We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Resort Sanur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Resort Sanur to your Saves list
Mercure Resort Sanur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Mertasari | P.O. Box 3476, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80034, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Sanur
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive but value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed there 3 days and we love the hotel, staff and the food. Very Clean. Wifi everywhere. The only negative was the beach. Its not a good beach if you wanna swim. The pool was the dark marine color, and in my taste I didn't like it. Overall good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    581
    275
    93
    54
See reviews for
325
580
83
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My Husband, 8 year old son and I stayed here for 13 nights in August. The location is good if you like to be away from traffic noise but there are still plenty of restaurants and bars nearby at the beach and just outside the hotel. The grounds of the hotel are full of colourful tropical plants and are meticulously kept, with lots of birds and butterflies buzzing around.

Check-in took no longer than 5 minutes although we had prepaid for our stay. We had a spacious room (renovated) with comfortable beds (clean, white bedlinen) flat screen TV, safe, tea/coffee making, complementary water. The room had a brand new air conditioning unit which was the quietest we had ever experienced in a hotel. The bathroom was large with a wak-in shower, although there was black mould in some areas of the shower grout and the hardware on the toilet had rusted a bit. The room was swept daily although not mopped every day which we felt it should have been. Overall, the housekeeping could have been a bit more thorough.

There are two pool areas and both were very well cared for. Sunbeds were always available at the large pool where sunny and shady areas have sunbeds. The small pool only had about 10 beds but a number a table and chairs. The were always loungers available on the beach.

We ate at the restaurant one evening for the buffet which was a reasonable price although the spread wasn't particularly extensive. The drinks at the bar are overpriced for the standard of accommodation. The breakfast was vastly overpriced at US$ 18 (inclusive of tax) per person, and comprised of the usual pastries, eggs, fruit, juices and Asian fare. For breakfast we can recommend the Magnolia restaurant on the beach - just turn right, walk a couple of minutes along the path and it is set back by the temple.

We found the staff at the Mercure to be friendly and helpful. We wanted to change our room because of personal preference and this was arranged immediately without question. We also needed to visit a hospital as our son was bitten by a monkey in Ubud and the manager, Edi, gave us advice on the right hospital and rang them for us so I could explain the problem to an English speaking health professional. All the staff work hard here and we would give them 5*.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Mercure and it suited our needs. It is what it claims to be - a mid-priced hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location is good, rooms are average. The private beach was nice and it was peaceful to sit by it at night. Wifi speed is good and it was included in the hotel cost. There are lot of restaurants and Spas around the hotel you can walk to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Whoami345

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for telling us about your wonderful experience in our resort. We are delighted to know that your stay was flawless.

We are waiting to welcoming you again, and we hope that your next stay will be even more pleasant.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Mercure Sanur is in a lovely quiet location on the beach near some great restaurants and massage spas. We got a very special deal to stay there in August 2013 so the room was good value for us. The gardens are really lovely and the hotel is quiet.
We found that many of the staff were not friendly and the service was extremely poor. I was very concerned about using the WiFi there as the next time I logged into my account my messages had been read by someone else.
There are some wonderful restaurants near by and the walk way along the beach is really good as you are not hassled by traffic. We really enjoyed Sanur and found it cheaper than Kuta.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mr. G-K-M-D

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur Bali!

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay at our resort.

Your feedback in regards to the our service is highly appreciated, and rest assure that this comment certainly will contribute in improving our service quality in the future.

It is our hope that you will grant us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.


Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Mercure Sanur is an ok resort. It occupies a pretty substantial piece of waterfront land in Sanur. To get to it though, you need traverse a few back streets, and it is quite far from the shopping / restaurant street. There are however, some decent food options on the same street as Mercure being 'cafe gardenia' and 'mama putu', both provide decent food and value for money

The pools are reasonable for a resort that caliber, as are the other facilities.

The room service menu is quite good value, although the choices are limited.

What really lets this down is the condition of the rooms, they are in need of fairly substantial renovations. As a result, I think Mercure is ok but there are better accommodation propositions is Sanur

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mr. and Ms. Ruscom

Warm Greeting from Mercure Sanur,

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay at our resort.

Your feedback in regards to conditions of room is highly appreciated. Rest assure that we will take the appropriate to address this problem and improve our service in the future.

We sincerely hope that you are willing to return and grant us the opportunity to provide you with a better service.


Best Regards,

Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

At first glance the grounds and facilities look great and it appears to be a four or five star resort. Sadly it isn't ! The rooms are very tired and overdue for a refurbishment and a good clean. There is no excuse for dirty bathrooms ! There were some good points such as location and the food was nice but otherwise it leaved a lot to be desired.
There are many other hotels in the area that I would recommend before the Mercure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Matt J

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur Bali!

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay at our resort.

Your feedback in regards to the resort condition is highly appreciated, and rest assure that this comment certainly will contribute in improving our service quality in the future.

It is our hope that you will grant us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.


Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 8 days in early August and would never go back. First impressions were terrible, it took the front desk staff 40 minutes to check us in. The guy on the desk was obviously out of his,depth and had no idea what he was doing.
We finally got to our room and wanted to turn around and leave immediately. If we had not been in a party of 18 we'd have one somewhere else, the rooms are so tired, boring and bland but,the worst thing is; the dirt in the showers, they look as,though they have NEVER been scrubbed.
All six of the rooms we stayed in where the same, obviously management policy.
The grounds are lovely but only because they are well established; anything that needs maintenance such as the ?water gardens (if that's what it was supposed to be) at the back of the foyer look terrible.
We paid over $100 Aus per night and when we wanted to extend our stay by 2 days they had the nerve to charge us $120 per night for the same grotty room. Again, we should have left then :)
The staff, as always in Bali, were lovely - they are probably the only thing apart from the gardens that this dump has going for it.
My husband paid nearly $20 for a bourbon and coke at the beach bar. Outrageous considering we paid less than this for a drink at the 5 star Palazzo Versace in Queensland 2 weeks before and the bar staff here would be lucky to earn $100 per week.
Room service food was quite nice the first time I ordered it but inedible the second time I ordered the same thing, undercooked and the ham was rotten with a disgusting smell. Breakfast was ok, the usual overcooked noodles, rubbery fish dish, great omelettes, but at $20 Australian each, completely overpriced.
We are getting sick of going to Bali and paying prices that are inflated by Australian standards when the accommodation is less than Australian standards.
Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else in Sanur. Sanur is lovely, the Mercure is not.

Room Tip: Stay away from low numbered rooms ie 100-120 and 200-220 unless you want a long, hot trek to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureResortSanur, Manager at Mercure Resort Sanur, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Scoop8184

Warm Greetings from Mercure Resort Sanur

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience in our resort. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Your comments about the condition of the hotel has been brought to our attention for further review with our team. Rest assure that this will serves as a reference to improve our service quality.

It is our hope that you will grant us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mercure Resort Sanur Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Resort Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Sanur

Address: Jalan Mertasari | P.O. Box 3476, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80034, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Sanur 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali, a resort with contemporary Balinese design featuring 189 guest rooms in 41 Balinese cottages with traditional thatched rooftops. Each guest room has it’s own private balcony overlooking the tropical garden. Only 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport. Has a direct access to a white sand beach. A stone pathways will lead you around 5 hectares luscious tropical garden, with its fragrant trees, towering palm and coconut tress, and more than 100 species of flora.A perfect place to relax while experiencing the beauty of Bali’s unique culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Resort Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Sanur Hotel Sanur
Mercure Hotel Sanur
Accor Hotel Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Resort Sanur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.