We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Segara Agung Hotel, Sanur. ( Not Denpasar)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Segara Agung Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Segara Agung Hotel to your Saves list
Segara Agung Hotel
Jl. Duyung No. 43 | Semawang, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Segara Agung Hotel, Sanur. ( Not Denpasar)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a good mid range hotel located in a quiet garden setting in Sanur. Denpasar is about 30 minutes away by car, so I don't know Denpasar crept into the address line.
This is a family owned well established and plesantly run small hotel. To date there are 22 hotel rooms in the grounds some first floor, with the bulk at ground level. The hotel gardens are comfortable and the hotel is popular with singles, couples and families. Rooms are well equipped, with a full TV coverages, free wifi , A/C, and mini bar. The good size pool and sun lounges are a popular spot day and nightime.Breakfast should satisfy most travellers and is served in the cute garden gazebo, by very obliging staff. There are no communication problems. Evening meals are available in the dining area, and are average tourist presentations, perhaps just a little boring, which is no problem considering the number of nearby restaurants and Warungs. Be aware that any food or drink purchases attract a 21% combined tax, but up the road the closest Tourist type restaurant has no additional tax, plus better range of food.The rooms have no tea or coffee facilities which should be addressed.
This combined service tax ranges from nil, to 5, 10,15, and 21%in various restaurants in the area. With some restaurants charging no tax and others the full 21%, you work out which is better?

Room Tip: Some of the older garden rooms are more authentic and have no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunner do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
QLD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My family and I spent 4 nights at Segara Agung in January.
We felt right at home here, the staff were lovely, the hotel was clean and well kept.
It was very relaxing, even though the hotel was full, it felt like we were the only people there.
The restaurant served good food, breakfast was tasty and it was close to the beach but
also a pleasant 15 minute beachwalk to the markets.
When we returned home, we decided that we will be going back in July. We have already booked. I think that says it all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandycheeksQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

we where only here in march .this time we brought some friends to experience segara agung.we had a wonderful stay .everything was great only wise they could put a bit more shade around pool and when the new rooms are finished it will even be better.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitbatperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyalong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had only 4 days to visit Bali this time. We decided to come to Sanur,which 30 years ago was the"in" place. For all previous visits we stayed at large International Hotels. This time we decided to try a small establishment. We have been delighted. The bedroom is huge, has TV (bit aged),great air con,comfortable huge bed,separate wardrobe area with vanity unit outside a massive bathroom with raised bath tub and shower over top. The downside for some will be the windows, which are ornately carver shutters. You need to open them to see outside. We find them beautiful. Carved stonework on the outside, with massive verandah,hanging wrought iron and milk glass lampshades and recess and carved ceiling.
Helpful,friendly staff,lovely pool area,immaculate gardens,close proximity to beach and eating places and the cost was minimal. The only thing lacking is the menu, which should be in my opinion Balinese. They are trying hard to please international tourists by having a European menu that frankly is not working. Still,room service is available and we paid next to nothing for a seafood noodle. Breakfast is better than I would eat at home but my husband did smile when his omelette barely covered a bread and butter plate. Fruit, juice,coffee,toast and eggs. All included in such a minimal tariff.
Hotel arranged airport pick up. Not a hitch and cost about $10 AUS. Great money changer on corner next to supermarket. Rates were fantastic and no commission. No ATMs close by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margtierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Likes: location, well kept garden, service, value for money, basic but adequate breakfast for the price you pay,
Dislikes: musty smell in the bathroom, stained sheets & towels
Will I return: Yes, for the overall value if you can overlook the toilet smell.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We have lots of friends who have stayed here over the years and this was the first time for us as a family. We stayed for two weeks and had a great time. Sure there's little problems here and there. But it pales into insignificance really,the Balinese hospitality and the way they looked after us and our boys was awesome. Breaky was great for the price paid. We'll be back :()

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank atun1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent two nights here owing to the great location. The rooms are disappointing. The only window and source of ventilation is the glass sliding door which opens onto a courtyard. Consequently the privacy is not great and one is practically forced to use the air conditioner at night, even if one would rather not. The towels were dirty when I arrived in the room and the room had a very bad smell which was soon 'dealt with' by being replaced by the very strong smelling drain cleaning balls left in the drain. This was a deluxe room! The breakfast offered is an American breakfast only which really does pale into insignificance when compared to Balinese food!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJSJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#25 of 71 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#16 of 71 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puri Mesari
Puri Mesari
#15 of 71 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#9 of 71 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 71 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Segara Agung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segara Agung Hotel

Address: Jl. Duyung No. 43 | Semawang, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Sanur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Segara Agung Hotel is a Balinese Style Designer Hotel surrounded by a flowerful garden, with an intimate and friendly staff who is always ready to serve your everyday needs and conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Segara Agung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segara Agung Hotel Sanur, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing