We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunhouse Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunhouse Guest House to your Saves list
Sunhouse Guest House
Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 94 Sanur B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Great little guesthouse with really friendly family running the place.

Rooms were really nice, clean, modern and had good facilities (dvd player, tv, aircon). They are quite small however unless you need lots of room this isn't really a problem. The pool is also quite small but the beach is very close so not really a problem.

Location wise it is at the quieter end of Sanur (which is already a quiet town) however it is only a 30minute walk to the main strip. We actually preferred the bars close by (Cat & Fiddle etc) which had live music, pool tables etc.

One thing to note - the address they gave us according to the taxi driver wasn't the right one. However it was still easy to find - about 30min taxi from the airport!

Would definately recommend if you want to visit Sanur - however Sanur is a very quiet place!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    43
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
65
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We were a little unsure what to expect when we booked the Sunhouse guesthouse as we had read mixed reviews and were not sure whether Sanur would be for us.
We arrived at Sunhouse to a family greeting complete with warm smiles. We were shown to our spotless room, decorated in traditional style with stunning four poster bed and wood carved doors. The amenities were good with TV, DVD player and complimentary bottled water.
A few of the reviews on here talk about the lack of maintenance of the common parts. It is true that the Sunhouse may not be the most polished place you will stay externally (although the rooms were among the best we have found in this price bracket) but this is a family run place and they are doing a fantastic job and continue to take all comments made by guests on board. The rooms are charming, the kitchen is lovely and well stocked, the pool is clean and they have taken note of all comments on this forum to keep it as leaf free as possible. The family cannot do enough to accommodate you. We mentioned in passing that we had a few mosquitoes in our room and the next morning the awning around our four poster bed had been changed to include a charming mosquito net. They were also very helpful in organising taxis around the place and to the airport at an ungodly hour of the morning.
I would highly recommend a stay here if you are looking for a clean, charming place to stay in the Sanur area. The guesthouse is set in the quieter south end of Sanur and is a 2 minute walk to the beach. There is a fantastic restaurant and spa also a 2 minute walk away. The Art Cafe (complete with pet fruit bat!).

Room Tip: We ended up staying in two of the standard rooms as we had to move half way through our stay. Both w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The guesthouse is located conveniently, but not in the heart of town. The owners are very nice, helpful people from Java, and the swimming pool is small, but nice. However, we probably won't visit again, because the guesthouse is located right between two very busy, noisy streets. At night, it feels as if you are sleeping in the street. The second disadvantage is the lack of privacy. Because most of the rooms are streetlevel, located around a tiny courtyard, there is always someone sitting just a few feet in front of your window. Nonetheless we had a nice stay, but would not return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

It was like staying with friends rather than being in a hotel. The owners were warm and friendly and the room I stayed in (Orchid) was pretty and comfortable. It's great value for money too. The location is in a quiet area of Sanur and just a few minutes from the beach and an excellent restaurant. I would stay here again, for sure! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bludenz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I just stayed for a week at Sunhouse, and liked it so much that I decided to stay a few more days after touring the rest of the island.
It is s a small family operated guesthouse, not fancy but very clean, with a nice swimming pool.
Breakfast is not included, but you get free coffee and tea, and access to their spotless kitchen.
All the staff were super nice and helpful and made me feel very welcome.
I would very much recommend this guesthouse - you might want to book in advance since it is often fully booked.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed 5 days here for our honeymoon,,This guesthouse meet our low budget,,hehe,,
But, we don't get low facility.. We stayed in sunflower room, which is the only room that separated upstairs from the others.. Of course, we need privacy for our honeymoon,, hihi,,
We arranged the pickup from airport to guesthouse.

(Plus) :
The room is spacious, comfortable bed, air conditioning, refrigerator, tv with dvd player, in room safety deposit box (we did't use it,,), ceiling fan, with private balcony, private bathroom with hot/cold water (no tub), new towel everyday, but no breakfast..

We cooked at their kitchen, small but enough for us too cook instant noodles, fried eggs, nuggets, fried prawn, etc,, just not to get bored for 5 days breakfast. The place is so near from Sanur beach, that not too crowded like Kuta beach, we had lunch here at Sanur beach.

The staff is friendly and responsive. We can have tea/coffee in the morning (self-service). We can also rent bicycle for walking around the beach.

You can wake up early in the morning, walk to the beach (about 5 minutes walk) and see the sunrise,,

(Minus):
The pool was not clean enough, no parking area for car, so if you rent a car, you park outside the guesthouse.

We will come back here someday when we go to Bali again,,:)

Room Tip: We select sunflower room, which is separated upstairs from the others, has spacious room and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhardono, Owner at Sunhouse Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear SorayaYuliana,

Thank you for your review about Sunhouse Guesthouse in TripAdvisor. We are very glad to hear that you and your husband had a memorable honeymoon stay with us.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with our pool cleanliness. To counteract this problem, we have fixed the pump that regulates the water flow as well as trimmed the surrounding bamboo tree to reduce the falling leaves into the pool.

We really look forward to welcoming you again in our guesthouse.

Warm regards,

Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Three of us stayed here in 2 rooms over 4 nights from a recommendation of a friend who stayed here 3 years ago. The Sunhouse is extremely clean, airy and conveniently located near Sanur town center and the beach. The owners are amazingly friendly and kind and the staff are great and responsive.

This is a great bargain for the location and the amenities. The beds are amazing and we were all surprised at how high quality and comfortable the sheets are (major plus!). The small pool is refreshing, super clean and relaxing and you have access to the kitchen for the refrigerator, water, coffee, etc.

Room Tip: Book in advance - this place fills up. Every one knows about it for its great value and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhouse Guest House

Address: Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sunhouse Guest House is located in Sanur, only a short walk to the beach. We have 7 lovely rooms, a kitchen you can use any time and a delightful swimming pool. You can sit on the patio and enjoy the magical evenings. Sanur is a peaceful and a safe place to spend your holidays. With its calm waters, Sanur beaches are perfect for swimming. It is also a centre for water sports such as windsurfing, diving or canoeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhouse Guest House Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunhouse Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.