We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place for family stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Segara Agung Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Segara Agung Hotel to your Saves list
Segara Agung Hotel
Jl. Duyung No. 43 | Semawang, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Sanur
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute place for family stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Little hotel, very appropriate for families with small children. Small, enclosed garden, friendly staff and it's tucked away off the main road, and even off the side road.
The newer rooms are nicest. The restaurant looks pretty new.

Room Tip: Check the newer rooms ( away from the pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    69
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
52
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a good mid range hotel located in a quiet garden setting in Sanur. Denpasar is about 30 minutes away by car, so I don't know Denpasar crept into the address line.
This is a family owned well established and plesantly run small hotel. To date there are 22 hotel rooms in the grounds some first floor, with the bulk at ground level. The hotel gardens are comfortable and the hotel is popular with singles, couples and families. Rooms are well equipped, with a full TV coverages, free wifi , A/C, and mini bar. The good size pool and sun lounges are a popular spot day and nightime.Breakfast should satisfy most travellers and is served in the cute garden gazebo, by very obliging staff. There are no communication problems. Evening meals are available in the dining area, and are average tourist presentations, perhaps just a little boring, which is no problem considering the number of nearby restaurants and Warungs. Be aware that any food or drink purchases attract a 21% combined tax, but up the road the closest Tourist type restaurant has no additional tax, plus better range of food.The rooms have no tea or coffee facilities which should be addressed.
This combined service tax ranges from nil, to 5, 10,15, and 21%in various restaurants in the area. With some restaurants charging no tax and others the full 21%, you work out which is better?

Room Tip: Some of the older garden rooms are more authentic and have no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My family and I spent 4 nights at Segara Agung in January.
We felt right at home here, the staff were lovely, the hotel was clean and well kept.
It was very relaxing, even though the hotel was full, it felt like we were the only people there.
The restaurant served good food, breakfast was tasty and it was close to the beach but
also a pleasant 15 minute beachwalk to the markets.
When we returned home, we decided that we will be going back in July. We have already booked. I think that says it all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

we where only here in march .this time we brought some friends to experience segara agung.we had a wonderful stay .everything was great only wise they could put a bit more shade around pool and when the new rooms are finished it will even be better.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyalong, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had only 4 days to visit Bali this time. We decided to come to Sanur,which 30 years ago was the"in" place. For all previous visits we stayed at large International Hotels. This time we decided to try a small establishment. We have been delighted. The bedroom is huge, has TV (bit aged),great air con,comfortable huge bed,separate wardrobe area with vanity unit outside a massive bathroom with raised bath tub and shower over top. The downside for some will be the windows, which are ornately carver shutters. You need to open them to see outside. We find them beautiful. Carved stonework on the outside, with massive verandah,hanging wrought iron and milk glass lampshades and recess and carved ceiling.
Helpful,friendly staff,lovely pool area,immaculate gardens,close proximity to beach and eating places and the cost was minimal. The only thing lacking is the menu, which should be in my opinion Balinese. They are trying hard to please international tourists by having a European menu that frankly is not working. Still,room service is available and we paid next to nothing for a seafood noodle. Breakfast is better than I would eat at home but my husband did smile when his omelette barely covered a bread and butter plate. Fruit, juice,coffee,toast and eggs. All included in such a minimal tariff.
Hotel arranged airport pick up. Not a hitch and cost about $10 AUS. Great money changer on corner next to supermarket. Rates were fantastic and no commission. No ATMs close by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Likes: location, well kept garden, service, value for money, basic but adequate breakfast for the price you pay,
Dislikes: musty smell in the bathroom, stained sheets & towels
Will I return: Yes, for the overall value if you can overlook the toilet smell.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have lots of friends who have stayed here over the years and this was the first time for us as a family. We stayed for two weeks and had a great time. Sure there's little problems here and there. But it pales into insignificance really,the Balinese hospitality and the way they looked after us and our boys was awesome. Breaky was great for the price paid. We'll be back :()

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Segara Agung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Agung Hotel

Address: Jl. Duyung No. 43 | Semawang, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Segara Agung Hotel is a Balinese Style Designer Hotel surrounded by a flowerful garden, with an intimate and friendly staff who is always ready to serve your everyday needs and conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Segara Agung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Agung Hotel Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segara Agung Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.