We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice palce to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa

Save Saved
You added Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. Pengembak No. 28 Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80238, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 85 Sanur B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice palce to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week, rooms were a nice size and clean. out of the way to the town but had free shuttle bus every day. Staff we friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not great but they would cook you fresh eggs fried or omelette when asked. Pool was an average size but was never full of people so that was great, We were on the ground floor (only two floors) so our balcony door was right by the pool with chairs on the balcony and loungers next to the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manajer at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
dear debbie
as management astana pengembak we are thanks you very much for your comment ...
without your comment we dont released what we must to inprouf for our property in the future
best regards
gus de
salt&pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had an Great stay at this hotel, service was quite good for an hotel in this pricerange, the people from the restaurant we're very friendly and willing to help you, they could be provided an new toaster for breakfast by the management ;-) breakfast was nice but some cheese, bacon and ham would be an nice addition, rooms kept very clean by housekeeping, transfer service was set up nice, when not available an taxi is very cheap to the centre. Enjoyed an relaxed holiday at this hotel, i can recommand it, for dutch people going there, please be polight, and give those people an tip when you had an nice time at this hotel

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manajer at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
dear debbie
as management astana pengembak we are thanks you very much for your comment ...
without your comment we dont released what we must to inprouf for our property in the future
best regards
gus de
salt&pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Room was recently refurnished and very pleasant.
The negatives -
- no information or pamphlets available at reception
- made enquiry re cooking class in Sanur and also orphanage we wanted to visit, but there was no information available and staff not interested in checking out for me. I went on the internet and booked both myself. Also had to ask for an information folder for our room (twice) but also not very informative.
- there is a shuttle bus that will take you to Sanur (you have to find your own way back) but in the 5 days we stayed there it was never available, they would however organise a taxi for us.
- you can walk to the beach but you end up at the very end near the swampy area, its about a 10 minute walk to get to the popular section of the beach. Better walking along the main road which is full of shopping and restaurants and then walk through one of the resorts (Mercure) to get to the beach.
- as mentioned in other blogs, the breakfast is pretty ordinary, noodles, rice, scrambled eggs, small sausages and chicken bacon, fruit, croissants and danishes (in plastic bulk packs) - the same every day, not much thought or care taken.

I don't like giving a negative review but at A$115 it was not cheap and we moved (and counted our losses) to other accommodation which turned out to be the complete opposite of the Astana.

This accommodation was booked by our travel agent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palembang, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights with my 2 year-old, husband, and my parents. we had the connecting rooms which is excellent. staff are friendly and fast.
i love the kitchenette which is equipped with a microwave, stove, and cooking utilities, including knife and cutting board. those with babies and toddlers woyld appreciate this as we do.

the only disappointing thing is the breakfast variety which is the same day after day; fried rice/noodle, toast, omelette/scramble/boiled eggs, a few types of danish and fruits. the restaurant menu is also limited, and not so much child-friendly menu. but there are many restaurants that do deliveries, so that doesn't bother us much. but varieties of breakfast woyld certainly make me want to visit this hotel again

Room Tip: as others stated, 2nd floor rooms are recommended to those who'd prefer quiet environment as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Alcyone a

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Astana Pengembak and I think that your information our room facilities will be very helpful to our future guests, we appreciate your effort. I am sorry you have not enjoyed our breakfast, we are making much efforts to improve our breakfast quality. We have shortly added sausages, more veggies, more cheese types, more pastries, more fresh fruits season, more juice. Feel free to recommend any further suggestion, that would be very much appreciated.

Thank you very much for such a good feedback, feel free to come back anytime you're in Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the Astana and have enjoyed the apartment very much. The staff has been most helpful with a number of issues we needed help to resolve. Apartment was clean and the swimming pool is one of a few you can swim laps. if there is any criticism it is that that is a bit too far from Sanur centre and the restaurant could possibly have a greater choice.
We can recommend the Sanur apartment to anyone looking for a quite and relaxed stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear HeiriA,

Thank you so much for posting a wonderful review about your stay at Astana Pengembak. We are glad to know that you had a great time here and "enjoyed" 5 nights visit in Bali. I am happy that your experience at Astana Pengembak ticked all boxes and you loved our Apartment style. I think that your story will be very helpful to our future guests. Feel free to come back anytime you're in Bali.

Regards

Rudi Rizwana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Yes the room and bathroom are big well furnished and relative new. The kitchenette is small and sparse equipped while the cleaners don’t have good instructions to do the dishes or not. The long pool is nice for swimming however it is difficult to find the right time for this since it is too small to hold at the same time other in the water playing persons. Since the rooms are only a few meters opposite each other with this long small pool in between there can be a noise problem when guest are not leaving the pool according to the house rules. This needs more enforcement. Further is it better to have rooms on the 2nd floor to avoid intruding glares. Their free bikes are a nice gesture to visit the nearby beach and restaurants; they provide as well a free shuttle for a visit to the center of town.

Room Tip: For more privacy take a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are very glad that you had such a great stay in our Apartment. and I thank your for your candid suggestions about our 2nd floor room Thanks a lot for sharing your story, we are always eager to get more guests' review to improve our standards

Feel free to come back anytime you're in Bali, you are most welcome!

Regards

Rudi Rizwana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stay there in August just for a weekend getaway. It was amazing indeed! the physical room conditions was perfect and very pleasant with their whited color concept. The room I stayed in was in 2507 with direct walk path to their private pool. The view was amazing and I enjoyed the stay there. The only weakness is that they do not have GSM repeater in the building, so your handphone will be totally disconnected to the local network be it with XL or Telkomsel (Local GSM provider). We can only connected via Wifi for communication, but no GSM call is possible. That is the only point for improvement.

I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends and colleague, who doesn't bother with GSM connectivity in the room during their stay.

Room Tip: When order some drink from their little cafe, bare in mind that they will not provide glasses. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Pak Eko

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Astana Pengembak, We appreciate your stunning feedback for posting such a great review and we are very glad that you had such a good time, Most appreciate for your advice on the GSM repeater and we will work on it to make an improvement for the GSM thing, feel free to join us anytime you're in Bali.

Best Regards

Rudi Rizwana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa

Address: Jl. Pengembak No. 28 Sanur, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80238, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.