We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service for a high price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mahapala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Mahapala to your Saves list
Villa Mahapala
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jl. Pantai Sindhu, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Poor service for a high price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is my third trip to Bali within the year so I have had the pleasure of saying at some great villas and hotels. Unfortunately this was not one of them. If you have never stayed at a villa in Bali then you will be impressed but compared to others for the same price or less the service is well below par. The staff are friendly but are young and are not very accommodating.
At other hotels in bali they seem to know when you're out and your room is cleaned in secret. At Mahapala you can be out for 3 hours come back to be disturbed but the people to clean your room. (And the clean room button was broken. )
The plunge pool is nice but the filtration system is located directly under the day bed and sounds like there is a Jet engine under you while you "try" and relax. We ended up using he main pool it was that bad.
The breakfast is poor and even if you want to eat it at the restaurant they make you nominate a time. We ended up eating out most mornings to save the hassle.
The gym is pretty good for a hotel if like me you feel the need to train on holidays.
Sit by the main pool and there is no service.
He bathroom has the strong smell of Bali's poor drainage/sewerage system and is almost sickening.
And as an added bonus there was a bit of a bed bug issue.
In conclusion if I had never stayed elsewhere in Bali I would have been impressed but having just stayed at Komanenka in ubud, sienna villas in seminyak and the semara in seminyak this was not even a comparison.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I took a 2 bedroom villa here, and was happy with the room. Firstly, this is one of the few properties where the photos on the website don't lie. The rooms were very nice, and main pool was large. There were several kinks, as one would expect in most small villa compounds - our door to the small garden in the room couldn't close properly, and we had WC problems, but service was good and they attended to these problems as soon as they could. Location-wise, it is a stone's throw from the Sanur beach and the main shopping/eating strip, so no complaints there.

Only complaint is that the 2 bedroom villas are located directly on the roadside, so it can get noisy with cars / motorcycles (thank God there were no clubs close by) - but since Sanur is not quite as busy, it doesn't stay noisy till too late at night. There are some 1 bedrooms like that as well so I would advise you to request for a 1 bedroom that is not close to the road, but if you are looking for a 2 bedroom, you have no choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed at the Mahapala over Easter this year and really loved it so decided to stay there again in November/December. We really love this place. The villa's are lovely and we cannot speak highly enough of the staff and the Manager. Everyone is so friendly and will do anything to help you. We had an early check out (6am) on the day of my birthday but the staff gave me a lovely cake and sang happy birthday to me even though it was 6 in the morning !! The Villas are just a stone throw from the beach and close to all the restaurants on the beach. We will definelty be back there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have travelled a lot and seen a lot, stayed in all kinds of hotels, but the accommodation and service you will find and get at Mahapala is (in my opinion) unique!

It starts in the morning with the great choice of breakfast (from continental to indonesian) at your villa or at the restaurant. At the afternoon the tea (or coffee) is served with delicious pastries. Between 6pm and 7 pm the staff will open your bed and close the blinds of your bungalow.

We asked to have the Rijsttafel at the villa. No problem.
We needed a laptop. No problem, we could use a laptop for free.
We wanted to bike. No problem, there are bikes available for free.
We asked of Mahapala as a reserved beach. Yes, there is. However, we had to wait until everything was arranged according to the high standard of Mahapala.

Finally, the staff decorated the bed with flowers to make a Bithday-wish to one of us.

If you insist there was a very minor negative thing (for us); Glasses are not standard in the villa's, just ask for it and they appear in your villa. Just to note that the minibar with Cola, Bintang beer is free and is renewed on a daily bases.

So, we love it and certainly you will do too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

This is our second Christmas at Mahapala. The luxury, the attentive service but mostly the private swimming pool, the lovely private outdoor area by the pool where we can relax, drink cocktails and forget we have demanding lives at home.
It is a very short walk to a 5 km strip of beach front cafe's for your meals, that is if you choose to leave the villa. Breakfast was delivered daily and served politely and unobtrusively by the gorgeous staff. Nothing is too much trouble including eating challenges like vegetarian and gluten free.
Villa mahapala comes highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We chose to move here after a disappointing start in Bali, and we were not disappointed. The individual villas with their little pools are gorgeous, and immaculately clean. The theme of the hotel is the Zodiac, and the little touches of supplying gifts of mugs with your own sign, as well as decorating the room with the signs on a sculpture and on soaps, towels etc, is a really lovely touch.
The staff here are utterly charming without being intrusive. The price is very reasonable for what it includes - a free daily mini-bar, afternoon tea and wonderful personal breakfast. The hotel is not on the beach, but you can walk to it in one minute, however we enjoyed the peacefulness. It was my husband's birthday whilst we were there and the manager treated us to dinner and drinks and even a surprise birthday cake - another lovely gesture. The young man doing our room did a brilliant job - particularly by arranging our son's soft toys on his bed in amusing ways every day! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they made us feel really pampered - which is what you come on holiday for! One of the young receptionists gave our son some lovely gifts as she knew it was his birthday the week after our departure - she also recommended some excellent shopping locations. We can't praise the Mahapala enough - we will definitely return as we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Mahapala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mahapala

Address: Jl. Pantai Sindhu, Sanur, Denpasar, Bali 80228, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Mahapala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mahapala is merely 20 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport and Kuta's shopping area. Villa Mahapala is composed of 20 luxurious pool villas - 4 villas with two bedroom that have spacious size of up to 350m² - is located at Sindu Beach Sanur Bali and offers its guests a touch of 'modern ethnic luxury'. The central theme - World of Astrology - will be discovered everywhere until the personalized service by zodiac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Mahapala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mahapala Hotel Sanur
Mahapala Hotel Sanur
Villa Mahapala Sanur, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mahapala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.