We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly located gem with delightful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club
Save
You added Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club to your Saves list
Jl. By Pass Ngurah Rai, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Poorly located gem with delightful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked through RCI, a week here and a week at the RBBC in Candidasa. I was concerned when my driver pulled up to a Korean grocery store, and I saw the small gate off to the side; however, I passed through the gate into a lovely resort. Upon arrival, We were warmly greeted by Santi, with a smile and a cold glass of delicious juice. The check-in process went smoothly, and I hoofed it up the very tall stairs to my room. I had requested a room in the back, away from traffic and that is what I received. The room was basically a large hotel room (we booked the studio) with a very basic kitchen (microwave, coffee pot, sink, and fridge) and a nice patio overlooking the pool. The bathroom was nice, and the room tastefully decorated. There was a small table with two chairs, a nice TV with DVD player, and two chairs on the patio. For about $3.50, you could purchase a 5-gallon (or so) bottle of water to have in your room. I recommend doing this right away, as you cannot drink the tap water anywhere in Bali (that I am aware of).

We were very pleased with the room and the staff. They made it a point to know your name, and were very attentive and helpful. The restaurant staff was the same, but the food was just OK. Kind of overpriced for what you got (in Bali), but convenient. There was traffic noise, but it did not bother us too much. We did wish the pool opened later, because there were LOUD kids most mornings (around 7 am).

The beach is not right across the street, as I had thought. You cross the street and meander through rows of houses and shops. The location was really not good at all, but this is usually the case with timeshares, in our experience. Generally you get a very nice resort in a sub-par location. RBBC was no different. I hear the spa was lovely, but it is tough to go there when you can cab it to town and get a great massage for $5.

Overall, a lovely place and we have nothing but positive things to say about the staff!

Room Tip: If you email or call, ask for a room toward the back of the resort, away from the bypass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear JenDo73,

we would like to thank you so much for your diligently effort to support and motivate our staff thru your positive review. however, we realize that our location is not recommendable, that's why we cover that disadvantage by providing the guests maximum service from the staff. as you may have seen in our resort that we provide shuttle service to the beach everyday. Food and Spa are two things offer you guaranteed quality, and we always open a change to give best prices by creating packages.
anything we would do to create a great holiday in our resort.
once again thank you, looking forward to seeing you in your next holiday

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    47
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
50
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The road out front is extremely busy and cuts u off from the beach, the pool is tiny, the room we had was third floor with no balcony, the aircon leaked so hard we needed two towels to contain the water. Give it a miss pay the extra dollars and get a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear OneGrievous,

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time to write down this valuable review for us.
And we would like to apologize for all the inconvenience. your review has gave us a motivation, self introspection, and reparation to make sure everything is in order. we would like to beg for your favor to kindly send us your details to our email address sanur@royalperspective.com, so that we may be able to recheck and to ensure that your holiday experience does not happen in the future.
once again thank you and deeply apologize for your unsatisfying experience.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This ISLAND is so breath taking that it has literally floored me I am yet to come to terms with this beautiful BALI & its people (ever smiling people). The RBBC resort rooms are good, clean, well maintained. Very friendly staff. I would surely recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Its in the center of all the 3 RBBC resorts - Ideal & near KUTA the happening place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear L V R,

Thank you for your well review. we are glad that you have enjoyed our service.
We all know that 5 stars is not only about the property. biggest part is the service. that's why we always intend to maintain our best service by doing weekly / monthly training and briefing. And we always maintain the staff satisfaction. once again thank you for the motivation and support that you gave to us by writing this review. looking forward to seeing you again in your next holiday.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was booked through RGBC Time share. The property is located on a main road and not at all close to the beach. However, the rooms are decently furnished and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The attached spa has reasonable packages for couples for massage.
Food choice at the restaurant is limited but the preparations are quite nice, tasty and presentation is good.
If you do not mind a bit of a walk to the beach, then this place could be a good choice, away from the crowds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear VijayToley,

the best factor that we have for the best service is we love what we do. we love to serve you a best service, we love to be in the resort, we love to work as a team, etc. As you know, that we do the shuttle service to the main area of Sanur including the beach. please do not hesitate to visit us over next time you to Bali. we will be happily to assist you. thank you and looking forward to serving you on your next holiday.

best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Bali Beach Club in January 2013. We booked it via our membership in the RCI group so it was quite cheap and therefore, really good value for money. The resort is great however, it is close to the "by-pass" road at Sanur and therefore, a bit noisy (traffic noise) and you need to be careful crossing that road.

Having said that, the noise was not much of an issue - only noticed it if we sat on the balcony. There was no noise once inside the rooms. In addition, after crossing the road, it was a quick walk (10 mins) to the beach or to the main shopping/restaurant road in Sanur. If you prefer a taxi, it cost around $2-$3 AUS each way.

The staff at the resort were awesome and really pride themselves on providing great service, which they always did. The rooms were very spacious, clean and well appointed. The pool area was really nice and totally adequate for the size of the resort. We ate at the resort a few times and the food was good. Overall, the prices were reasonable and what you would normally pay for food and drink at a hotel/resort. We thought the spa was over-priced - about 6 times what you pay in the smaller shops in Sanur. It is part of the "K" Spa group (Karma resorts) which are 5 star. But this is only a 3-4 star hotel so not sure how much business the spa gets.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor provide a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
hi FirieBenno,

we would like to thank you for your review. we figured out that our location is our big debility. but that wont hold us to provide an exceptional service. we use everything we have to make sure that the guest satisfaction is primarily concerned.
please do not hesitate to visit us for your next holiday.
thank you and looking forward to serving you again.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A group of 5 of us stayed here in January and thought it was great! We changed our room to the back away from the main road. The staff were lovely and spoke very good English, the food was of great quality and at a good price. The pool was perfect temperature and had a swim up bar, will definitely come back here next time we are in Bali!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Steve,

thank you for your great review. it gives us motivation to build a better team. if you do have any suggestion please let us know. you will greatly appreciated.
and again thank you and look forward to serving you on your next holiday.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samford, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The resort facilities are fine. The pool is nice and warm and the restaurant is open what seems like all the time. The food was good, though I did not dine in that often, kids liked it alot. The coffee machine was broken during our visit so no cappuchino. The wireless internet works okay except in the room furthest away from the reception.
There are no washing machines or driers. You need to get used to using the laundry service that worked out about $15 per week for 4 people.
The service is excellent. The staff really makes an effort to make you feel welcome. The reception was open when we arrived after 1am. Everybody was really helpful.
The resort organised a Christmas function with a great local band providing the entertainment until late.
The location of the resort is not near the beach, it is about 15 minute walk to the seaside or a short/cheap taxi ride. There is a bakery just down the road (opens after 8.30am) and also a little shop that sells basics like milk and Guinness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi KTH99,

we would like to thank you for your review. we figured out that our location is our big debility. but that wont hold us to provide an exceptional service. we use everything we have to make sure that the guest satisfaction is primarily concerned.
please do not hesitate to visit us for your next holiday.
thank you and looking forward to serving you again.

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club

Address: Jl. By Pass Ngurah Rai, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sanur, Bali’s biggest traditional village and one of the most established tourist areas, this newly refurbished property offers access to everything you could hope for. From fine restaurants and modern entertainment, traditional village drama and dance to the Bali Safari Marine Park or the Bali Zoo Park all within a half hour drive there is something for everybody. It is also a great starting point for those of you looking to get out and about to see the island with tours to areas including Kintamani, Lake Batur, Puri Tirta Empul, Bedugul, Botanical Garden and Tanah lot. Relax by the pool in beautifully landscaped surrounds or take a wander along the paved beach side path running the full length of Sanur where you can check out a multitude of shops & restaurants. The Royal Bali Beach Club at Sanur is only 20 minutes drive from Denpasar Airport & Waterbom Park. Ubud, Bali’s cultural centre featured in the famous book and movie "Eat Pray Love" is only a short drive away. With a range of Studio, One-Bedroom Combination and Two-Bedroom apartments, a number of which have their own private balconies and or full kitchen facilities, this resort offers something for everybody giving you the opportunity to not only enjoy the delights of staying on a tropical island but also to gain a real appreciation of Balinese culture and local life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur Hotel Sanur
Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.