We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardenia Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardenia Guesthouse
Save Saved
You added Gardenia Guesthouse to your Saves list
Jl. Merta Sari No 2, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 89 Sanur B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

we were only on Bali in transit to Kanawa for a dive holiday; spent 2 nights at the Gardenia at the start, and one night at the end. I loved this place & would happily spend more time there - would definitely not look around for an alternative if I return to Sanur. The rooms were clean and lovely, the staff extremely friendly & helpful, menu was substantial and the food excellent. Everything is extremely good value for money. Location is convenient & a great massage place is just next door.

It's not a 5* resort - if you're looking for pampered luxury then the Gardenia isn't for you. If you want a local place, comfortable, safe, good food options & a good price then I recommend the Gardenia Guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
13
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth/West Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A fantastic new find.. Gardenia is perfectly located.
It is in a relatively quiet area, and the positioning of the cafe/restaurant allows great ambience with colour & movement to view.
The rooms could easily be described as cottages, and are spacious, clean & comfortable. Love 'em!
Following numerous stays in Sth Sanur, I had noticed Gardenia before, but with its day-tripper clientle of Euro & Australian Wannabee Celeb, I thought that it was a lil pretentious. (You can tell who they are: they continually play with their phones and never say Please or Thank You )
I now know that they are just the sad fact of today's Bali.. Just ignore them. It'll drive 'em mad.
I digress....
Gardenia has a huge menu and the meals are brilliant. And BIG! Their coffee is The Best.
The Staff are magnificent & attentive & funny. Love 'em too!
This is my now-place to stay in Sanur... I'll stay twice yearly & know that I'll be very happy.
RedMerlot

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Not 5 star or glitzy but perfect for our needs. For a start everything worked and the staff were fabulous, helpful and always smiling. We had the 2 room suite and the linen was nice, bed was comfy and the floors were cool white stone. Bathroom is on the basic side with no toiletries provided so you do need to bring your own. Breakfast was great and food from the cafe can be ordered to your room. We had breakfast on our porch most days.Cafe had big menu with terrific food including the cakes that other reviewers all mention. There is a library area with lots of novels. Wifi worked mostly. Pool was clean and refreshing. Sun lounges were removed during our stay for repair but hopefully will reappear. I look forward immensely to returning to this little haven.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderingirl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Gardenia guesthouse is a lovely place to stay and I have been very happy with my time here. It has a pool and the beach is about a 5 minute walk away. Anything else you need is easily accessible by walking, bemo or taxi. Each guesthouse is basic and a little well worn but when you spend next to no time in there it doesn't matter, and it has everything you need. The beds are comfortable and the linen clean. Everything works and is well set out with fridge, tv, great air conditioning, safe, cupboards and shelves. The shower is basic but sufficient and the hot water is instant. Each guesthouse has it's own little verandah looking out over gardens and a pool which are both maintained well. There is a small shop behind the cafe that sells clothing and jewellery as well as other nicknacks. Breakfast is included and simple but acceptable. There is a large lunch and dinner menu with a mix of western and Asian dishes and all very well priced. The coffee is not great but there are not a lot of places in Bali that do excellent coffee if you're a coffee snob like me. Then there's desert; very very nice. Home made apple pie, lemon meringue pie, banana cake, carrot cake and chocolate cake. The staff are very helpful and friendly and work hard to make Gardenia Guesthouse a very nice place to stay. Would I come back? Absolutely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent 14 nights at this great little questhouse and enjoyed every minute. It really is a gem!The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in and the air conditioner never skipped a beat. Every morning started with great coffee served on our verandah, whilst we enjoyed the vista of the garden and a visit from the resident cat, Manis, whom we fell in love with. A special mention needs to go to the staff, who were fantastic. They were always happy, efficient and courteous. And finally the food....always fresh and beautifully cooked; and the chef(s) cook the best garlic prawns I have ever had!!
If you are looking for service, comfort, seclusion and a central location, then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had four nights here in a suite room, the room was spacious, clean, the bed was comfortable, the aircon worked well and the TV had good reception and it was nice and quite we could not ask for more for $ 60. AU per night.

Breakfast was nice and we had a good choice, we ate lunch and dinner in the resturant on several occasions as the chicken snitzel and lemon merangue pie were awesome.

A lovely little place that I would stay at again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Found this guesthouse while I was looking for coffee on the way to the beach. Great location near the beach and the town but away from any noise. The cafe has coffee, drinks and food in a cute black and white setting under a large tree holding lanterns. Once you are inside there is a courtyard with fruits and flowers, a pool and a little book lounge. The room is adequate-on the plus side there is nothing tacky about it. I would have felt better if there were not any gigantic throw pillows on the bed because I assume they are not washed. There is a beach just down the road with a nice yoga house that has drinks and a lounge area and information on (against) whale hunting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardenia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Guesthouse

Address: Jl. Merta Sari No 2, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Also Known As:
Gardenia Guesthouse Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardenia Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.