We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayu Manis

Kayu Manis
Jln. Tandakan 6 | Shindu, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 4907KV, Indonesia
62 361 289.410
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 256 Restaurants in Sanur
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent food, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Tourists from San Francisco, we were guests here of a local gentleman. Our host was born and raised in Bali, and Sanur is his hometown. Kayu Manis is his favorite restaurant in town. He has excellent taste!

My husband and I were impressed that the chef came around to diners and checked to be sure that everyone was happy. I let him make the recommendation for my meal, and I now I can't recall the name of the dish. It was a lovely filet of grilled white fish, beautifully presented. My husband ordered the Balinese chicken- with whole green beans and a side of rice garnished with toasted coconut. We both loved our meals. We enjoyed a traditional black sticky rice pudding with ice cream for dessert. It was perfection!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    108
    52
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant, newly renovated and extended. All the food is excellent and beautifully presented. The complimentary appetiser and freshly baked bread is a nice touch. Great Pumpkin & Lemongrass Soup. It's in a side street near the art market that runs through to the pass and well worth looking for. Prices are excellent for the quality of the food and the setting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best of the best in sanur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The best restaurant in sanur by far, the service and food is fantastic, they told us they were going to renovate in early 2012, so on the off chance the Reno was over by late feb early march, we tried to visit it, but very sad to find the Reno still in full swing, so had to wait for our next visit in October 2012, and once again very pleased to find it up and going again. NOT TO BE MISSED..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful setting.... Attentive service .. The duck was amazing. Everything was beautifully presented and delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely food, spoilt for choice! Shame there not open at lunchtimes. Well worth looking for, just off the beaten track.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Manis also viewed

 
Sanur, Denpasar
Sanur, Denpasar
 

Been to Kayu Manis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayu Manis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.