We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...but as Bali prices go, at the top end!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CharMing

CharMing
Jl Danau Tamblingan #97 | Semawang, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
62 361 288029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 228 Restaurants in Sanur
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Prices all included. Free pick up and drop off within Sanur area.
Singapore River, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food...but as Bali prices go, at the top end!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I went with my 11 and 13 year old girls. The food was excellent and could not be questioned. It was our 2nd best meal in Bali (Mozaic beach club won out). This is really an "adult" restaurant so if you are going with children, they'd want to be reasonably mature with regard to restaurant etiquette.

It wasn't the cheapest place in Bali, but the food was of international standard.

We had tuna carpaccio (a favourite), spring rolls, baby back ribs and tenderloin steak.

I will definitely be going back here again on my next trip to Bali!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    147
    63
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mgarr, Malta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with a large variety of foods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Reserve your table once you decide on this restaurant, and if are lodging in the vicinity they will offer you pick up and drop off from and to the hotel for free. Ones in the restaurant it feels different from the other Balenese restaurants as it is on 1 level opposed but ones you sit one the staff greets you will some welcome drinks. The food selection is great... We had the 10 plate selection, which was delicious. To make the atmosphere at its best, they have a in-house band which plays wonderful acoustics songs...and indeed i asked them to play Gipsy Kings and Bob Marley, which they performed greatly. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food & Winelist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Is a high end restaurant so prices are steep in comparison to most other nearby restaurants. But the price is also a reflection in the quality of food served. The wine list presented is also the most extensive I have seen in Sanur restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“fun and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Everything about this restaurant was great. I found it as I was walking by, and ended up having a great night. Being serenaded at the table by a great little band with fabulous voices and musical ability was good fun (sorry to the other diners - but we had to join in with them singing our requests as they worked the room ) . The pasta with squid, other assorted seafood, garlic, chilli and parsley was superb; I am told the foie gras with sorbet was fabulous, and everyone else seemed to love their meals. The staff were really friendly and helpful - and it all came together to be a really good night out. Oh, and the décor is beautiful!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waroona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are staying in Sanur, this restaurant is one you must go to.
Waiters are friendly and provide excellent table service. Situated in the southern end of Sanur and is one to remember . I would go back there again or recommend it to anyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CharMing also viewed

 

Been to CharMing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CharMing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.