We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a flavour punch from the rijstaffel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charming

Charming
Jl Danau Tamblingan No.97 | Semawang, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
62 361 288029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 256 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Prices all included. Free pick up and drop off within Sanur area.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Don't expect a flavour punch from the rijstaffel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had visited this restaurant earlier in June and was impressed by the ambiance and the service. Upon returning to Sanur, it was high on my list to revisit. Unfortunately the rijstaffel was just as bland as last time - a pity because it'd be a great opportunity to try a range of Balinese/Indonesian dishes. I think sticking to the Western dishes is best - what was coming out of the kitchen looked incredible in comparison :)

The ambiance and service, however, lived up to expectations. Both were faultless. A nice place to go for a nice meal if staying in Sanur.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    173
    65
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We went back again !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant. The food is amazing, the ambience, the quartet and the decor. We loved this place so much that we returned a couple of nights later.
The food is of high standard, you cannot fault the service.
Welcome drink, crudites and bread with dips complimentary and at the end of your meal, a complimentary spirit drink (strong but nice) Great value. When we return to Bali, this place will be first on our list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wow, We had a fantastic night at Charming. Food, Service and Entertainment was excellent, the restaurant has a great ambience, will definately be back

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Today (Xmas day) was the third time in the past few months I have been to CharMing. Busy tonight but fast service with free veggie sticks and bread and dip to kick off - we asked for and received extra helping. Xmas special menu was choice of turkey or seafood. I had the latter and my wife the former. Both excellent. Very nice setting. $50 for two including a couple of drinks - all taxes and charges included. A big thank you on leaving from a senior staff. Proper baby chairs - not the crappy plastic ones. A cut above the rest of the places I have eaten at here and I frequent as a local expat in terms of service, friendliness, staff skill, food quality and ambience. I rarely comment on this forum but was impressed by my dining experience tonight after equally good ones previously so felt it worthwhile.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Above average for Sanur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Traditional Javanese style structure, nice setting for dinner. The food is ok and for Indonesia the service is slightly better than average, you do stand a chance of attracting attention from staff. The owned is usually there are is very hands on and does a good job of keeping things running smoothly. Biggest down side is the toilets, horrendous smell of damp and mold, even if they are interestingly designed. Please sort out the toilets for a 5 * rating

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charming also viewed

 

Been to Charming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.