We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayu Sugih Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kayu Sugih Guest House
Save
You added Kayu Sugih Guest House to your Saves list
Jl.Danau Tamblingan No.76 Sanur | Denpasar, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 101 Sanur B&B and Inns
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Kayu Sugih guest house was a welcoming comfort after our long flight from California. They had a driver pick us up from the airport, complimentary. It was great not having the hassle of finding a ride. We were greeted warmly with a welcome drink.

Our room was lovely with a sitting area and separate bedroom, AC included. Everything was clean and very comfortable. We loved sitting on our patio early in the morning having coffee and watching the birds and admiring the beautiful gardens which were groomed immaculately. Breakfast was a treat with a choice of American or Indonesia breakfast, fresh fruit and choice of fruit juice, tea and coffee. Breakfast was not served at a particular time, which was nice since we were still suffering from jet lag. We felt the guest house was a great value.

The location was quiet and secluded from the busy street but yet very convenient to the beach and restaurants. We found a short cut, and it only took a few minutes, and we were enjoying the beach. The family and staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. We enjoyed our three days there and hated to leave, but all of Bali was calling...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
49
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were stay there for the last few days of our Bali trip!
Very nice walking entrance, especially during the night with certain lights!
The decoration of the house is the style which we prefer! Traditional bali house! We spent our night time sitting outside of the room, enjoy the peaceful time belong to us!
The service is great! We left at early morning around 4am, the boss still try to offer us breakfast!
They got up early than us just want to make sure the taxi will be arrived on time!
Unforgettable memory left in there, we will be back!
Only one thing you have to concern is if you want to swimming you have to walk around 3 mins! For me it's not a big deal! Also the swimming pool is nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights and were not disappointed. The breakfast was lovely (the best of all the places we stayed in during our time in Bali), you are given a choice of American or Indonesian. They also ask how you would like your egg cooked. The fresh juice in the morning was also great. They also let you have your breakfast at whatever time you wish.

This guest house is in a great location for the beach and all the restaurants (we recommend Little Bird Warung). The beach is literally a 2 minute walk and the staff will tell you a short cut to get there. A footpath goes along the beach for miles, so you can choose whatever part of the beach you like. It is also a lovely walk.

The gardens surrounding the rooms are beautifully kept. We had a air con room which was cleaned everyday. The only down side to our room was we had no outside space to sit compared to the other rooms which did. Also there are no windows in the bedroom so it can seem a little dark in there during the day, however there is a lounge part in front of the bedroom which is great to relax in with plenty of light. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and felt very much at home during our stay with the help and friendliness of all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this accomodation. The property is away from the road and therefore very quiet. It 'also immersed in a well-kept garden. The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived to total black-out in the area. Couldn't even shower or change as they only gave me a little tealight candle. Sat in the dark for nearly an hour before the power came back on. As power outages are quite frequent in Bali, most establishments will make sure that they provide guests with enough candles and flashlight but not here. Room was clean but small, bathroom was adequate but had this pump going on and off the whole night and with no door, you can't close off the sound. Breakfast was adequate but the mee goreng was a tad too oily. The owners were friendly enough but not too helpful with information about the area. I asked where I could buy a phone charger on the night I arrived but they said wait till morning. I walked around and found a little shop with what I needed as well as topped up my prepaid number. They called their taxi friend when I checked out for my transfer to Ubud. He was great and drove me around Sanur to have a look see of the area. Luckily we did that because I then realised I had left my phone in the room. Went back to get it and the owner said he was going to email me. Why couldn't he have just called the driver?

Wifi was patchy and unreliable, beach was nowhere in sight and no idea how to get to it via an easy route. Lots of restaurants on the main road outside but again no recommendations or help from the hotel so ended up aimlessly wandering on the stretch of road outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woombye, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived here late at night after a free pickup from the airport. The owners wife greeted us with a refreshing fruit drink beautifully decorated. So welcoming. We stayed for 4 nights and delighted in the surroundings. Beautiful gardens, lovely breakfasts on the terrace and the use of a neighbouring pool if we needed. And yes, we did after our busy days out. Our A/C room was large and the kingsize bed was great. There was a tv with some cable stations and a fridge. Wifi was uneven but always reliable on the terrace. The bathroom was clean but a bit tired. There was nowhere to put your toiletries but the large cupboard in the bedroom was useful and has a locked drawer and the whole cupboard can be locked. The cook and other workers were so polite and welcoming as were the owners. They do not speak english very well but always assisted our requests. The guesthouse is very secure and safe. Great location, just a very short walk through an empty allotment to the beach, close to many places to eat and about 10-15 minute walk to Hardy's . We felt this guesthouse was good value for money. Shame about Sanur beaches, badly polluted.

Room Tip: A/C is a must for humid Sanur. Always ask about using the nearby pool. The owners don't share mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. Pros: rooms are clean and area is very quiet. Emphasis on quiet and nice. Can't tell that it's just off the main street. Toiletries eg shampoo soap toothbrush shower cap were all provided for. You can use the pool at the nearby hotel, which is a few min walk away but very nice! Deck chairs n free towel provided. Service is friendly and we had a free ride to the airport on the way home. Cons: access to the beach is through this area that is being redeveloped not the nicest walk through but it is relatively near to the guesthouse. Its about a 5-10 min walk to reach the beach. Otherwise you need to walk ages to the nearest public entrance or brazen through a restaurant/hotel. (You will understand if you're there) Sanur beach itself was a bit disappointing. Wifi was for some reason incredibly patchy and frustrating (we were the only guests there for at least a day or two).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.7 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#16 of 68 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
0.3 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayu Sugih Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayu Sugih Guest House

Address: Jl.Danau Tamblingan No.76 Sanur | Denpasar, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kayu Sugih Guest House Hotel Sanur
Kayu Sugih Guest House Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayu Sugih Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.