We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starling Villas Bali

Starling Villas Bali
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Starling Villas Bali to your Saves list
Starling Villas Bali
Gg.Jasmine Gg.Gardenia No.1 Jl.bumiayu, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 0001, Indonesia (Formerly KUEI Condominium)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Sanur
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a group of 12- booked the whole location. Villa's were clean and spacious. 5 min walk from main street and Hardy's supermarket (there was even a torch in each villa). 20 litre filtered water was handy- staff were lovely. Good airconditioning- very safe and secure location- pool and sunbed's nice- Kadek and Jessica are so easy to deal with. Omlettes were perfect. thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadek S, Owner at Starling Villas Bali, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Ms.O'Brien,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We were delighted that you and your party of 12 enjoyed their stay in our property. As life gets busier, the time you spend with kindred spirits and loved ones becomes more precious and we are increasingly aware that all our guests lead busy lives and we hope sincerely to make your holiday with us to be completely trouble free from reservations right through to the moment when we put you back on the plane after a hassle free vacation.

Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything more we could do to make your stay more comfortable and stress free in the future should you visit Bali once again, be it standards of service, amenities or any other aspect of our hospitality which we extend to you.

Hoping we may extend a warm welcome to you again soon!
Warmest regards,
Jessica and Kadek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Hi, we have been in this place 10 days and we enjoined everyday the quietness and the beautiful setting. The villas are spacious, and because they are only 6 of this it is not crowded at all. The place is guarded 24h and managed from very nice people. Even in our special case, my wife felt sick and we had to shorten our planned stain of 30 days. The owner Kadek and Jessica been very helpful by understand the special circumstances and gave as the refund for the payed days without problems back.
We enjoined this facilities very much and we can only recommend this place.

Armin and Christina

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadek S, Owner at Starling Villas Bali, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Armin,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your wife to our small B&B in Sanur. Thank you so much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Bali minus any health troubles! We never forget Bali is competitive and there is much else on offer in terms of accommodation.

We hope the European spring is forgiving and that you are not missing our Bali sunshine too much.

Kind regards,
Jessica and Kadek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The best stay ever. Our second time and definitely not the last. The owners Kadek and Jessica are very nice hosts.
I don't even feel like going out of the villa once I'm there. The place itself is so relaxing, the staff are so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice simple villa complex just back from Sanur. Being renovated at the moment (pool being refurbished) which we were told about when booking so no problem. Will be nice when finished. Comfortable rooms, with bedroom, separate living room and kitchen. Everyone's photos are pretty much what you get so nice.

Recommend for folks who want to spend some time in Sanur at a reasonable rate, close to facilities.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Let me start by saying these suites are beautifully clean, very comfortable beds, and great air con in the bedrooms. A very welcome touch is the 20litre filtered water on tap in the kitchen area.Another thoughtful touch is the torch supplied(in the wardrobe) to help light your way back from the main street after dark. The staff are very friendly and do their best to look after you- communication can be a problem sometimes with not very fluent english, however, any problems were quickly sorted out. Must commend Oka for his exceptional service and attention to detail.
There are some details that need attention in this villa. The breakfast is adequate but really quite boring after a week there. A 4 slice pop-up toaster would be a big step up on the present toaster/oven which takes 5 mins to toast 2 slices of bread! Particularly when there are 9 people staying who are not related in any way!
As mentioned earlier, the rooms are kept spotlessly clean and fresh. However, during our stay,the supply of towels was haphazard at best.The cooktops were a welcome addition to make a morning cuppa but only if they have switches to operate them!!( one of our party had a 2 burner stove but no knobs to turn it on, and the other 2 guests had 1 switch each!)
The pool is a very welcome oasis after a big trip to Hardy's supermarket!! Even though the area is small, I'm sure that more than 2 sunbeds could be accommodated- perhaps some sunchairs around the area?
All in all, our stay was enjoyable as we were a group who were really looking forward to our own very special reunion. The above comments can be rectified with very little effort from management and Starling Villas could then truly become an oasis in the pretty town of Sanur, as they advertise.
Best wishes

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadek S, Owner at Starling Villas Bali, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ms.Hooge,

Thank you for your frank and fair review. As you recommended, we have swiftly remedied the situation after your visit :
1) we could not source 4 slice toasters but have bought 2 toasters with 2 slices each and that hopefully will ease any peak logjam :)
2) we have also bought a large thermos flask so 3 litres of fresh coffee will already be on the table when guests arrive for breakfast. and a fresh pot can be percolating away.
3) we immediately sourced new cookers with 2 gas rings each for every suite so hopefully that has been dealt with. Safety first for all kind guests.
4) we are not quite sure what happened on the towel situation as we have ample supplies of monogrammed bath towels as well as separate pool monogrammed towels. We recently did have some guests who did not return our pool towels as they seemed to have taken them out of the resort so fresh ones are being ordered.

We do hope we may see you again when you visit Sanur!
Warmest regards,
Jessica and Kadek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had a marvelous 10 day stay at Starling Villas. The room itself is spotlessly clean, very large and comfortable, great bathroom, aircon and cooking facilities and pool. Staff very helpful and willing to do anything to make your stay more comfortable. Breakfast is simple but very adequate.. Located 5 minute walk behind Hardys, (a bit dark at night) but so close to all the action, loved seeing the back street life ....so peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadek S, Owner at Starling Villas Bali, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are delighted you found our B&B "wonderful". Having surveyed the local competition and what is on offer in the Sanur area, we remain confident that our property will not disappoint especially at these prices. It is our sincere wish to cultivate regular clientele for whom we are able to provide the highest standards of service and a safe, comfortable and convenient stay with easy access to all the activities the guests wish to indulge in.
Yours sincerely,
I Kadek Sudita
Onwer/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at Starling villas from 1st May till 25th May 2012. Stayed here last year when it was under other owners. Rooms are spacious and clean. Having only 6 rooms,3 on either side of a central courtyard and pool so reasonably private. Staff are friendly and very helpful and deal with any issues immediately. 5 minute walk to Hardy's and the main road. We enjoyed the walk everyday greeting the locals etc. If im to complain about anything it would be the lack of any seating outside of the rooms ...other than in the central courtyard. I love to read...but dont like being inside all the time...would be nice to have a couple of chairs and a little table or even a bean bag on the balcony area ...overall enjoyed our stay again...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadek S, Owner at Starling Villas Bali, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We apologise sincerely for this tardy response. We immediately took your advice and ordered bespoke garden furniture for all 6 suites. There are now 2 foldable chairs with a matching casual table in every suite which can be moved to the front or used in the rear patios as a guest wishes. In order to maintain the period style we have stained the furniture with a distressed white wood effect.
We hope that you will find time to visit us again and we look forward to showing you a warm welcome in Sanur.
Warmest regards,
I Kadek Sudita
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starling Villas Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Villas Bali

Address: Gg.Jasmine Gg.Gardenia No.1 Jl.bumiayu, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 0001, Indonesia (Formerly KUEI Condominium)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Starling Villas Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuei Condominium Hotel Sanur
Starling Villas Bali Sanur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starling Villas Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.