We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhouse Guest House

Save Saved
You added Sunhouse Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhouse Guest House
Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 84 Sanur B&B and Inns
nyc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The owners/staff were great. Made you feel very welcome. I had the deluxe room which is located on the 2nd floor. Very clean and spacious. A/C included. Adjoining small terrace overlooking the small swimming pool outside. Free DVDs to watch, free WiFi. Breakfast not included. Place is located about 10 mins walk to the beach promenade and takes about 45 mins to walk along the promenade to reach Tootsies (a fixed price store) but there are restaurants/shops that line the promenade as you walk to keep you occupy. They can help you call for a taxi if you don't want to walk. Taxi to the airport is about 70 IDR.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    37
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
57
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in the deluxe room. The room was on the first floor, and was very spacious. The bed was huge and the room very clean. There were nice artistic furniture (which is true for all Bali, I guess). The owners were away when we were there, but the Manager and the staff were lovely. We also had a small balcony overlooking the road.
There were good places for breakfast, about 5 mins walking from the hotel.
The only cons are, there is no place to park a car if you rent one, and it is slightly out of the main area of Sanur.
Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The owners and the staffs were so friendly that i feel like i'm home. The room was clean, and designed beautifully. It is located near the beach, you can wake up earlier take a lil walk,feel the fresh morning air and see the beautiful sunrise at the sanur beach in the morning, very calming and beautiful. You also can cook your own breakfast every morning and enjoy it in the relaxing space... where you also have a lil chit chat with the owners and other tourists. Located in a peaceful area of Sanur, this place is definitely the place where you want to take a rest after a day full of trip in Bali. I will definitely come back again. Terimakasih Bapak, Ibu :D

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

As a first time traveler,with a baby, the Sunhouse Guesthouse was a magical place to acclimatise. The facilities are very good,the bed was big enough for the three of us, the staff were attentive, generous and helpful, the owners were gracious and informative, sharing local services of cafes taxis and local shop when needed. Every bit of advice from them was accurate and honest. The owners, Budi and Corri, are very lovley people and I plan to stay there again as a resting place before my trip home. Conveniently close to Denpansar Airport many shops and closer to the beautiful Sanur sinrise.

Room Tip: Follow your heart ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sunhouse for 3 nights in July and liked it very much.
Pros:
The room was clean and nice and they even decorated the bed with plumeria flowers for us, which was a nice touch. The bed and pillows were very comfy. The pool is small but warm and very refreshing. The staff are very friendly. They offer free bottled water, a huge plus and rare for homestays. TV and DVD player work well, which was nice for night, and they have lots of DVDs to choose from.
Cons:
The bathroom could use an update and the temperature of the shower was not good. It would fluctuate between cool and very hot. The location is not great as it is on the street and you can hear the traffic early in the morning. If you are a sound sleeper though, it would not bother you.

The best part of Sunhouse though is the owners and the staff. My husband lost his wedding ring on the beach and they did all they could to try to help us find it. Although we didn't find it, we really appreciated their empathy and effort.
There are lots of big, really nice hotels on the beach in Sanur. But, if you are looking for a nice guesthouse, I am not sure that you could find a better one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I only stayed one night, but the staff and owners made me feel right at home! It's really good value, the rooms are very pleasent and only a short walk to the beach.

There is a little bit of traffic noise due to the location, but otherwise this place is fantastic and great value.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for only one night, but it was a very nice relaxed, friendly hotel. Nice owners. It has a kind of backpackers atmosphere that we like, but with a swimming pool, kitchen, airco .... perfect. We arrived late (at 01:00) but the security guy was already waiting for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhouse Guest House

Address: Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sunhouse Guest House is located in Sanur, only a short walk to the beach. We have 7 lovely rooms, a kitchen you can use any time and a delightful swimming pool. You can sit on the patio and enjoy the magical evenings. Sanur is a peaceful and a safe place to spend your holidays. With its calm waters, Sanur beaches are perfect for swimming. It is also a centre for water sports such as windsurfing, diving or canoeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhouse Guest House Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhouse Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.