We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple quiet place with beach access” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kesumasari Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kesumasari Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Kesumasari Beach Cottages
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Jl Kesumasari No 6 | Semawang Beach, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 115 Sanur B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simple quiet place with beach access”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I'll be short and sweet.The place is basic with the bare necessities,no fancy extra staff that you don't need.We were given one of the new rooms to stay in,other than the lack of floor mats and the air conditioning took around 4 hours to cool the entire room,everything else was in order.Good if you just need a place to relax and save a few bucks as there are beach activities available if you walk about 500metres down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joharizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a fantastic little hotel only 50 metres from the beach. We stayed here for six days in April. Our room had no windows just shutters and was a bit cave like, apart from that the room was pretty standard for a budget room. Breakfast was served on your porch when you wanted it. I also had some spicy rice from a vendor who came to the hotel every morning. I wouldn't advice eating at the restaurant next door we had a very poor meal there. However there are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity to take your pick. The beach is a favourite with locals. Called in to the hotel in November to see how the building work was progressing and was immediately recognised and made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 1 night . I arrived in the low season. This hotel was undergoing renovation so the garden was torn up and a pool was to take its place. Of coarse there was noise during the day. Its to be expected with renovation. My chief complaint, was the filth!! The bathroom was disgusting and it looked like the toilet had not been cleaned for weeks. The breakfast in the morning was terrible!! By then I was competely grossed out and afraid of contamination. I escaped the next day!! Do not stay at this hotel if you want to remain healthy!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lori l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have just spent another two weeks at Kesumasari. There are some changes happening and major building works are progressing at the moment. Four new rooms are being added as i write; a small pool is also to be installed within the next 9 months. I watched the new buildings progress from my verandah. Work starts at 8am each morning and finishes at 5pm. It is not intrusive; indeed its quite interesting to watch. All work is supposed to be completed by march/april 2013.

To more domestic matters....there has been a lot of upgrading of the room furniture; fixtures;curtains;linen towels etc. The breakfast menu has also been altered slightly with guests now being offered continental or local breakfast options.

I recommend travellers who intend staying for longer periods to negotiate the price. If you dont ask for a discount you wont get one! Dont insult them by demanding discounts for a one night stay.

Its well located; well priced for a longer stay; I recommend as always.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudnikfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This guest house/cottage is few steps from the Sanur beach. Rooms are old, few are with new ACs.Rooms are fairly clean but small and reasonably priced.As mentioned in other reviews, there is a temple across the street, which might start loud services throughout night!! Nyoman, who works since long time and the other staffs here are always available to help and nothing seems to be too much trouble.Breakfast is served on your verandah and is included in the price. Its available when you feel inclined. The meal consist of bread with jam/butter & a fruit is simple but quite adequate.Although the staffs are friendly,the sitting area outside of room has no privacy at all. Lots of young locals sitting near the hotel entrance but doing mostly nothing is a bit shady.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DinRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

the staff were very nice - the location on the beach was great. however, if i return to sanur i'll probably head north a little bit. the rooms were fine, older, but very large. the AC could use some work - ours leaked condensation constantly (on to the beds). we booked a double room and ended up with a bed that was two larger-than-twins smacked together - with full bed frames and all. dont ask at the front desk to arrange transport for you - they'll get a hack - go up to the road and get a Blue Bird Taxi - these guys are the best and the only ones who are metered. other guys with meters in their car will cheat the rate. the front desk has a book cubby for folks who want some beach reading. a major downside for us was the temple across the street. it started out charming, but several nights while we were there the temple had very loud services going on all night. the staff would say it'd end at 11pm, but we were awoken in the 2-3am range multiple nights by loud goings-on. and we were in the room furthest from the temple...also, stay out of the greenspace behind the temple. there's cockfighting, the sound can also be unpleasant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This "hotel/homestay/cottages" is 30 steps from the Sanur beach in a less developed spot. The beach is fairly clean with only the occasional trash floating in the water. It is the water is calm and clear, a great spot for children just 100 meters down the path along the beach. There is even a couple of public covered areas to the left as you walk towards the Hyatt. The Hyatt beach area is about 3/4 of a mile down the path and is kept very clean. There is a barrier reef about a mile or two from shore keeping out trash and waves except in extreme weather. There is also a decent resto right on the corner beach front called the "Stiff Chiili" that has great pizza and assorted other items.

The hotel rooms are very basic, fairly clean, and reasonably priced, but the location is the best thing about this hotel. All of the other hotels along this stretch of sand are 100 ++. There are 2 or three other nicer hotels along the same road the farthest is maybe 1/4 mile from the beach front. They all have pools, with the Kesumasari does not. Next time we will stay at another hotel on this same road which range from the same price to about $20 bucks more.

Room Tip: All the same here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolinbandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palm Garden
Hotel Palm Garden
#36 of 71 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
#48 of 71 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Cinta @ Sanur Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Segara Agung Hotel
Segara Agung Hotel
#22 of 71 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Puri Ayu
Villa Puri Ayu
#38 of 71 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sativa Sanur Cottages
Sativa Sanur Cottages
#44 of 71 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kesumasari Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kesumasari Beach Cottages

Address: Jl Kesumasari No 6 | Semawang Beach, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Kesumasari Beach Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Kesumasari Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kesumasari Beach Cottages Hotel Sanur
Kesumasari Beach Cottages Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing