We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, shame about the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peneeda View Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peneeda View Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl, Danau Tamblingan 89, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Sanur
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, shame about the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Peneeda View is a charming "boutique" hotel at the south end of the centre of Sanur. We had a spacious, nicely decorated family room set in lovely grounds. The staff was very welcoming and the breakfast was suffice.The kids swimming pool was ideal for our 4 year old.The constructions next door didn't bother us much noise wise, although it's kind of unsightly. However, we were not happy with the location of Peneeda View. It was just too isolated and quiet on the beach side of the hotel with private properties on either side and the Hyatt to the South. This means that if you want to go out for dinner at night, you always find yourself walking the same stretch of busy street towards the centre. It is too dark to walk along the beach and there are no restaurants or any activity for that matter towards the south on that main road for at least 700 meters. The beach was very unkempt and looked unappealing with a pipe coming out into the water. For these reasons we moved after 3 nights to a much less nice hotel (Shanti Vila) right in the hub of things. If only we could have picked up Peneeda View Hotel, it's lovely staff, the swimming pool etc and taken it with us...

Room Tip: The family rooms are very spacious and can accommodate quiet a large family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    161
    57
    19
    9
See reviews for
114
102
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was our first time staying at this hotel and we only stayed for three nights so here is a quick summary of the things that came to my attention.
IN ROOM:
We had two adults and two teens in a family room. Size wise, this gave us ample space to store our bags etc. As we were moving on after three nights we didn't unpack and the long bench type seat in each room was good for the suitcases to sit on.
The bathroom was very large and indeed most of the floor space in this area goes unused. There is a large bath in the main part and on one side a large shower stall and the other side has an enclosed toilet. The wet area also has a cupboard for storage and the room safe was here also.
In our shower, the door handles were broken and looked like they only needed a couple of screws to sort them out.
The aircons worked well but the one in the main room leaked down the wall.
The sheets were too small for the king bed and came untucked every night. That part was a bit gross as you ended up without a bottom sheet at some stage during the night. The fridge was one of those mid-sized ones and not a bar fridge which was very welcome to store cold drinks.
There are no tea/coffee facilities in the actual rooms but this is made available near to reception from about 7.00am if you feel the need.

OUTSIDE:
There was a small patio outside with table/chairs. If we had more time I'm sure we would have used this area more. We saw many families enjoying their own patio. This also had enough room for a towel rack for drying swimmers etc.
The gym equipment was in poor shape, mostly rusty and needed attention.
There were three pools - the largest being near reception, a small children's pool nearby and another smallish pool down the beach end of the hotel. We only used the pool near reception. This was kept clean and there were plenty of loungers for the amount of guests using it. One thing that seemed to me like a good idea is that they have a very long bench seat that can take about 10 or 12 cushions. Lots of families using this set up as you can just lay right next to each other and chat. It is a good space-saver around a pool area as I don't think you could have fitted the same amount of sun loungers in that same area leaving space between each chair.
When we were staying there was a lot of noise from the construction site next door. Thankfully our room was on the other side but it could be heard from the pool area. The massage huts are on the noisy side too, so not too sure how relaxing it would be.

STAFF:
We didn't eat at the resort so can't comment on the restaurant but those that we had interaction with were very obliging and helpful.

In summary, I'm not too sure I would stay here again, especially in view of the construction going on next to the hotel. We felt a bit uncomfortable in the pool knowing the construction workers had a clear view of us. That of course will change in time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Peneeda is a decent and clean hotel in a long line (several kms) of similar hotels along the walkway adjacent to the beach in Sanur. I went jogging every morning on the walkway, either up or down the coast. Convenient, great way to see the sights; I had to will myself not to respond to the endless vendors along the way. The hotel is located in a slightly quieter section of town between the main hub of activity to the north in Sanur and the secondary hub to the south. There are plenty of restaurants or stores (including huge supermarket) close to Peneeda, but you are likely to find yourself taking cabs (inexpensive) to the main centers of activity. There were a number of families with young children at Peneeda when we were there; the kids seemed to be having a good time in the pools. My family and friends spent a fair amount of time relaxing, chatting, and swimming in the ocean. Seemed like this hotel was fine for this purpose. My one complaint was a bit of misleading advertising: We paid extra for a "Sea Side Bungalow". When we got to Peneeda, we were put into a one-bedroom suite that was neither "Sea Side" nor a "Bungalow." The manager explained that this is what they call those rooms. It is possible that our room was nicer than the other rooms and worth the increase in price -- we have no way of knowing what all the other rooms looked like -- but we were disappointed not to be in a seaside bungalow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

peneeda view is old TRUE but this is the Bali we have grown to love,everything works,the staff are typical laid back no worries(sin can can).Location is perfect, pace is relaxed,Some would say it is outdated I would say it has traditional charm. I have stayed 5 star @ Nusa Dua & budget @ Kuta, Peneeda View Sanur is just right & we will be back

Room Tip: run of house rooms are a little close to construstion site
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After spending 3 weeks on different places at Bali, Sanur, and especially the Peneeda Beach hotel was a bit disappointing. The south coast is very touristic, and you get annoyed by people asking you all the time if you need a taxi or a boat trip. Our agent booked this hotel, and warned that heavy construction work was going on nearby, but that they monitor it day by day. However, we got the worst rooms of the whole property: near the busy road, just under the cranes used for construction work, and beside rooms they were renovating (with smell of paint all day). Rooms were a bit old fashioned, shower at first floor did not work very well (and was cold most of the time). Facilities are ok: free public internet (wifi), breakfast is fine, near the beach, close to main shops (Hardy`s supermarket), three swimming pools etc. Spa services were not as good as on other places at Bali. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Peneeda Beach hotel was really quite a disappointment for our last few days in Bali. To be fair the staff were very pleasant and helpful, but the whole hotel is old and outdated. On top of that all bed linen and towels looked worn, thin and some stained from years of use! What was really shocking was that there was NO mattress protectors on the rather old looking mattresses, and the sheets only barely covered the mattresses at all! It made me feel rather 'yuk' sleeping on the bed so we did ask for extra sheets to be provided in the absence of a mattress protector. I just hope we didn't catch any nasty bed bugs or scabies from our stay here. The shower was also pretty poor - not a good water pressure and not very clean with hair still in drainage area when we arrived. So all in all I certainly would not be recommending this place to any of my friends.

Room Tip: Don't recommend any if our room was anything to go by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at Peneeda four times with family and we like it very much, the Family Rooms are spacious and good falue, two of my daughters have stayed in the Lumbung's and enjoyed that also. We love the fact the their Restaurant is on the Beachfront, their breakfast is very tasty.The Staff are so nice and friendly and helpful, we enjoy staying here, Regards, Marion.

Room Tip: The Lumbung rooms are in a quieter garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peneeda View Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peneeda View Beach Hotel

Address: Jl, Danau Tamblingan 89, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Peneeda View Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AsiaRooms, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Peneeda View Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peneeda View Beach Hotel Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peneeda View Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.