We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gustav Homestay

Save Saved
You added Gustav Homestay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gustav Homestay
Jl. Danau Tamblingan Gg. Penjor No. 9 Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 87 Sanur B&B and Inns
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Me and my girlfriend was there for 4 nights at the end of October. Really nice place especially if you're looking for a budget accommodation. Rooms are not big, but very clean, every room has a small balcony with 2 chairs and table. Bathroom is clean as well, no lack of hot water, no smell. Breakfast is simple, but tasty. Location is perfect - right behind the Hardy's and 10 min walk to the beach. Worth the price of 200k rupiah/night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This homestay is amazing. For every thing that includes, this is so cheap, and what I know this is the cheapest in Sanur.
In every room there is modern AC, nice bathroom and everything is fresch. You'll get towels and bedclothes. The two girls who works there makes you breakfast every morning, they clean your room and they're so friendly.
Gustav Homestay is behind a big hotel that has security guys outside which makes you feel secure when you go there at night.

I just love this pleace, and after staying there for a month it feels like a second home. There is no other pleace I would rather stay at that Gustav Homestay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salatiga, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at Gustav and we really enjoyed it. the room was clean and tidy. every morning we enjoyed a nice breakfast. the price's cheap and the staff were great and helpful. The location was near the main street and close to the beach. we can find any kind of food along to the main street. There's Indonesian food and western foods. Besides, we enjoyed live music from one of the nice restaurant from our place :P (lebay mode on)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I stumbled onto the Gustav one evening on our way back to our overpriced B&B. It is located in a narrow alleyway in downtown Sanur in back of the Oasis Hotel/Resort. For $20 USD = $200,000 Rupiah/night we had an aircon room, hot/cold shower, free breakfast and wifi included in our rooms. Aiyu, the manager, was over the top friendly and was always willing to go out of her way for us. Our room was on the second floor, #4, and the wifi only worked on our patio which was fine for us. In the mornings, the roosters next door start up early which may be a rude awakening for you. The bed was very comfortable and for a budget stay @ $20 USD/night this place worked great for us. The manager even had a friend that was able to book us a boat to the GIli's roundtrip including pick up and drop off for $55 USD/person = $550,000 rupiah. A steal after doing some research. Breakfast included coffee or tea, and toast with fruit. Simple but still free. If you are backpacking or on a budget this is a great place to stay with 5 min walk to beach and all Sanur has to offer. Would stay again at this price.

Room Tip: Pick a room closer to the office as this is away from the roosters and close to the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to stay in Sanur !
Very cheap around 200 000rp (20us$)
The room is so clean ! I stay 1 month in Bali it's the best one ! The staff (2 girls) clean your room every day.
We stay in room 5 for 3 people we was 2 so the room was good maybe small for 3 people. The bathroom is good clean and with western toilet. The breakfast is fast and good not amazing but good. The staff is very friendly !
If you want stay a cheap room and clean you can go here !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights. Clean modern rooms with AC and Breakfast. Friendly staff and next to Hardys if you can not find this place it's behind the Oasis hotel. Only ten minute walk to the beach. Low season 200 a night bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gustav Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gustav Homestay

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan Gg. Penjor No. 9 Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gustav Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gustav Homestay Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gustav Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.