We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed, fantastic value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Bretani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Bretani
Save Saved
You added Villa Bretani to your Saves list
Jalan Pasar 34, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 90 Sanur B&B and Inns
perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed, fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Have just returned from stay in villa was absolutely thrilled from the start to finish. Was picked up from the airport and was met at the villa by Lis and Ketut, they were delightful and looked after us thorough out our stay. Making us daily breakfast and cleaning the villa.
The villa more than met all our needs, was very impressed with the little touches like the drawer full of DVDs. The only criticism was the seating in the lounge which was uncomfortable although I recognize it is very limited with the size of the area
The pool was amazing warm but refreshing and a good size so could swim in it.
The villa is positioned about 5 mins from the Main Street we were happy for the walk to burn excess calories off
The accommodation was very reasonably priced and would definitely consider a return trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Thank you to Annie, Lis and Ketuk for looking after us so well.
We had great communication with Annie from start to finish, and nothing was too much trouble for Lis and Ketut, the staff at the Villa and everyone loved Lis, especially our grand-daughter .
There were 7 of us, so we needed a place to fit us all in, Villa Bretani met our needs.
The villa is located in the back streets of sanur. It is just a 10 min walk to the main street and beach.
They are Dark back streets, and quite a few Bali dogs around, it is mating season so made for some interesting walks to the main street. Us girls were not allowed to venture out on our own due to the dark allies to the main street .
They have a mobile phone on site for you to use. We Hired bikes for our morning beach rides. Unfortunately one Bedroom not attached to the main villa, was smaller, and had a very noisy aircon , so the fan was only used. Bedroom 2 which was lovely had a mozzie problem as there were holes in the decorative wall bricks. So you do need protection from the Mozzies in rooms & around the pool.
The Villa is a little dated, but It's good value for money in the low season.
Thank you so much Annie, Lis and Ketut for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Villa was beautiful but not enough seating in lounge for 3 families. Lis and ketut very helpful and great with the girls. Lovely restaurants and beach area. Only disappointment was the breakfast, cold, not enough and no variety

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to Annie, Donna, Lis and Ketuk for looking after us so well. We were very comfortable in a lovely balinese home. It felt like a home away from home, only a short walk from Sanur's main street. Everything was like clock work, every booking made on our behalf was spot on, so were the recommendations for food and massage. It's so good that we really want to keep it a hidden secret!!
We rarely stay at the same place teice, but we look forward to our next trip back to Villa Bretani.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had 8 days including Christmas at Villa Bretani and it was great. Enjoyed having daily dips in the pool which is just big enough for a splash. The villa is in a good location, only a short (and beautiful) walk to the main street where it was easy to flag down a taxi or a bemo. The quickest and most attractive way to walk was down the treed street that runs parallel to Jalan Pasar called Jalan Pungutan (from the villa turn left, first right then first left at the little shop). We found a shorter way to walk to the main street if we were going further south, passing Warung Lilla and arriving at the main street near the Uluwatu lace shop. The villa itself is pretty good, not pristine, but comfortable with two generous bedrooms each with a large attached bathroom and walk-in wardrobe and a third, separate smaller bedroom also with ensuite. Some of the sliding doors into the bedrooms and bathrooms were quite difficult to open and close, especially for the children.
Lis and Ketut cooked us great nasi goreng and mie goreng everyday. Lis was very helpful and kind and really added to the Villa Bretani experience. We liked the fact that the villa is amongst local houses and we found Sanur very easy, friendly and relaxed with some great restaurants (3 Monkeys, Kayu Manis, Lilla Warung, The Porch, Mona Lisa, Komilfo), good shopping (Hardys is our favourite) and some good spas (Glo and Cosmo Spa) - all within walking distance.
Other reviewers have commented on the villa being large. Two of the bedrooms are large but the living/dining area is relatively small, being quite narrow. The lounge room area wasn't comfortable for a family of 5 to watch a movie.
There are a few maintenance issues which could easily be fixed - some of the decking near the pool equipment shed was quite rotten. Also, when it rains (we visited in rainy season), a lot of water comes into the villa from the deck under the smaller glass door. This is OK if you know about it, but take care because the wet tiles are extremely slippery.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We just returned back to Perth tonight after 10 nights at villa bretani. We are a family of 6 and being a 3 bedroom villa there was plenty of space for us all. The service we had was first class. We had beautiful breakfasts cooked for us each morning by lis and ketut and they always kept the villa very clean. Nothing was too hard for them to make our stay enjoyable and our children loved them. The location is very good in a little quite area a couple of minutes walk to the main street of sanur. We had scooters and found it very convenient to get around. All in all was a very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A beautiful property close to shops and food but secluded enough to feel like an oasis. The property itself had everything we needed and the pool was always welcome. The breakfasts cooked every day for us by two wonderful ladies were a perfect way to start to the day. The kids loved the house and the pool and the kindness of Liz & Ketut. This was one of the most enjoyable and easiest family holidays I have been on. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Bretani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bretani

Address: Jalan Pasar 34, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury located in quaint Sindhu area in Sanur, Bali. Contemporary style with gorgeous garden and pool, air conditioned, king size beds, all bedrooms with en-suites. Wonderful, caring staff who are committed to making our guests stay in Villa Bretani a delightful experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Bretani Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Bretani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.