We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant dining experience all round.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charming

Charming
Jl Danau Tamblingan No.97 | Semawang, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
62 361 288029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 276 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Prices all included. Free pick up and drop off within Sanur area.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant dining experience all round.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely evening dining at CharMing with the duck being juicy, tasty and tender. The lamb shanks were excellent with the whole dish being beautiful. The wait staff were friendly and very obliging. Recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    173
    65
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very nice restaurant. This place has a very limited selection for vegetarians with one starter and one main however they're always happy to alter other dishes to my request. I went with three other meat-eaters and they say in terms of mostly French style cuisine, it's the best in Sanur.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powder1000
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I loved my Scallops and Ribeye”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I would say this is one of the best meals I have had whilst in Indonesia. The only 2 things that let me down were that my steak was not really Medium Rare, but rather on the Rare side. The other thing is the price, I feel that they are on the expensive side.

My husband however tried their Wagyu steak, although it was very soft, he felt the portion size was much too small for the price of 290000 and he was not overly impressed with the flavor either.

I see on other reviews that this seems to be the trend with this restaurant, some people are happy others are not. I wish they would become a bit more consistent with their food, as they have the ability to move to the No1 position on Trip Advisor

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Some had excellent meals, some had ordinary ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had a great meal here, my duck confit was superb. However my brother, who was dining with me, had the duck breast and it was terrible! My sister reported that the lobster was also very ordinary. Apparently the Indonesian feast was good, as you could try many different dishes and if you didn't like something it didn't matter as there was so much to try.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Food was OK . I had duck breast which was a long time in coming and turned up with French fries. When you are paying 240,000 IDR for a main I would expect more than french fries. Mashed potatoes would have been better but they had none. Vegetables were very basic and also very minimal. Staff were friendly but I think this is our least favourite dining experience in Sanur.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charming also viewed

 

Been to Charming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.