We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My hometown favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Massimo

Ristorante Massimo
Jl. Danau Tamblingan 228, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 288942
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 256 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Italian cuisine with specialties of Salento (south-east coast of Italy). Pizza with natural levitation and fire wood oven. Homemade Gelato. Daily production of Mozzarella, Burrata, Ricotta and Mascarpone cheese. Homemade pasta: fettuccine, tortellini with beef filling, agnolotti with ham and mushrooms, ravioli with ricotta and spinach. Oven baked bread.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“My hometown favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my reasons why i love sanur, i love to live here in sanur. They have this authentic italian cuisinie and best gelato ice cream in town.. And they are very creative and keep develop new taste. And the price is good. I love that ali baba flavor.. Its really good after biking trough danau tamblingan and sanur beach stop here. My father always stop here before and after he goes to airport.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Ristorante Massimo, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Krishna many thanks for your review ...look for to meet you again soon
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    341
    110
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An authentic Italian food experience in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Having spent sometime in Italy and having been mentored and introduced to Italian cooking by no less than my Italian friend's mom, I tend to be very keen with eating Italian food elsewhere for two reasons: first, there are a lot of Italian restaurants which don't really understand Italian cooking (like putting cheese on seafood pasta), or to prevent disappointment, I'd just rather cook it myself. However, Massimo has changed all these. Now, I can just go to Massimo restaurant and eat real Italian food. The owner checks with the customers how the food is, the staff are friendly, service is good, they're generous with antipasti, and the best part, they deliver! Now, I can say, we're one of this restaurant's loyal customers :) So if you have some Italian food craving while in Bali, this place is a must-visit for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Ristorante Massimo, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sheryl,
many thanks for dining at my restaurant and for your latest review.
Look for to meet again soon.
Yours,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I generally prefer to stick with the local cuisine of the country I'm visiting but this restaurant is not to be missed if you're in Sanur! Amazing food, prompt service and pretty effective cocktails :-)

A pet hate of mine with Bali is people smoking in restaurants. It's as if smokers rediscover the novelty and really go to town with the ability to smoke at their tables. Massimo allows smokers (sadly) but is the only restaurant in Sanur that at least asks your preference of a smoking or non-smoking table.

Massimo himself takes time out to greet his customers and stop by the tables for a quick chat - a nice welcoming touch!

The pizzas are great, pasta dishes are amazing and the deserts, well... having the best creme caramel and creme brule in Bali, I thought it would be rude to choose between them and ordered both!

A must visit while you're in Sanur - I'd bet that you'd head back for another meal before your holiday's over!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Ristorante Massimo, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you. Look for to meet you back soon.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, best Italian we have ever had - this coming from a Sicilian! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Attentive staff who you understand you and know the menu - (obviously very well trained) nice welcome snack, beautiful wine list, beef carpaccio entree supberb! I had crab linguini for main, perfectly cooked and the flavour was amazing! Hubby had seafood and loved it, we also had a pizza to share and that was beautifully would fired also. Im extremely fussy when it comes to pasta and you guys nailed it! Very very impressed, well done chefs!! :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Ristorante Massimo, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for your good review. Look for to meet you back soon and serve another nice experience at Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great pizza and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We loved this place. Very popular, a lot of people make reservations however we were lucky to get a table straight away (when we left we noticed people sitting at the bar waiting for tables). We shared garlic bread and pizza. The garlic bread wasn't the best however the pizza was great. The service was very slick and the atmosphere was good. Nice gelato also.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoConsiglia, Proprietario at Ristorante Massimo, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Always happy to deliver a nice experience.
Thanks for your review.
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Massimo also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Massimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.