We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mona Lisa Cafe

Mona Lisa Cafe
Danau Tamblingan No.98, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
(085)237997215
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 257 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
brisbane
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had lunch here, open and undercover seating, service was prompt and well mannered attentive staff.

Choice & value, Not expensive Food had flavour , if you don't have food in your hotel this would be a good choice. clean rest rooms and nice garden surrounds.
Would dine there again

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    235
    63
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What is all the hype about ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

No atmosphere, no decoration/style to note and a very unexciting entrance.

Food was decent, but nothing out of this world. The Mee Goreng used some pretty cheap ingredients I thought, whilst the spaghetti, breads and salads were quite average.

Can't say that there was anything to entice kids in the restaurant other than easy-to-move chairs.

The bill took 15 minutes to prepare as it had to be written out by hand.

Yes the service was good, but this can't be the 2nd best restaurant in Sanur. If it is, then there's plenty of room for improvement in the others and/or for new entrants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The cafe is nice, good ambiance and service, and you can eat well there. Prices slightly lower than average tourist rates. But somehow I expected much more after seing all these excited reviews, and the place turned out just average, nothing to buzz about. They have a European selection maybe that's why it's so popular. We liked their Tuna pepes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, Good atmosphere, average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The service was excellent here. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. Since I was staying in the one of the resorts in Sanur, the prices looked very reasonable compared to the resort. They accommodate for kids, and the atmosphere is quite pleasant.

The only downside is the food is average. We ordered the Thai Beef Salad, the Beef Rendang, the Chicken Cordon Bleu, and the Nasi Goreng. The Beef Salad had chewy beef, but was still quite nice. The Rendang was not what we were expecting, it had similar meat to the beef salad, not the traditional dried beef. The chicken was good, but I would compare it to the likes of fast food sit-down restaurants anywhere in the world; the side dishes were bland, steamed vegetables, that seems like came from the freezer. Lastly the nasi goreng, it was fine, nothing to complain about there.

Perhaps we did not get a good taste of what they have to offer. I would try Mona Lisa again, because the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for good value this is the place to go. The price is right and the food is ok. Definitely not the best but the price makes up for it. I would recommend this if you want a quiet place to eat and not have to spend too much. The staff were friendly and attentive.

I would not call this an Indonesian restaurant as the majority of the dishes weren't actually Indonesian and my Beef Rendang wasn't really e most authentic I had but it also wasn't bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona Lisa Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mona Lisa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mona Lisa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.