We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good value - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kesumasari Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kesumasari Beach Cottages
Save
You added Kesumasari Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Jl Kesumasari No 6 | Semawang Beach, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 94 Sanur B&B and Inns
Darwin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always good value - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel before and it was great to come back and be remembered by the staff. I find this hotel great value for the room rate. For $30 AUD per night in high season, you can't expect 5 stars but you getr a decent airconditioned room, hot showers, friendly accommodating staff, room cleaned every day and you are about 20 metres from the beach and a short stroll to restaurants and market stalls. Compared to some o the other places I have stayed recently in Sanur, this place is a gem. It is also nice to know the owners are Balinese so the profits are staying in the local economy. Iif you come to Bali to hang out in a hotel and only venture a few metres away, then this is not your place but if you want to experience the old style bali, do a bit of touring and not feel like you have to get every bit of value from your accommodation, give this this venue a try. I think it is fabulous

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
12
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambodia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We ended up staying here to get away from Kuta as Sanur seemed nicer during a day visit. We followed the LP recommendation since this place was near the beach. While not the worst place I've stayed, it is in dire need of refurbishing. The rooms smelled dank, the toilets were stinky and there was no fresh water! Only salty water for a shower. The staff were ok, but like another poster wrote, many of them just hung out, staring.

This place might have been nice 20 years ago, but they clearly haven't been putting any effort into it since then.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falcon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Ive been back again (my 11th stay at Kesumasari) Booked my room as a base; kept it for three weeks even though i did visit other islands and areas of Bali. As i always finish up at Sanur; this is my home away from home> A day or two at Padang bai and Ubud; a couple of nights on Lombok, travelling light and keeping all my extras at Sanur.Great spot; very relaxing;nice breezes;good value for money; great staff( very laid back ); a quick warung lunch on the beach for $1; bloody bliss!!

Ive been a regular traveller to indonesia since 1970. Stayed at Sanur most times. Tried Kuta;Tuban,Legian etc etc Give me Sanur any day, give me Kesumasari any time. As i have mentioned previously, if you like overpriced tourist joints, truck loads of beached whales on lounges, expensive drinks and loud mouth disrespectul yobs; DONT STAY HERE

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falcon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

I felt i needed to write a few words about this nicely located gem. Firstly; it is quite cheap and very negotiable if you are staying any length of time (50% discount for long stays). The staff are friendly, helpful and always available. The manager (nyoman) has been working here for 20 years plus. Breakfast is served on your verandah and is included in the price. Its available when you feel inclined. The meal is simple but quite adequate. The villa is located about 20 metres from a local beach; with real local people and food stalls at local prices. Its not up market but its a wonderful vista. Rooms are simple but quite adequate (what do you want for $15-$25 per night.) I will return in may 2010 for my tenth stay at this little gem. (3 weeks). If you want 5 star facilities; over priced food;costly grog; huge pools;.......dont stay here. If you like a peaceful stay; low prices; helpful staff;great location;cheap laundry.... try this place!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

While it's not the worst place in the world, it's not the best and is overpriced for what it is. While it's located steps from the beach, it's not ON the beach, you have to exit the compound and go out to what is not a particularly great stretch of beach. Rooms were pretty dumpy, small TV, A/C works fine, hot water. Nice sitting area outside of room but no privacy at all so if you like old Dutch people you'll be fine. Also seems to be afflicted with the disease of lots of young locals sitting around doing mostly nothing but looking a bit shady. Staff are all very friendly though. There is not much in the direct area of the hotel, but a short walk away are bars, restaurants, shops, etc though you are out of the main center of Sanur. I checked out after one night and found a place down the road that was much nicer room, had a pool and wasn't much farther from the beach for $10 less. If this place was the same price it would be worth consideration, however it's not so my advice is to keep looking.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kesumasari Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kesumasari Beach Cottages

Address: Jl Kesumasari No 6 | Semawang Beach, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kesumasari Beach Cottages Hotel Sanur
Kesumasari Beach Cottages Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kesumasari Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.