We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach walk restaurant with style :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isola Restaurant

Isola Restaurant
Danau Tamblingan 29 | Sanur Beach, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
0361 289 310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 211 restaurants in Sanur
Cuisines: European, Indonesian, Italian, International
Restaurant details
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Amazing beach walk restaurant with style :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

What a wonderful day, great clear blue sky, great weather for a famous tropical island of Bali, We were passed the venue so many times, and this is the time to experience Isola Restaurant at La Taverna Hotel in Sanur
We ordered the chef recommended (chef Brata), he served the appetizer, a red soup made from fresh watermelon combine with Balinese sambal matah, was great, rich of flavors and tangy, so refreshing for the appetizer, then we go for the main course, my friend ordered Healthy Organic Soup and Spaghetti while I am enjoyed the Tenderloin Steaks, mine was great, a hi quality of beef and cooked in a medium rare style, the best way to cooked a meat :), the black paper and mushroom sauce was a perfect combination with steaks, at the end of the lunch we had our rich taste of cappuccino and lime sorbet, was refreshing. The interior of the restaurant was mostly made from natural wood with the touch of classic style.
Mr Jean Luc, the General Manager of the Hotel accompanied us during our lunch, we had a great conversation, great food, great ambience, great weather and view...what a day, we left the Isola restaurant (soon become La Taverna Restaurant) felling lucky :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    7
    5
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Beachfront Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We ate at Isola a couple o times on our trip and were very happy. A mix of Italian and international food with some local dishes also available. Service was a little on the slow side, but the food was decent and the setting was superb,it's beautifully lit at night. We also liked having drinks at the bamboo beach bar, which is a great place to relax before or after a meal. Lunch is nice here, but the best is on a full moon night with live jazz playing in the background.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Request a table by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spotted Isola Restaurant on a day trip to Sanur Beach and reserved a table on the beach for the evening. The sea views were gorgeous and the food was also excellent, with the seafood and the beef rendang in particular highly recommended. The service was a little erratic but the staff were very friendly. If you're looking for casual dining with quality food amidst the many restaurants on Sanur Beach then Isola is a good choice.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Isola seemed so promosing, but the food didnt quite deliver.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

We chose to eat at isola (on 16th november 2011) because of its tranquil setting, calming spaces and simple, delicious sounding menu. The service was good, although one round of cocktails was suspectedly forgotten as they took a while. Our mojito cocktails were delicious, but we had to change to something different after our first as they had run out of fresh mint. The jazz music was lovely and the look of the restaurant is great.

We were really excited about our meals and they sounded good on paper. Unfortunately in reality, they did little to impress. For starter i had baked riccota with cramelised tomatoes. My baked riccota was bland and the tomatoes were cooked, not caramelised. The dish as a whole lacked flavour. The caramelised garlic bread entre was delicious but could have done with some salt. The pizza had a perfect, crispy base and tasty toppings, but the portion of toppings was disappointing.
The pear poached in red wine was fantastic- lovely taste and still crunchy, which I liked.
Presentation of the meals was good.

It was a pity that isola failed to deliver what promised to be a delicious Italian meal. A consultant chef was preparing meals the night that we were there, which makes me think improvements to the dishes are in progress.
With more attention to the taste of the meals, I think this restaurant could improve ratings. The food is, after all, the main reason for dining.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The wrong restaurant in sanur”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

An italian menù but absolutely fake...is impossibile to' have pasta without italian Style like the menu description cooking....served too cold and too oily.The bar is The only valid part of this restaurant

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isola Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.