We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find in a quieter area of Sanur!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhouse Guest House

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
Sunhouse Guest House
Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 79 Sanur B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in a quieter area of Sanur!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This place really has it all. The rooms are spotlessly clean and include little things that make a big difference and really demonstrate how thoughtful the owners are. Universal power adapters, mosquito repellant and free water. Have tried three different rooms now....all are good but the Sunflower room at the top is my favourite as it has a balcony to sit and enjoy a refreshing beer. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    34
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
51
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Simple and clean premises with lovely staff. Location of guest house means you get to see more of the surrounding area.

The Jasmine room met all our needs.

Staff are very helpful and friendly and aren't pushy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here with one of my Adult daughters for 2weeks,It is so nice, there is a very good outside Kitchen for everyone to share, and very helpfull Staff, a good Courtyard nice pool and lots of Sun if you want to chill out, have a short walk to the South end of Sanur Beach just walk down one of the lanes off the Main road straight down to the Beach, check out the Cafe's on the beachfront for Breakfast or Lunch, also the beautiful Holiday accommodation right along the beach front from South to North Sanur.There are Pushbikes for hire and take yourself for a ride along the Beach Path and explore what there is to offer along the way.just past Peeneda View Hotel and the next new Hotel there is a Riding Lane that will take you out to the main road of Sanur which I like to call the Middle of Sanur where you will find HARDYS Fantastic Supermarket where you will be abel to buy anything you need for your Holiday if you are staying in Budget Accommodation. across the road from Hardys there is Circle K general store which has a Bank where you can change your Money. You can get a Green Bemau Buss or a Taxi to take you there. We love everything Sanur has to Offer this is where we love to Stay when we go to Bali, I was their in May 2013 that was my 13 holiday, just so good we have made lots of Balinese friends so it is just like comeing home for us!! Regards, Marion.

Room Tip: As it is a small Homestay all the Rooms are good and Cleane!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place, good quality and good value for ya IDR.

Rooms were clean with comfy beds, etc.

There's a pool, nice courtyard, and communal kitchen which make for a friendly atmosphere.

The owners are very nice and helpful, and don't push any unwanted services on you.

There are nice cafes/restaurants/convenience stores nearby and the beach is an easy walk or an even easier ride - they offer push bike rental.

All positive, not a single complaint.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerthsee, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Sunhouse is a small guesthouse with lots of charme in a perfect location. Each room is lovely decorated, clean and very comfortable. The area around the quiet pool is perfect to relax. But the highlight are the people! The owners family and their staff where always extremly nice, had good recomendations and helped us promptly with any needs or problems. We highly recommend this place and definitly come back if we visit Bali again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nites while in Bali, as we have a very short stay. I love the place! I love the artistically handmade doors! So amazed. But best of all, the staff are really nice and very helpful. Although they are not really good in English, they will try their best to accommodate your queries. The small kitchen is open at 7am in time for morning coffee and you can get water anytime. There is a common area where you can eat your meal or snack or unwind and chit chat after your tour. Likewise, there a small pool, where you can relax if its too hot for you to wander around the beach. The rooms are clean! The bathroom is nice. If given the opportunity to be back in Bali, definitely, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Once again I booked Sunhouse for my extended stay in Bali, this time I was back for 30 days and booked the Sunflower Room, as I stayed there last year and loved it
The staff here are just wonderful, always smiling and ready to make your stay perfect. The beautiful little courtyard is the centre piece of this guesthouse and you can cool off in the lovely pool which is always inviting after a long day out and about Sanur
Budi and Corey are the owners of Sunhouse and are always around if there is something you need to ask. One day I came back to Sunhouse to find all the guests having lunch with the owners in the courtyard. Corey had cooked for all the people who were there.
The guesthouse is spotless and nothing is a trouble and the little kitchen is there for everyone to use . So if you want somewhere special to stay other than one of the many big Hotels and you are one a budget look no further than Sunhouse all the rooms are lovely, but for me the Sunflower Room is rather special, with a large balcony to sit and have your evening drink or morning coffee.
Another great stay for me Thanks again

Room Tip: All the rooms are priced differently but are good value after all you are up and out most days
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhouse Guest House

Also Known As:
Sunhouse Guest House Sanur, Bali
Address: Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sunhouse Guest House is located in Sanur, only a short walk to the beach. We have 7 lovely rooms, a kitchen you can use any time and a delightful swimming pool. You can sit on the patio and enjoy the magical evenings. Sanur is a peaceful and a safe place to spend your holidays. With its calm waters, Sanur beaches are perfect for swimming. It is also a centre for water sports such as windsurfing, diving or canoeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhouse Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunhouse Guest House to your Saves list