We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic quiet location just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jati & Home Stay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jati & Home Stay to your Saves list
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Jl. Danau Tamblingan 168 - 170, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali Zip:80228 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 64 hotels in Sanur
Mallacoota, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic quiet location just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 weeks in june for the first time at Jati and found it just our style. The room has some age to it but was more than value for money.
Staff very obliging happy and breakfasts very nice. Its our 8th visit to bali and will be back in October for a few weeks and staying at Jati

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I originally had no idea where I was staying in Sanur and was driven around to a few resorts, initially put off by this one due to the rude remark from the owner of 'you won't find anywhere cheaper'. He was right, unfortunately I could not find anything cheaper that day so had to settle here. As I was now checking in, the owner was more friendly and had a room available for me with the potential of a cheaper room the next day. Room itself was pretty decent; good shower, bed etc with air con all looking fairly clean if a little dated compared to other places I've stayed at in this price range. Location was pretty decent, walking distance to most places in Sanur. Overall, it's probably a pretty average, good value place to stay in Sanur but just was not for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I've stayed with Willy and the guys twice over the last 8 months - for about 3 months overall. When I come back to Bali, I stay here. The place has a great little feel it to. Breakfast is included daily (simply fare, but good).

Staff are friendly and get to know your name. Willy is a great guy to chat to. Jati is my semi-permanent 'home' (I travel a great deal for work).

A few different options on rooms. I've had a bedroom with ensuite. Small, simple, but clean, tidy and with your own little patio area (its raised off the ground). Comes with a bar fridge and television. You can get wifi in the room, though in Bali the wifi is generally slow. Again, its basic, but it about $30 a night.

The 2 bedroom villa I've stayed in has a private courtyard with a little fish pond. In fact, there are a couple of them around the property. Larger residence obviously, with a kitchen cooker, bigger fridge, kitchen sink.

Bathroom in the villa is larger with a large showerhead and a bath. The single room has a bath too.

Rooms and the villas are A/C and the villa has a ceiling fan too.

The great thing, and it hard to overstate these kinds of things, especially when you travel a lot, is the service. The guys here are attentive and if you have any problem, it gets addressed immediately. There is a reason I've been back there and there is a reason I'll go back again.

In terms of location: Sanur is the older part of Bali - its quiet and more laid back than the areas of Kuta, and the more expensive Seminyak. Sanur's beaches are protected by reef, so you don't have the waves and rips you do in Kuta/ Semiyak, so its great for kids. It'll take you roughly 30mins in a cab to get to Kuta/Semiyak - though this depends on traffic. In the wee hours of the morning its quicker, but on a Friday evening its longer.

There is a 'boardwalk' of sorts along the beach-front with is nice, with a variety of hotel restaurants backing onto the beach and small food vendors. From Jati, it is literally across the road to the beach area.

There is a golf course about 10mins away - which is a great place - and has super-fast internet (a goldmine in Bali). On the same road, about a 5 min walk is the 'Hardys' supermarket, so you can stock up on all your groceries. The main road also has a plethora of cafes/ small bars - you're sure to find something you like.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carouge, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Excellent location, charming balinese bungalows, breakfast served on private balconies in a beautiful garden, very helpful staff... Excellent value for price.
.... but... in fact, there is not but, everything was great !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Always a nice place to stay, very Balinese style rooms, 2 with cooking facilities

4 fully furnished, , beautiful villas, with western kitchen, available short stay or stay long stay, up to one year or more

Staff very good, Western or Indonesian breakfast delivered to your room

Pool very clean, and no diving or jumping, so have breaky by the pool
4 minutes to the beach, so many nice restaurants all within walking distance

No traffic noise at night, and security at night, plus they have just extended the covered parking area

A good place to stay, book directly with the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed in Jati hotel and home stay Sanur for 5 days in March, 3 of them in superior rooms and 2 of them in villas (villa number 2 had an exclusive design and was very spacious). We booked it via info@hoteljatiandhomestay.com (since you cannot book it through internationl booking sites like booking.com and similar ones) and exchanged numerous messages with Willy (a very trustworthy person!). An unbelievable thing was that Willy confirmed our booking and didn't request any deposit.
The hotel is in a very good location. Around 5 minute stroll across the street to the sea, only a 5 minute walk to different eateries and a very good shopping mall (bought sooooooooo many presents home starting with ginger coffee and ending with Balinese style dresses!).
Th hotel itsef is small and very private which we really appreciated. It has a swimming pool which we used even in dark (the staff used to lit it for us).
The staff is very friendly. Every morning they brought breakfast to our villa. The lobby has WiFi. The rooms are large and air conditioned and have a separate space for a kitchenette.
Should we consider going back to Sanur, we will definitely address Willy and book this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Very nice place to stay, we chose it twice during our trip in Indonesia. Very helpful and friendly staff, nice location, garden and swimming pool, and good breakfast.
Sandra & Viktor

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jati & Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jati & Home Stay

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan 168 - 170, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali Zip:80228 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Jati & Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jati & Home Stay Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jati & Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.