We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple quiet place with beach access” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kesumasari Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kesumasari Beach Cottages
Save
You added Kesumasari Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Jl Kesumasari No 6 | Semawang Beach, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 94 Sanur B&B and Inns
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple quiet place with beach access”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I'll be short and sweet.The place is basic with the bare necessities,no fancy extra staff that you don't need.We were given one of the new rooms to stay in,other than the lack of floor mats and the air conditioning took around 4 hours to cool the entire room,everything else was in order.Good if you just need a place to relax and save a few bucks as there are beach activities available if you walk about 500metres down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
12
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a fantastic little hotel only 50 metres from the beach. We stayed here for six days in April. Our room had no windows just shutters and was a bit cave like, apart from that the room was pretty standard for a budget room. Breakfast was served on your porch when you wanted it. I also had some spicy rice from a vendor who came to the hotel every morning. I wouldn't advice eating at the restaurant next door we had a very poor meal there. However there are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity to take your pick. The beach is a favourite with locals. Called in to the hotel in November to see how the building work was progressing and was immediately recognised and made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 1 night . I arrived in the low season. This hotel was undergoing renovation so the garden was torn up and a pool was to take its place. Of coarse there was noise during the day. Its to be expected with renovation. My chief complaint, was the filth!! The bathroom was disgusting and it looked like the toilet had not been cleaned for weeks. The breakfast in the morning was terrible!! By then I was competely grossed out and afraid of contamination. I escaped the next day!! Do not stay at this hotel if you want to remain healthy!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falcon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have just spent another two weeks at Kesumasari. There are some changes happening and major building works are progressing at the moment. Four new rooms are being added as i write; a small pool is also to be installed within the next 9 months. I watched the new buildings progress from my verandah. Work starts at 8am each morning and finishes at 5pm. It is not intrusive; indeed its quite interesting to watch. All work is supposed to be completed by march/april 2013.

To more domestic matters....there has been a lot of upgrading of the room furniture; fixtures;curtains;linen towels etc. The breakfast menu has also been altered slightly with guests now being offered continental or local breakfast options.

I recommend travellers who intend staying for longer periods to negotiate the price. If you dont ask for a discount you wont get one! Dont insult them by demanding discounts for a one night stay.

Its well located; well priced for a longer stay; I recommend as always.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This guest house/cottage is few steps from the Sanur beach. Rooms are old, few are with new ACs.Rooms are fairly clean but small and reasonably priced.As mentioned in other reviews, there is a temple across the street, which might start loud services throughout night!! Nyoman, who works since long time and the other staffs here are always available to help and nothing seems to be too much trouble.Breakfast is served on your verandah and is included in the price. Its available when you feel inclined. The meal consist of bread with jam/butter & a fruit is simple but quite adequate.Although the staffs are friendly,the sitting area outside of room has no privacy at all. Lots of young locals sitting near the hotel entrance but doing mostly nothing is a bit shady.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

the staff were very nice - the location on the beach was great. however, if i return to sanur i'll probably head north a little bit. the rooms were fine, older, but very large. the AC could use some work - ours leaked condensation constantly (on to the beds). we booked a double room and ended up with a bed that was two larger-than-twins smacked together - with full bed frames and all. dont ask at the front desk to arrange transport for you - they'll get a hack - go up to the road and get a Blue Bird Taxi - these guys are the best and the only ones who are metered. other guys with meters in their car will cheat the rate. the front desk has a book cubby for folks who want some beach reading. a major downside for us was the temple across the street. it started out charming, but several nights while we were there the temple had very loud services going on all night. the staff would say it'd end at 11pm, but we were awoken in the 2-3am range multiple nights by loud goings-on. and we were in the room furthest from the temple...also, stay out of the greenspace behind the temple. there's cockfighting, the sound can also be unpleasant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This "hotel/homestay/cottages" is 30 steps from the Sanur beach in a less developed spot. The beach is fairly clean with only the occasional trash floating in the water. It is the water is calm and clear, a great spot for children just 100 meters down the path along the beach. There is even a couple of public covered areas to the left as you walk towards the Hyatt. The Hyatt beach area is about 3/4 of a mile down the path and is kept very clean. There is a barrier reef about a mile or two from shore keeping out trash and waves except in extreme weather. There is also a decent resto right on the corner beach front called the "Stiff Chiili" that has great pizza and assorted other items.

The hotel rooms are very basic, fairly clean, and reasonably priced, but the location is the best thing about this hotel. All of the other hotels along this stretch of sand are 100 ++. There are 2 or three other nicer hotels along the same road the farthest is maybe 1/4 mile from the beach front. They all have pools, with the Kesumasari does not. Next time we will stay at another hotel on this same road which range from the same price to about $20 bucks more.

Room Tip: All the same here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kesumasari Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kesumasari Beach Cottages

Address: Jl Kesumasari No 6 | Semawang Beach, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kesumasari Beach Cottages Hotel Sanur
Kesumasari Beach Cottages Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kesumasari Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.