We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club
Save
You added Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club to your Saves list
Jl. By Pass Ngurah Rai, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“A little gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Some may describe this 20 bedroom resort as "boutique; I prefer "bijou" as a more appropriate term for this little jewel of a place. The restaurant, pool and reception area are all tiny but somehow the place never seems crowded. We had hours and the occasional whole day with the pool to ourselves. The staff are very warm and friendly but never intrusive. They treated us and each other like family.

There is a daily, low-key activity: learning a little of the Indonesian language, Indonesian cookery class, ketupat making (making a palm leaf box for wrapping Balinese rice), making a Balinese offering with coconut leaf and flowers, visit to a local elementary school. The activities are free except for the cookery class.... but it costs about the price of the meal anyway, the tuition is only a couple of dollars. It is easy to organise a tour with your own driver (who may well have served you lunch or cleaned your room). There are also special evenings: BBQ, Balinese Dance (ticket includes free 30 minute massage - on site, next to the pool), Margarita Thursday (special price all night), discounts offered for all sorts of things.

There is a daily maid service. Soap, washing up liquid, bath towels and towels for the beach are all provided. (I mention this because this was not the case in a resort we stayed in Crete). There is a small grocery store just outside the resort and a Korean Mart (which sells goods other than just Korean) just inside the entrance.There is a free shuttle to the beach at about 9am and 3.30pm (drop off only - tell them you want to use the service the day before). It is a good 20 minute walk back from the beach along a very busy road in the blistering heat! Take one of the resort's cards as the locals do not necessarily know the resort. On the way back from the beach we were told by 2 people that it was 3 km in the opposite direction!

Electricity is 230V, two-pin round plug, one adaptor provided. We had a 2 bed unit on the ground floor right next to the pool and we were very happy with that. There is a helpful "tip" tip in the service directory: instead of tipping individuals they suggest your putting a sum in the kitty at the end of your stay and the total is then divvied up between all the staff every month.

We have just returned home. I am already looking forward to returning......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Jan,

we are pleased to thank you very much for your positive review. we extremely understand that we need to improve our self from time to time so that will bring the guests a satisfying holiday. we have many activities that we would recommend to you for your next trip. there is a warm hi from Dede for Andrew, Michael and Katherine. once again thank you and looking forward to serving in a very near future.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
33
54
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We received complimentary stay for a week at RBBC Sanur. The place is excellent - great staffs working, very good service, quiet albeit along the main road. The only setback was its location which is far from everything. The rooms were clean and comfy. The pool is rather small but its okay as the resort is small hence not too crowded.
The beach is rather far away - you have to walk through maze of houses about few hundred metres away.

There is a Korean mini mart just right outside of RBBC. Few hundred metres away is a Korean restaurant which serves superb "sup bontot" (oxtail soup). Right next to it is a spa which was reasonably priced.

Apart from its location, all is good!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
dear Foo Y,

on behalf of management and staff we would like to thank you for the positive review that has given to us. it motivates us to keep up the excellent service. however, we do have a free shuttle service to down town which is near the beach, supermarket, traditional market, etc which complete our service for our beloved guests. once again thank you and looking forward to serving you in a very near future.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spend here 1 week in two bedroom apartment. Quite small pool area but we could find some chairs every day. The service was excellent and all the staff members were really nice and helpful. I want to mention Adi who really made us feel comfortable and he took as to a very nice day trip.

Beach club is located on a busy road but we were not disturbed by the noise during night. 10 minutes walk to the more touristic area with nice restaurants. Grocery store within couple of minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
dear Mosqito,

your satisfaction is our prime concern. thank you for giving your review. we believe that the secret of doing a good job is you have to love it. we love what we do, we love to serving the guests as best as we could. please do not hesitate for returning to our resort.
thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week in Feb and found it to be lovely.The staff were brilliant and were very friendly learning your name quickly which is nice.The studio room we had was very nice,decent size with a good TV and small kitchen area which was good for morning coffee.The fridge was great and a good air conditioner which is essential in Bali.
Its quite a small hotel but it was very friendly and everything was really clean .
The spa was rather expensive but they always are in hotels but there is a good little bakery next door which was quite handy also very close to a small mini mart.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it if you don't want lots of action.


n

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
dear deedeewestaustralia,

thank you so much for your motivation and support thru your review. we know that by giving an excellent service, all the weaknesses can be covered. we do the weekly training and daily briefing to maintain our best service. of course we do apologize for any inconvenience cause.
once again thank you and looking forward to serving you again.


best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Noarlunga, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the second time here in Sanur. We had a 2 week stay, and during this time were treated like royalty. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. Unfortunately we had a noisy neighbour who was not considerate of others late at night. When I approached reception one night, I enquired if they could approach the people and ask that they keep the noise level down after 11pm. They immediately did this, but the very next day we were asked if we would like to move to another room away from the noise. This was not expected, and we were very happy indeed.

The room we had was very clean and comfortable. The daily cleaning staff were very thorough and a pleasure to talk to. The turndown service is also a nice touch. We were in a room to the front of the building and experienced no noise from the main road.

The staff around the pool and restaurant were fantastic!! We were ever so impressed with their attention to the resort visitors. The management should be congratulated on thier training of their staff - Well done!!

Yes, the resort is on the main road, but it is only a 7-10 mins walk down to the beach restaurants, or a $2.50 AU taxi ride to central Sanur. The best restaurant in Sanur by far is "Charming". An amazing 4 star restaurant at a 2 star price.Other good restaurants are "3 Monkeys" and "Casa Luna", all in the heart of Sanur.

For a really great day, you can hire bicycles and ride along the beach front for miles and miles. Fantastic views.

Thanks to all the staff and management for a fantastic stay. We will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hi Kate M,

we would like to thank you for the inspiriting and motivating review about us. we are glad that our everyday's training and hard work result a satisfying and memorable holiday for you. please contact us on sanur@royalperspective.com before you plan of coming back so that we could prepare everything that you require when you arrive in to our resort.
once again thank you for your review, looking forward to serving you again on your next holiday.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked through RCI, a week here and a week at the RBBC in Candidasa. I was concerned when my driver pulled up to a Korean grocery store, and I saw the small gate off to the side; however, I passed through the gate into a lovely resort. Upon arrival, We were warmly greeted by Santi, with a smile and a cold glass of delicious juice. The check-in process went smoothly, and I hoofed it up the very tall stairs to my room. I had requested a room in the back, away from traffic and that is what I received. The room was basically a large hotel room (we booked the studio) with a very basic kitchen (microwave, coffee pot, sink, and fridge) and a nice patio overlooking the pool. The bathroom was nice, and the room tastefully decorated. There was a small table with two chairs, a nice TV with DVD player, and two chairs on the patio. For about $3.50, you could purchase a 5-gallon (or so) bottle of water to have in your room. I recommend doing this right away, as you cannot drink the tap water anywhere in Bali (that I am aware of).

We were very pleased with the room and the staff. They made it a point to know your name, and were very attentive and helpful. The restaurant staff was the same, but the food was just OK. Kind of overpriced for what you got (in Bali), but convenient. There was traffic noise, but it did not bother us too much. We did wish the pool opened later, because there were LOUD kids most mornings (around 7 am).

The beach is not right across the street, as I had thought. You cross the street and meander through rows of houses and shops. The location was really not good at all, but this is usually the case with timeshares, in our experience. Generally you get a very nice resort in a sub-par location. RBBC was no different. I hear the spa was lovely, but it is tough to go there when you can cab it to town and get a great massage for $5.

Overall, a lovely place and we have nothing but positive things to say about the staff!

Room Tip: If you email or call, ask for a room toward the back of the resort, away from the bypass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear JenDo73,

we would like to thank you so much for your diligently effort to support and motivate our staff thru your positive review. however, we realize that our location is not recommendable, that's why we cover that disadvantage by providing the guests maximum service from the staff. as you may have seen in our resort that we provide shuttle service to the beach everyday. Food and Spa are two things offer you guaranteed quality, and we always open a change to give best prices by creating packages.
anything we would do to create a great holiday in our resort.
once again thank you, looking forward to seeing you in your next holiday

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The road out front is extremely busy and cuts u off from the beach, the pool is tiny, the room we had was third floor with no balcony, the aircon leaked so hard we needed two towels to contain the water. Give it a miss pay the extra dollars and get a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear OneGrievous,

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time to write down this valuable review for us.
And we would like to apologize for all the inconvenience. your review has gave us a motivation, self introspection, and reparation to make sure everything is in order. we would like to beg for your favor to kindly send us your details to our email address sanur@royalperspective.com, so that we may be able to recheck and to ensure that your holiday experience does not happen in the future.
once again thank you and deeply apologize for your unsatisfying experience.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club

Address: Jl. By Pass Ngurah Rai, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sanur, Bali’s biggest traditional village and one of the most established tourist areas, this newly refurbished property offers access to everything you could hope for. From fine restaurants and modern entertainment, traditional village drama and dance to the Bali Safari Marine Park or the Bali Zoo Park all within a half hour drive there is something for everybody. It is also a great starting point for those of you looking to get out and about to see the island with tours to areas including Kintamani, Lake Batur, Puri Tirta Empul, Bedugul, Botanical Garden and Tanah lot. Relax by the pool in beautifully landscaped surrounds or take a wander along the paved beach side path running the full length of Sanur where you can check out a multitude of shops & restaurants. The Royal Bali Beach Club at Sanur is only 20 minutes drive from Denpasar Airport & Waterbom Park. Ubud, Bali’s cultural centre featured in the famous book and movie "Eat Pray Love" is only a short drive away. With a range of Studio, One-Bedroom Combination and Two-Bedroom apartments, a number of which have their own private balconies and or full kitchen facilities, this resort offers something for everybody giving you the opportunity to not only enjoy the delights of staying on a tropical island but also to gain a real appreciation of Balinese culture and local life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur Hotel Sanur
Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.