We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Smorgas

Cafe Smorgas
Jl Danau Tamblingan, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
0361-289361
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 276 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Its the only place in Bali for proper sandwices, homebaked cakes and coffee, salads, great breakfast, healthy juices and more.
Tromso, Norway
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Average but Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Been here long time and had a sandwich and juice .
The price wasnt too high, still reasonable (hope still like that till now) .
The staff quite nice to Indonesian .

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Smorgas, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting us, and I hope you will come back and that we still live up to a very good standrad. Welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    104
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I were staying close by the Cafe Smorgas, and whenever we passed there were always many customers seemingly enjoying their meals. We decided to try for ourselves, and were very impressed with the food and service. We had not eaten Swedish food before so we couldn't say whether it was genuine or not - all we can say is that we enjoyed what we had. Some reviewers didn't like Smorgas, but that is to be expected, you can't please all the people all the time. From the good experiences we had, my advice is give it a try and make your own mind up.
We didn't eat an evening meal here, but we had many lunches that were all delicious. Their baguettes are many and varied, and those that we had were very fresh, generously filled, and tasted great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Smorgas, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting us! We are grateful for your positive review, we do all our bread , bakery, and meal from sctrach here at the cafe! Not all items on the menu is Swedish, but the manegement is.Welcome back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, very clean, great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We regularly ate at Smorgas while in Sanur. We had the fruit salad with yoghurt and homemade granola, or the small/medium and large breakfasts. My friend really enjoyed the Sweet, sweet love fruit juice. The toast was very nice. We also really liked the lasagna for dinner. The swedish meatballs serve was a bit too small for me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Smorgas, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi and thank you for visiting us and leaving your positive feedback here. We make all bread and bakey our self, even the granola. Next time please ask for extra meatball if it is too small portion for you, no problem! Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Sanur when you consider quality, service, taste and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This has become our go-to breakfast spot. Free wifi, attentive staff and great food.
Skip the typically overpriced and underwhelming hotel breakfast and go to Cafe Smorgas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Smorgas, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting our cafe and that you enjoyed our breakfast. Welcome back anytime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brunch and Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Though the staff can be a bit on the not friendly side, the chef is doing a mighty fine job. A friend introduced me to the place and I fell in love with their fresh smoothies and nachos. Then I came back a few times, tried their salad and pasta and it was just as good coming in big portions (I'm an Asian female so my big portion would probably be suitable for any male:). Then I kept bringing friends over for a good brunch and/or lunch and can sit there for an hour or two.
The location and decor is just tempting. It's just there straight out in curve before Hardy's (if you're coming from Sindhu Beach) and you just wanna stop by and sit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan L, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Smorgas, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us and that you came back and brought your friends! We are very pleased to know that our cafe attracts small and big stomachs, next time please ask for bunkus/take away!! Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Smorgas also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Smorgas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Smorgas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.