We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please avoid this cafe......” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Batu Jimbar

Cafe Batu Jimbar
Jalan Danau Timblangan 75 A, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
+62 361 287374
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 276 Restaurants in Sanur
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Please avoid this cafe......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had lunch with my wife in this place. We went to this café because it has a lovely atmosphere. But it ruined by the quality of service. The waitresses were very ignorant to us and treat differently. They only polite and helpful to foreigners. To complete our disappointment, the price of the food is to pricy compare to its taste and portions. Absolutely ridiculous.

In summary, kindly find another restaurant or café to eat / drink. There are a lot of place which more proper.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    178
    74
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great chai and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My daughter and I loved this cafe in Sanur - our favourite. The chai tea is specially blended - this takes 20 minutes which they remind you of as well, as it being on the menu, and the cakes and chocolate brownie were excellent. Great coffee with the added bonus for us of excellent wifi and therefore phone connections to Australia. We would definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Want to love it, but service ruins it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This could be a great place - perhaps it was at one time.
The food is good, although overpriced. And I like the decor. But I can honestly say
that I will not eat there again after many, many visits over 4 years of living in Bali.
The service is absolutely painful. Grumpy servers who really act like they don't give a darn
and the timing of how they bring your food and drinks is terrible.
What's their problem?? You could be the only one in there and still get terrible service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Over rated cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Good selection of very nice fresh juices but expensive!
Food was good, meagre portions and pricey!
The nice thing mis that you can choose to sit inside or outside under the trees... bit noisy there though!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Slow service and average food, there are so many restaurants out there now. The menu hasn't changed in 6 years!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Batu Jimbar also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Batu Jimbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Batu Jimbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.