by large timber arbors. A very swish pool and spa area awaits a early morning run. ( hard to jog in the Kuta / Seminyak region due to the large random holes in the footpath.) Not so Sanur, a 5-10 km is easy to organise from the small streets to the beach boardwalk. (Jogger Paradise)
Amongst the plentiful beach restaurants are some real gems and only a short walk from the Sudamala. Or if pushbikes are your thing they are complimentary. Hotel Breakfasts are excellent and very tasty. Good shopping market style and some seriously nice eateries are just across from the hotel. For the girls there is a very good hairdresser/nails etc just to the left as you leave the hotel about 200metres walk.
The Sudamala Spa is excellent for a massage and general pampering.
We were extremely happy we chose Sanur to extend our holiday in Bali and the Sudamala was perfect. With very friendly and efficient staff, great location and beautiful facilities, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Sanur is indeed a gem, and am very happy that you chose Sanur and Sudamala Suites & Villas to extend your holiday in Bali. Thank you for your recommendation and positive review. Myself and the staff look forward to your return to your new home in Bali!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just spent a 10 day break at Sudamala , can't fault this accommodation at all , everyone was so helpful , staff were very welcoming always smiling nothing was to much trouble , stayed in Sanur many times at different hotels but this was the best , rooms were off a very high standard and good value for money , beds and pillows were amazing , breakfasts were great and service very good , pool area was very nice and relaxing with excellent sunbeds and towels , the grounds and gardens are lovely for saying its still a new hotel , location is good a few minutes walk from the beach , shops and resturants , we will defiantly return to Sudamala on our next visit to Sanur .

Room Tip: We booked a top floor studio suite overlooking the pool , very quiet with afternoon sun .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I’m so glad that you had a relaxing 10-day break with us, and that we were able to be of service to you. The hotel was designed to have a homey feel to it, and I’m pleased that you were able to truly enjoy yourself. Please let us know when you are ready for another well-deserved break in Bali, and I will be more than happy to welcome you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in an upstairs deluxe room. The room was very clean with an extremely comfortable king size bed. The room was tastefully decorated with a high woven ceiling and lovely traditional doors. The balcony overlooked one of the courtyards. The indoor/outdoor bathroom with the toilet & shower was separated from the sink and luggage area with clear glass doors & then separating this area from the rest of the room were double opaque glass sliding doors. The shower recess was large and it was quite novel with the open air feel. Water pressure was good. All the staff were just lovely; genuinely friendly and helpful . The food at breakfast was all very good. Sudamala is in a good location with lots of restaurants and shops across the road and the beach just a short walk away. The resort was very quiet inside and had a lovely pool area with plenty of comfortable pool lounges. Sudamala is a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at Sudamala Suites & Villas. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing holiday and that you enjoyed our resort and all its facilities.

Best regards,


General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been coming to Bali for over 30 years and have stayed at numerous locations. This is our first visit back to Sanur in 20 years and decided on Sudamala due to trip advisor ratings and customer feedback. We thought we would provide a balanced view of pros and cons - and that these are of assistance to both potential guests and management and staff

Pros:
1. Lovely clean and new boutique style hotel with only 34 rooms. Have stayed in the big luxury ones in Nusa dua and kuta and this one had a lovely peaceful feel.
2. The room light clean and airy - a nice change to the ordinarily dark and musty rooms one experiences in Bali
3. Coffee- really lovely
4. Location - close to many good restaurants and bars
5.free bikes a nice touch as was the best way to go exploring
6. Friendly staff

Cons:
1. Pool - too hot to go in and just couldn't feel refreshed unless stayed in room and had a cold shower
2. Wifi - frustrating - only easy access was at front cafe
3.food and beverage staff - this was extremely problematic. Whilst lovely people, the restaurant staff lacked any training. Once the restaurant reached half it's capacity at breakfast it really fell to pieces! We received half our breakfast - the fruit salad and yogurt was forgotten. It was also impossible to get their attention so just gave up and went without. Means that you do not received the usual plentiful breakfasts one is used to in Bali. You need to go in search of food mid morning. There was also some sort of unstaffed Balinese buffet set up one morning but it was never explained so no one used it. We noted a number of irate guests just not having orders taken, trying to order milk etc.
4. No drinks service by pool. We found someone once, ordered two drinks and took about 20-25 mins to get them. At that stage we didn't really feel like them anymore

The previous reviewer mentioned absentee management. We would concur with this view. Training and the extra service one expects needs to be improved if Sudamala is going to be a serious competitor with all the other hotels and villas around, particularly when not located on or near the beach.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments in such a systematic way. It is through our guests’ comments that we can improve ourselves and your comments are truly useful. The wifi connection did have problems, but we have resolved this with our internet service provider and it is now working as it should. We do apologise for the slow service in our restaurant. It is certainly not our intention to keep our guests waiting. We have addressed this issue with all concerned to remedy the situation straight away.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope welcome you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Address: Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#4 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#5 Family Hotel in Sanur
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudamala Suites & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.