We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CharMing

CharMing
Jl Danau Tamblingan #97 | Semawang, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
62 361 288029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 245 Restaurants in Sanur
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Prices all included. Free pick up and drop off within Sanur area.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

After reading all the reviews we went there to have our last dinner in Bali. The place was almost empty with many Staff hovering around. We felt obliged to order something because they sent a car to bring us from our hotel. Well it didn't look like a place we wanted to spend our last night in Bali. We wanted to eat something local but despite the place being furnished in the Balinese style, it did not offer the local food. We ordered Ceasar's salad as they ran out of Caprese plus some beef salad. The ceasar's salad was awful: it had a Garlic sauce that tasted lumpy and no chicken in it. The other salad was more decent. After the starters we decided we didn't want to have the main meal there and went somewhere else. Too pricey for the quality they offer.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    155
    63
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic dinner at CharMing on our first night in Sanur and it was the perfect start to our holiday.

It's a really lovely dining room, with very attentive staff and a great menu.

We enjoyed the food very much, and can highly recommend the pasta in squid ink and the beef rendang. It was a bit pricey by Bali standards but nothing when compared to western prices - and for the quality of the experience it was well worth it.

After dinner, our waitress offered us complimentary limoncello which was a nice touch and then a free taxi ride back to our villa - very much appreciated. I think they even offer a free collection service too.

Very enjoyable and highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“You have to try the spring rolls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice ambiance and life music every. Staff was very accomodating.
I am not a great fan of spring rolls but after tasting a bite of my son's order I just had to come back another evening to order it myself. Very, very nice.
My husband tried the rendang and liked it very much. I had the sea food pasta, also very nice.
Had 2 lovely evenings overhere and It is certainly a place we will return to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“a fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

on our last visit to Bali we went back to CharMing and were not dissapointed. the food and service were exceptional and the 4 piece singing band were great. one of the best restaurants in Bali and will go again next time. pickup service is great will pay to make reservations when you want to go for a meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Try the rijsttafel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The rijsttafel is a selection of 10 Indonesian dishes including entree, main and dessert. This had a great selection with amazing flavors. It was good value at AU$18/pp and left us very full. The service is great and the decor is indeed very charming. We went on a weeknight and it was quiet with no band but it was still lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CharMing also viewed

 

Been to CharMing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CharMing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.