We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent once again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayu Manis

Kayu Manis
Tandakan No.6 | Shindu, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 4907KV, Indonesia
62 361 289.410
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 216 restaurants in Sanur
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have been to Kayu Manis many times now and it never disappoints. We love the fusion of food styles eg- I had pumpkin soup with coconut milk, coriander and tomato salsa. Lovely. Drinks are a little slow in arriving. The food is all freshly made so you have to wait a little while but it is worth it. We took my 8 year old and she had salmon and loved it. It is best to book as the restaurant is very small and gets busy. Opens around 6 or 6.30 for dinner only.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    319
    78
    35
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, great staff, nice decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This is indeed, like many before me wrote, a great hidden gem. Went to eat there last night, and we were happily surprised by the decor and friendly staff. We where quite late (21.30), but happy faces all around. Had the tuna carpaccio and duck breast with jacob's creek Chardonnay and Shiraz/Cabernet Sauvignon. These dishes could hold there own in any fine dining restaurant. The very friendly chef comes to the table with every course served, to wish you a pleasant diner and to make sure it's all to satisfaction. Compared to European fine dining this was cheap (€40,-). If you want nasigoreng and statues all around, this is probably not the place for you. But if you want something special in Bali and great food, don't hesitate to go!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a hidden secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We tracked this place down after a hard days diving! turn right at jimmys bar and its about 100 meters down the road on the left, we didnt reserve we went on spec to speak it really is a hidden gem as you go in the kitchens are on the left all the chefs say hello and you are shown to your table over the menu a cocktail or G&T. This place is first class the menu is small but every thing we ate was fantastic & well presented the service was excellent the staff really friendly and professional we have eaten all over the world in fine dining place and this little gem is right up there with some of the best its the best kept secret in Sanur please take time to pay this place a visit you will not regret it, its not the cheapest place to eat but it is the very best

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“simply disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

After reading the rave reviews on tripadvisor we decided to eat here on our first evening in Bali. The restaurant is very westernised and lacks any Indonesian charm, it even has a small airconditioned separate area in the back. Although they have lots of staff service is slow! After having gone through every dish in detail the only vegetarian one was cannelloni, which was a bit of a shame! nice touch was the free little appetiser which unfortunately was fish after having just explained at length that one person in our party does not eat any meat or fish, but hey, by that point we couldn't get any more disappointed! otherwise quite expensive for what it is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Awesome and Well Presented Dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Kayu Manis is a great spot for a date, with friends or even alone. The menu is small, but varied enough that there's something for everyone.
The hits are:
Laksa
Oso Bucco
Roast Chicken...
Everything is good, now that I think of it... Especially the desserts!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Manis also viewed

 

Been to Kayu Manis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayu Manis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.